Drive-Safely.net

Category - Driving Laws

Illinois Turn Signal Laws

Illinois Turn Signal Laws

In a business or residential area you must give a continuous turn signal for at least 100 feet before turning. In other areas the signal must be given at least 200 feet before turning. Drivers may signal in two ways: Electrical turn signals...

Illinois Speed Limit Laws

Illinois Speed Limit Laws

Speeding is one of the leading contributors to vehicle crashes. You may drive at the maximum allowable speed only under safe conditions. For safety purposes, a minimum speed limit may be posted along certain roadways. When minimum limits are...

Illinois Parking Laws

Illinois Parking Laws

Every driver needs to know that to practice safe driving, they need to obey the laws whenever they are on the road. This responsibility also extends to how drivers park their vehicles and where. Different states have several laws and...

Illinois Right of Way Laws

Illinois Right of Way Laws

When you hear the words “right of way”, what comes to mind? A piece of land bordered on all sides owned by the government? A footpath for pedestrians? Road lanes? Legally speaking, right of way pertains to the “legal right” that is...

Illinois Safety Belt Laws

Illinois Safety Belt Laws

Illinois law requires all drivers and passengers (front and back seat) age 8 and older to wear safety belts even if the vehicle is equipped with airbags. Passengers under age 8 must be secured in an appropriate child restraint system as...

Illinois Driving Laws

Illinois Driving Laws

In the articles listed below, you’ll find the most important Illinois driving laws. Driving laws are a necessary evil to keep our streets safe and it’s very important that all drivers have at least basic knowledge of how traffic...

Rules for Illinois Drivers Under 21

Rules for Illinois Drivers Under 21

In Illinois, most people under age 18 learn to drive in high school or at a commercial driver training school licensed by the Secretary of State’s office. Approved driver education classes include at least 30 hours of classroom study and six...

Illinois Graduated Driver's License

Illinois Graduated Driver’s License

Illinois’ Graduated Driver Licensing (GDL) Program requires drivers ages 15-20 to work their way to full driving privileges. There are three progressive stages beginning at age 15 when a young driver obtains his/her learner’s permit. Young...

Illinois Driver's License Info

Illinois Driver’s License Info

The following offenses will result in your arrest and possible imprisonment of up to five years and the suspension or revocation of your driver’s license for a minimum of 12 months: Signing a driver’s license/ID card application that...

Illinois Driver's License Renewal

Illinois Driver’s License Renewal

About 90 days before your driver’s license expires, you should receive a renewal notice from the Secretary of State’s office with information on what documents you need to provide and what tests are necessary. You may renew your license up...