Need your driving record for employment screening?
Interested to see how many demerit points you’ve accumulated in your record?
Whatever the case, if you need to get hold of your Alaska driving record, you might not know how and where.
Well, we’re here to help.
Today, we’re going to give you everything you need to know about how to get your Alaska driving record this 2022.
So without further ado, let’s get started!
Types of Driving Records in Alaska
Alaska driving records contain a person’s driving history, but the details that are included depend on the type of record.
In Alaska, there are 3 types of driving records. These are:
- Insurance Record – This record shows a 3-5 year history of all the driving convictions, at-fault accidents, and license actions you may have had. This also shows your current driving status but does not contain the medical certification details needed by commercial (CDL) drivers.
- Full Individual Record – This record references all your driving convictions, at-fault accidents, personal information, and license actions. On top of that, it also includes the full medical certification details for CDL drivers.
- CDL Employment Record – Similar to individual driving records, this type of record shows your current driving status required by the DOT regulations and the medical certification details that CDL drivers need for employment.
For reference purposes, here is an example of a full driving record for an Alaskan individual.
How to Get Your Alaska Driving Record
As there are 3 types of driving records in Alaska, there are also 3 ways you can obtain these records.
Let’s take a look at each one.
Ordering Your Alaska Driving Record Online
Let’s start with the most accessible and convenient option.
To obtain your driving record online, follow these steps:
- Visit the Alaska DMV website and click ‘Obtain My Driving Record’
- Fill up the ‘Establish your Identity’ form (make sure to provide the same information as the one on your license)
- Pay a fee of $10 via your credit card, a personalized check, or money order made payable to the “Alaska Division of Motor Vehicles” or “State of Alaska.”
- Have your record sent as a PDF or mail it to your address
As simple as that!
Note: when ordering your record online, you should always use the Alaska DMV website and never any third-party service. This is to be sure that you don’t get scammed.
Ordering Your Alaska Driving Record by Mail
If you’re not in a hurry and don’t mind the slower processing time, you can order your driving record by mail.
To do so, fill out Form 419F (Request for Driving Record) with the correct information.
Send it, along with the record fee of $10, to:
Division of Motor Vehicles
1300 W. Benson Blvd. Suite 200
Anchorage AK 99503
Note: Pay the fee by check or money order, but keep in mind that your name and address must be pre-printed. Otherwise, the Alaska DMV will not process it.
Ordering Your Alaska Driving Record In-Person
If you’re already near a DMV office, then this option might be the best one for you.
Plus, you get the record in your hands right away.
To do this, go to your nearest DMV.
Once there, get a copy of Form 419F (Request for Driving Record) and fill it out with the same information as your current driver’s license.
As for the $10 fee, the payment method depends on your DMV. Some may accept cash, money order, check, or credit card. Make sure to check with your local office to confirm.
Once all of this is prepared, pass all of the requirements, fall in line (if there’s any), and wait for your driving record.
Understanding the Point System in Alaska
If you’re wondering where the points on your driving record came from, each traffic violation you make is reported to the Alaska DMV and added to your record.
With that in mind, here’s a summary of how the Alaska point system works:
- Any moving traffic violation gets point values anywhere from 2 to 10 points.
- If your violation has a high crash risk, you get higher point values (10 being the highest).
- You can get your driving privileges removed or suspended if you acquire 12 points within a year or 18 points within 2 years.
- If you have a suspended or revoked license, you won’t be able to drive in Alaska, “work purpose” or otherwise.
- Getting to the halfway point value before a license revocation will incur a warning letter.
If you want to learn more about Alaska’s point system, you can read the Alaska Statute 28.15.221.
How to Improve Your Alaska Driving Record
Once you receive your driving record, the first thing to do is check for factual errors or inconsistencies.
Sometimes, you may see some violations or convictions that didn’t happen.
If so, we suggest contacting the Alaska DMV as soon as possible. If not, you should be good.
But what if you see that you’ve accumulated a lot of demerit points?
The good news is that there are a few ways to tidy your record up.
For one, the DMV will automatically remove 2 points if you have no traffic violation for a year. For each consecutive year, if you still don’t get a violation, they will remove 1 point.
If that’s too slow for you, then you can take a defensive driving course to remove 2 points.
Of course, you need to ask special permission from the DMV if you are qualified.
If you get the green light, then AWESOME!
You can check out these best online traffic schools in Alaska:
Note: if you happen to acquire 6 points within 12 months (or 9 points within a year), you will be required to take a driver improvement course.
So there you go, a complete guide on getting your driving record in Alaska, whether for insurance, employment, or simply informational purposes.
And, while there’s a way to improve your record by removing points, being a good and safe driver in the first place means fewer points and fewer chances of having your license suspended or revoked.
So if you need to check your driving record, just pick any of the options above.
We hope that this article has been a great help!