We all know that DUI is very dangerous and that we should avoid it at all costs.
But what exactly does the state say about DUI?
Let’s find out here.
Today, we’re going to walk you through everything you should know about the Connecticut DUI laws.
We’ll look at what the law says, the penalties, the effects, and more.
So buckle up and let’s go!
DUI Laws in Connecticut
If you are suspected of DUI, you are required to submit to a Blood Alcohol Concentration (BAC) level test.
Note: you will face penalties if you refuse to take a BAC level test. You can see below what these penalties are.
It is considered a DUI if your BAC level reaches:
- 0.08% for 21 year olds and above
- 0.04% for anyone holding a CDL
- 0.02% for drivers under 21 years old
As you can see, the more dangerous the situation, the lower the BAC level.
For example, a crash is more deadly when someone is driving under the influence in a commercial truck. In the same way, teens are more likely to receive severe injuries that could cause death.
So to avoid those dangers and being charged with a DUI, NEVER drive while under the influence. Yes, even if you just had one bottle of beer or a glass of wine.
If you go out drinking, the best thing to do is ask a friend to drive you, have a “designated driver” drive you home, or take public transportation.
This might seem like common sense, but you’ll be surprised how many people risk their lives and the lives of people around them.
Penalties for DUI in Connecticut
As you might already guess, penalties for DUI are heavy, especially for those who are under 21 years old.
The state implements “zero tolerance” for drivers under 21 who are caught driving under the influence.
This means your driver’s license will automatically be suspended for 45 days. You also have to install an Ignition Interlock Device (IID) for 1 year.
These penalties also apply if you refuse to take the BAC test (for any driver).
If you are over 21 years old, here are the penalties you may face:
- First violation: up to 6 months in jail and up to $1000 fine. For those whose imprisonment is suspended, you will be asked to take 100 hours of community service.
- Second violation: if within 10 years from the first violation, it is punishable by up to 2 years in jail and up to a $4000 fine. Imprisonment suspension is waived but you will still have to submit to 100 hours of community service.
Also, the court may order you to take an Alcohol or Drug Abuse Assessment during your second violation.
- Third violation: if within 10 years from the second violation, you are punishable to up to 3 years in prison, permanent license revocation, and an $8000 fine. You will be on probation and are required to take 100 hours of community service.
For the third violation, you will HAVE to submit to an Alcohol or Drug Abuse Assessment and may be required to go through a treatment program. This will depend on the decision of the court on your case.
While these penalties only revolve around being charged with DUI, it becomes even higher and harsher if there are property damages or deaths.
Those who cause deaths during a DUI accident may be charged with second-degree manslaughter.
How Many Point is a DUI in Connecticut?
Along with all the penalties, DUI adds demerit points to your driving record, too.
For each DUI, you will be given 3 demerit points.
Now you might think, “that isn’t much at all.”
However, 6 points already lead to a warning letter. 10 points already mean a license suspension for 30 days, while 20 points suspend your license for 2 years.
So 3 demerit points are not little at all.
And, these points stay on your record for 2 years.
How Long Does a DUI Stay on Your Record in Connecticut?
In Connecticut, a DUI infraction stays on your record for 10 years.
Keep in mind that a DUI record and demerit points are different from one another.
So though your demerit points may slip away every 2 years, you will have to stick with your DUI record for a long time.
And, if you have a DUI on your record, you will usually have an increase in insurance premiums, fewer employment opportunities, and such.
If you don’t want to go through those difficulties, then just avoid driving under the influence. It isn’t hard.
Can a DUI be Dismissed in Connecticut?
Yes, a DUI can be dismissed if one of the following conditions is met:
- There is an error with the breathalyzers or blood tests that were used on you
- The police officer did not read the full Miranda rights
- The police officer unlawfully stopped you
- You were still arrested even after you were able to pass the sobriety tests
In Connecticut, a police officer or any law enforcement officer is not allowed to stop you unless they can give a good justification to do so. If a police officer cannot give a justification, your DUI case may be dismissed.
But if you don’t meet any of these conditions, then you have to live with your DUI record for 10 whole years and face the consequences of it, as well as the harsh penalties.
So that is everything you should know about Connecticut DUI laws.
The harsh penalties alone can tell you just how dangerous DUI is.
So if you go out drinking, NEVER GET BEHIND THE WHEEL.
It is not worth it.
Even if you aren’t caught, you are still putting your life and the lives of innocent people in danger.
We hope that understanding the DUI laws and knowing the penalties will help you avoid driving under the influence. And if not you, convince your friends and family to avoid it at all costs.