Are you looking to review your knowledge of Connecticut driving laws?
Or are you worried that you don’t know the new laws implemented in the state?
Whatever the reason you came here, we assure you that you won’t leave this article empty-handed.
We’re going to give you a crash course on everything you need to know about driving in Connecticut. This way, you don’t have to worry about getting any traffic violations.
Then let’s begin!
Connecticut Driving Laws by Category
We’re going to talk about a lot of things here, so to help you navigate this page, here are the topics we’ll cover…
- Connecticut Driver’s License Requirements
- Connecticut Driver’s License Renewal
- Connecticut CDL Requirements
- Connecticut Driver’s License Classifications
- How to Get Your Connecticut Driving Record
- Connecticut Car Seat Laws
- Connecticut Distracted Driving Laws
- Connecticut Car Insurance Laws
- Connecticut DUI Laws
Let’s talk about each one in detail below.
Connecticut Driver’s License
No driver is allowed to operate a motor vehicle in Connecticut without a license or permit.
So let’s start with all you need to know about your Connecticut driver’s license.
Connecticut Driver’s License Requirements
Connecticut follows a graduated system to ease drivers as young as 16 onto the road. And while you can apply for a permit as early as 16, you won’t get an official driver’s license until you turn 18.
The graduated system stages go like this:
- Learner’s Permit
- Teen Driver’s License
- Adult Driver’s License
Start off with getting a learner’s permit if you’re 16 years old (or an adult learner’s permit if you’re 18+):
- Set an appointment with your nearest DMV office through this online appointment setter.
- Settle your payment for the in-person exams. It’s $40 for vision, knowledge, and road tests.
- Prepare these documents before going to your appointment:
- A filled-out R-229 application form
- Proof of identity
- Proof of Social Security Number
- Proof of Connecticut residency (at least two documents from different sources)
- Proof of legal presence in the US. If non-US born, bring your US passport or Permanent Resident Card
- Proof of parental or legal guardian consent. If they cannot accompany you to the DMV, bring a completed Certificate of Parental Consent form.
- During your appointment, pass the vision and knowledge tests.
- Pay the permit fee of $19.
And here’s how to get a teen driver’s license:
- Hold your learner’s permit for at least 120 days (or 180 days, if you completed driving training at home).
- Complete a state-approved driver’s education course or an 8-hour Safe Driving course at a driving school.
- Complete 40 hours of behind-the-wheel training. You can enroll in a driving school, a local high school, or get parent/legal guardian instruction.
- Make an appointment for your road test online.
- Bring the following documents to your test:
- Valid learner’s permit
- CS-1 Driver Education Certificate if you completed the 8-hour Safe Driving Course
- An insured and registered vehicle – bring the registration certificate and insurance card
- For applicants below 18, your trainer must be present
- Pass the road test.
- Pay the $84 teen driver’s license fee. The official license will be mailed within 20 days.
And finally, here’s how to get your adult driver’s license:
- Wait until you turn 18 years old.
- Upgrade your teen license to an adult one.
Connecticut Driver’s License Renewal
When it’s time to renew your CT driver’s license, you have three options:
- By Mail
- In Person
Here’s how to renew online:
- Go to the DMV renewal portal and follow the instructions.
- Pay the $72 renewal fee for a 6-year license or the $96 renewal fee for an 8-year license.
- If you’re renewing an expired license, you will have to pay a $25 penalty fee.
- Your new driver’s license will be sent to you within 20 days.
How to renew by mail:
- Fill up form B350 (Request for a Connecticut Driver’s License/Identification Card by Mail). Make sure to read it carefully and follow the instructions.
- If you are in the military, fill up the Application for Waiver of Operator’s License Fee.
- Include the renewal fee of $72 or $96 through credit card, check, or money order. Make it payable to the DMV.
- Send all these forms and payments to:
DMV’s Central Issuance Operations Unit
60 State Street, Weathersfield,
Finally, here’s how to renew in person:
- Set an appointment online.
- Bring the following documents:
- Renewal application form
- Valid driver’s license
- Go to the DMV and submit your documents.
- Pay the renewal fee.
- Wait for your license to be mailed in 20 days.
Connecticut CDL Requirements
Maybe you’re thinking about getting a commercial driver’s license in Connecticut.
Well, before you get one, you have to be at least 18 years old to drive intrastate and 21 years old if driving interstate. You must also have a valid driver’s license before proceeding.
If so, you can start applying for a CDL permit. Here’s how:
- Request for a CDL application form online or by phone.
- Self-certify your driving type at the DMV’s online portal and wait for the email confirmation.
- Get a medical certificate and upload it to Connecticut’s Online Medical Certification System.
- Schedule your CDL knowledge test online.
- Pay the $16 test fee and $5 for every endorsement test you need.
- During your scheduled date, bring the following:
- Proof of identity
- Proof of Social Security Number
- Proof of legal presence
- 2 proofs of Connecticut resident
- Your valid driver’s license
You can get a list of acceptable documents here.
- Pass the CDL knowledge exam(s).
- Pay the $20 CDL permit fee.
Once you have held your CDL permit for at least 14 days, you can work towards your official CDL. Here are the steps and requirements:
- Complete an Entry-Level Driver Training (ELDT) program from an approved provider.
- Fill out the Request for a CDL Exam from a Private Citizen (R-405) and send it to firstname.lastname@example.org.
- Wait for your CDL skills test schedule.
- During your test, bring the following:
- Your valid driver’s license
- Your valid CDL permit
- A current medical card (if applicable)
- Your CDL application form
- A receipt for your $30 CDL skills test payment.
- A vehicle under your CDL class – with insurance and registration
- Pass the CDL skills test.
- Pay the $70 CDL fee.
- Claim your CDL.
Connecticut Driver’s License Classifications
When it comes to driver’s licenses, it’s important to know the classes.
And in Connecticut, there are 4 classifications.
- Class A CDL – operates a combination of vehicles with a gross combined weight rating (GCWR) of more than 26,000 pounds and towing a unit weighing more than 10,000 pounds.
- Class B CDL – operates heavy, straight vehicles with a gross vehicle weight rating (GVWR) of more than 26,000 pounds but should not tow a unit over 10,000 pounds.
- Class C CDL – operates combination or straight vehicles with a GVWR of fewer than 26,000 pounds and tows a unit with a weight of fewer than 10,000 pounds.
- Class D – operates non-commercial vehicles, such as sedans, SUVs, pickups, etc.
How to Get Your Connecticut Driving Record
If you ever need your driving record, you’ll be happy to know that there are many ways to get them.
It’s easy, so it’s not going to be a hassle.
How to get your CT driving record online:
- Prepare the following information since you have to encode them:
- Your complete name as it appears on your driver’s license
- Your date of birth
- Your street address
- Your driver’s license number
- Your Social Security Number
- Go to the DMV’s online portal and request your record. Fill in the details required.
- Pay the $20 fee.
- Access your driving record online. But note that it’s only available for 30 days.
How to get your CT driving record by mail:
- Print and fill out the Copy Records Request Form.
- Prepare a $20 check payable to the Connecticut DMV.
- Include a photocopy of the requestor’s ID with a photo.
- Mail all the documents to this address:
Department of Motor Vehicles
60 State Street
Wethersfield, CT 06109
Attention: Copy Records
- Wait for your CT driving record to arrive via mail in 2-3 weeks.
And finally, here’s how you can request it in person:
- Make an appointment online. Keep in mind that only some offices give out driving records.
- Prepare the following documents:
- Printed and filled out copy of the Copy Records Request Form
- ID with a photo
- Pay the $20 at the DMV office.
- Receive your CT driving record.
Connecticut Driving Laws
Next up are the driving laws!
Every driver needs to know these laws so they can avoid violations and fines on the road. Besides that, these laws help make our roads safer and more organized.
Connecticut Car Seat Laws
Car seats save your children’s lives and make sure that serious injuries are prevented.
In Connecticut, a specific type of car seat is required based on the age and weight of the child:
- Under 2 years old or less than 30 pounds – rear-facing car seat.
- 2-4 years old or weighing 30-39 pounds – rear-facing or forward-facing car seat.
- 5-7 years old or weighing 40-59 pounds – forward-facing car seat or booster seat secured with a seat belt.
- 8-15 years old or weighing 60 pounds or more – booster seat or seat belt (if it can fit properly).
Violating these car seat laws will result in an infraction on your first offense, a $199 fine on your second, and a Class A misdemeanor on your third.
As adults, you need to be protected, too.
And according to Connecticut’s seat belt laws, all drivers and front-seat passengers are required to wear seat belts.
If the driver is 16-17 years old, all passengers (whether at the front or back) have to wear seat belts.
Violating this law will result in a $50 fine for those 18 and above and a $75 fine for those below 18.
Connecticut Distracted Driving Laws
Distracted driving is anything that prevents you from focusing on the road. Meaning, if the action takes your eyes off the road, takes both of your hands off the steering wheel, or prevents you from giving your 100% attention to driving, then it’s a distraction.
Connecticut’s distracted driving law focuses on cellphone use since it’s the most common cause of distracted driving.
The law states that it’s illegal to use any handheld electronic device while driving. Cell phone use is also not allowed on temporary stops, such as at a red light.
The workaround is that you can use a hands-free device if you’re 18 and above. Minors are not allowed to use hands-free devices.
Violating this law will result in these penalties:
- First offense – $150 fine
- Second offense – $300 fine
- Third offense – $500
All offenses will have 2 points on your driving record. If you’re a minor, you may face immediate license or permit suspension.
Connecticut Car Insurance Laws
Did you know that each vehicle needs to have insurance?
Yep, even if you don’t plan on using it, all vehicles are required to have insurance.
In Connecticut, there are two types of insurance each vehicle needs:
- Liability insurance
- $25,000 per person
- $50,000 per accident
- $25,000 per accident for property liability
- Uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage
- $25,000 coverage per person
- $50,000 coverage per accident
These insurance coverages are only the minimum amount required. You are free to get higher coverage.
Since vehicle insurance is a law, a penalty is given if you are found driving an uninsured vehicle. The penalties are:
- $100 – $1,000 fine for private vehicles on the first conviction.
- Vehicle registration and driver’s license suspension for the first conviction.
- Succeeding convictions for private vehicles – up to 6 months license suspension.
- Succeeding convictions for commercial vehicles – $5,000 fine, imprisonment up to 5 years, or both.
Connecticut DUI Laws
Driving under the influence is illegal in Connecticut — but how do you know if it’s really a DUI?
Connecticut law enforcement officers check your Blood Alcohol Content (BAC) to determine if you are a DUI.
DUI is when your BAC is:
- 0.08% for 21 years old and above
- 0.04% for anyone holding a CDL
- 0.02% for drivers under 21 years old
DUI penalties are harsh. Plus, the more violations you commit, the more expensive the fees are and the longer you are suspended or imprisoned.
Here’s a summary of the penalties:
|1st||Up to $1,000||100 hours of community service|
|2nd||Up to $4,000||2 years in jail and 100 hours of community service|
|3rd||Minimum of $8,000||3 years in jail and 100 hours of community service|
For the third offense, you will get a permanent license revocation. You also have to submit to an Alcohol or Drug Abuse Assessment and attend a treatment program.
Connecticut Road Rules
Then there are the road rules…
Connecticut Road Signs
And now, for the last part – the road signs!
If you’ve been driving for a while now, then you’re most likely familiar with the common signs. But what about the other ones?
Let’s give you a quick refresher.
Regulatory signs are pretty common, and here are some of the most used signs:
|Do Not Enter|
|Crossed left/right turn|
Traffic signals (or traffic lights) help direct the flow of traffic and manage the right-of-way. You’ll often find them at intersections.
- Red – make a full stop. Stop before the crosswalk or before the intersection.
- Yellow – the light will turn red in a few seconds. Clear the intersection or slow down.
- Green – you can go or make a turn after yielding to pedestrians and emergency vehicles.
Pavement markings aid in organizing traffic and making the roads safe. These markings tell you where you can pass, what direction the lanes are going, and where the end of the road is.
Here are some common pavement markings:
- Solid white line – edge line on the right side of the road
- Dashed white lines – in between lanes of traffic traveling in the same direction. Passing is permitted.
- Solid white lines in between lanes – passing is not permitted.
- Solid yellow lines – edge lines at the left side of the road.
- Dashed yellow lines – in between lanes of traffic traveling in opposite directions. Passing is permitted.
- Solid yellow lines in between lanes – passing is not permitted.
There you have it — our crash course on Connecticut driving laws.
If you want to learn more about Connecticut’s driver’s license processes and driving laws, check out the links in each section for a detailed guide.