As you might guess, there are a LOT of driving laws in Alaska.
How in the world are you going to remember all of them?
Well, we’re going to make it easier for you by briefly explaining each one in this article.
We’ll look at requirements concerning your driver’s license, actual driving laws, and some road rules.
We have everything for you here.
So buckle up and enjoy the ride!
Alaska Driving Laws by Category
- Alaska Driver’s License Requirements
- Alaska Driver’s License Renewal
- Alaska CDL Requirements
- Alaska Driver License Types
- How to Get Your Alaska Driving Record
Let’s take a quick look at each of these.
Alaska Driver’s License
Let’s begin with the thing that actually allows you to drive – your driver’s license. Let’s look at the requirements concerning the Alaska driver’s license.
Alaska Driver’s License Requirements
Once you turn 14 years old, you can start working towards your driver’s license.
You’ll have to go through 3 stages.
The first is your learner’s permit stage. This permit will allow you to practice your driving with an adult.
To obtain this permit, you must:
- Visit your local DMV office
- Complete the application form (FORM 478). This should be signed in front of a DMV agent.
- Submit a parent/guardian consent (FORM 433). Again, this should be signed by your parent/guardian in front of a representative
- Bring 1 primary and 1 secondary document, Social Security Number document, and 1 resident address document
- Pass the vision test
- Pass the written knowledge test
- Pay the fee of $15
- Get your learner’s permit
Note: if you’re worried about the written knowledge test, you can check out our article answering the FAQs of the Alaska permit test here.
Once you have held your learner’s permit for 6 months, you can go to the second stage, which is your provisional license.
Here’s how to get it:
- Log 40 hours of behind-the-wheel training, 10 of which must be done at night or in poor weather.
- Go to your local DMV office
- Submit a parent/guardian consent (FORM 433)
- Pass the road test
- Pay the license fee of $20
- Hand over your permit
- Get your provisional license
Once you have held that for 6 months, you can change it to a full, unrestricted driver’s license.
Alaska Driver’s License Renewal
How do you renew your Alaska driver’s license?
Follow these steps to renew it online:
- Establish your identity on the Alaska Division of Motor Vehicle’s website (click the link and scroll down to find the form)
- Pay the renewal fee of $20
- Print out the temporary copy of your license
- Wait around 2 weeks to get your permanent driver’s license
Note: Online renewal is not available to everyone.
Follow these steps to renew your license at a DMV office:
- Go to your local DMV office
- Pass a vision test
- Complete FORM 478
- Present 2 forms of identification
- Pay the renewal fee of $20
- Surrender your current driver’s license
- Get your temporary license
- Wait 2 weeks for your permanent ID
As for renewal through the mail, follow these steps:
- Send vision test results
- Give your driver’s license or the original identity document
- Fill out FORM 478
- Send a fee of $21
- Send all these to:
Juneau Driver Services
State of Alaska – Division of Motor Vehicles
PO Box 110221
Juneau, AK 99811-0221
Note: like online renewal, there are a few terms to renew your driver’s license through the mail.
Alaska CDL Requirements
If you want to get hold of a commercial driver’s license, you will need to undergo different requirements to a regular driver’s license.
Here are the requirements:
- Choose a CDL license class (Class A, B, or C)
- Be at least 18 years old
- Hold a regular driver’s license for 1 year
- Get a commercial learner’s permit (CLP)
- Change it to a commercial driver’s license (CDL)
Now, here are the steps to getting your CLP and CDL:
- Go to a local DMV office
- Submit the following documents:
- Pass a general knowledge test
- Pass a vision test
- Pass a combination test (for Class A only)
- Pass an air brakes test
Once you have held your CLP for 14 days, you can change it to a CDL by:
- Pass a road test
- Submit the following documents:
- Your CLP
- Proof of legal presence
- Proof of residency in Alaska
- Social Security Number
- Regular driver’s license
- DOT Medical Card
- FMCSA Vision and/or Diabetes Exemption document (if applicable)
- A fee of $120
And there you have it. You are now allowed to drive professionally.
Alaska Driver’s License Types
Confused about the driver’s license types in Alaska. Well, let’s describe each one here.
- Class A – can operate a combination vehicle with a Gross Vehicle Weight Rating (GVWR) of 26,001 pounds or more. The towed unit should be 10,000 pounds or more.
- Class B – can operate a single vehicle with a GVWR of 26,0001 pounds or more. If towing a unit, the unit should weigh less than 10,000 pounds.
- Class C – can operate trucks or buses with a GVWR of 26,000 pounds or less.
- Class D – can operate vehicles with a GVWR of 26,000 pounds or less. This will be your regular driver’s license.
- Class M1 – can operate a motorcycle with an engine displacement of 50cc.
- Class M2 – can operate motor-driven cycles like scooters (for 14 to 15-year-olds).
- Class M3 – can operate any 3-wheeled motorcycle with an engine displacement of over 50cc.
How to Get Your Alaska Driving Record
Need to see how many points you’ve accumulated in your driving record?
Required to give a copy of your driving record to your auto insurance company?
Whatever the case, here is how you can get hold of your driving record.
- Obtain it online
- Visit the Alaska DMV website
- Click “Obtain My Driving Record”
- Complete the form to establish your identity
- Pay a fee of $10
- Have your driving record emailed as a PDF or sent through the mail
- Obtain it by mail
- Complete FORM 419F
- Pay the fee of $10
- Send it to – DIVISION OF MOTOR VEHICLES, 1300 W. Benson Blvd. Suite 200, Anchorage, AK 99503
- Obtain it in person
- Go to your local DMV
- Fill out FORM 419F
- Pay $10
- Get your driving record
As easy as that!
Now that we’ve talked about your driver’s license, let’s look at the Alaska driving laws.
Alaska DUI Laws
What is considered driving under the influence in Alaska?
Well, let’s take a close look at the state’s DUI laws.
For 21-year-olds driving a private vehicle, their blood-alcohol concentration should NOT exceed 0.08%. If it does, then they will be charged with DUI.
For commercial drivers driving a truck or bus, their blood-alcohol concentration should be a lot less. If it goes over 0.04%, then they are breaking Alaska DUI laws.
For any driver below 21 years old, whether they are driving a private vehicle or truck/bus, they will be charged with a DUI if there is any percentage of alcohol in their blood.
If you get caught, then here are the penalties you may face:
|Number of Offenses (within fifteen years)||Jail Time (Minimum)||Fines(Minimum)||LicenseSuspension/Revocation(Minimum)|
|First||72 Hours/3 Days||$1,500||90 Days|
|Second||20 Days||$3,000||360 Days/1 Year|
|Third||60 Days||$4,000||3 Years|
|Third (within ten years)||120 Days||$10,000||Permanent Revocation(chance to appeal after ten years)|
|Fourth||120 Days||$5,000||5 Years|
|Fourth (within ten years of two prior convictions)||240 Days||$10,000||Permanent Revocation(chance to appeal after ten years)|
|Fifth||240 Days||$6,000||5 Years|
|Fifth (within ten years of two prior convictions)||360 Days||$10,000||Permanent Revocation(chance to appeal after ten years)|
|More than five offenses (within fifteen years)||360 Days||$7,000||5 Years|
|More than five offenses (within ten years of two prior convictions)||360 Days||$10,000||Permanent Revocation(chance to appeal after ten years)|
Alaska Car Seat Laws
To keep you and your children safe during collisions, Alaska implements car seat laws.
For adults, it’s simple. You must wear your seatbelt at ALL times when the vehicle is moving. This is whether you’re driving, in the passenger seat, or at the back.
If you have a child in the vehicle with you, you’re required to provide a car seat. This is not only a law, but it is for your child’s utmost safety.
Here are some of the car seat laws you need to keep in mind.
If you have an infant that weighs less than 20 pounds, you’re required to put them in a rear-facing car seat.
And, although not mandatory, it’s best to use the rear-facing car seat for children under 3 years old.
By law, however, children over 1-year-old and under 5 years old can be upgraded to a child car seat.
In order to switch to a booster seat, the child needs to meet some requirements. To qualify, the child should be 5 to 8 years old, 57 inches tall, and weighs 20 pounds.
Once a child exceeds the height and weight limit, they can use a regular seatbelt like a grownup.
If you are caught not wearing your seatbelt or not using a car seat for your child, you will need to pay a fine. Ultimately, the greatest penalty is if something happens to you or your child.
Lastly, let’s look at the Alaska road rules.
Alaska Road Signs
In Alaska, there are 3 road sign categories.
First, there is the actual road sign. These signs tell you what you can expect from the road ahead.
There are regulatory signs, warning signs, and guide signs.
Regulatory signs, such as speed limits, are usually white with black or red lettering. Other regulatory signs, such as stop and yield, are colored red with white lettering.
Warning signs are yellow and diamond-shaped. Some examples of warning signs are slippery roads ahead, school zone, animal crossings, etc.
As for guide signs, it is usually green with white lettering. You can use this to find directions or indicate the area where you are.
The next category is traffic signals.
You probably already know the basics. Red means stop. Orange means slow down. Green means go.
But there are other traffic signals such as arrows and flashing signals. These are pretty simple to understand.
A green arrow means you can turn where it is pointing, while a red arrow means you can’t turn yet.
Flashing red light means you must stop first, but if there is no vehicle crossing, you can go ahead with caution.
Then, we have the pavement markings.
Single and double solid, yellow lines are to separate opposing traffic flow. Solid white lines separate lanes going the same direction.
Dashed white lines mean you can enter or exit from another lane. Yellow dashed lines, on the other hand, allow you to make a u-turn, turn left or right, in an opposing lane.
A combination of dashed and solid yellow lines indicates which lane can access the other lane, and which one can’t.
Alaska Road Conditions
You face all kinds of weather conditions in Alaska. And because of that, it’s wise to be aware of the road conditions and how to keep safe while on it.
Here are some safe driving tips in the rain:
- Avoid puddles
- Slow down
- Turn your headlights on
- Don’t panic if you start to skid
Here are some safe driving tips in the winter:
- Use winter tires
- Watch out for black ice
- Always check for road signs
Here are some safe driving tips in the fog:
- Turn on your fog lights
- Stop if you really can’t see ahead of you
Here are some safe driving tips for animal crossing
- Look out for animal crossing signs
- Slow down if you see an animal by the side of the road
- Warn other drivers of an animal by flashing your headlights
Here are some safe driving tips at night:
- Keep your windshield clean
- Don’t forget to turn on your headlights
- Don’t drive while drowsy
So there you have it!
Those were the Alaska driving laws for 2023.
It’s a lot.
But once you think of it by category, it will be easier to remember.
And, you can always come back here and read about these driving laws in Alaska. And, for even more details, we provided the links for our complete articles on each topic.
We hope that this has been a useful guide!