Is it almost time to renew your CT driver’s license?
Are you not sure how to renew it?
Maybe you’d like to know where you can renew it.
We’ve got you covered.
Today, we will talk all about Connecticut driver’s license renewal. We’re going to give you ALL the steps to renewing it, where you can renew it, and much more.
Plus, we’ll include an FAQ section at the end.
So let’s get started!
How to Renew Your Driver’s License in Connecticut
There are 3 ways to renew your driver’s license in Connecticut — online, in person, or through the mail.
However, you may not be eligible for all of them.
Let’s look at each one closely.
How to Renew Online
The most convenient way to renew your license is to do everything from the comfort of your home.
Great news! Connecticut offers an online option for license renewal.
And here are the steps to renew online:
- Go to the DMV renewal portal and follow the prompts. You’ll also need to encode the information:
- Your first and last name as shown in your current license
- Date of birth
- Street address
- Driver’s license number
- Social Security number
- A credit or debit card
- Pay the renewal fee of $72 for a 6-year license or $96 for an 8-year license. For anyone 65 and older, the fee is only $24.
If you renew after your license expiration, you’ll need to pay a penalty fee of $25.
- Give the DMV around 20 days to send your new driver’s license. You’ll receive it through the mail.
As easy as that!
Sound convenient or what?
Exceptions for Online Renewals
Several situations make you ineligible for an online renewal. See if any of these scenarios are true for you:
- You need to update your name.
- You are not an American citizen.
- You didn’t have a new photo taken during your previous driver’s license renewal.
- Your driver’s license expired more than two years ago.
- You want to get a REAL ID, not just a driver’s license.
- You carry a commercial driver’s license.
- You have a Drive-Only license.
- You have a suspended license at the time of renewal.
- You were honorably discharged from the military within the last 60 days or are currently serving in the military and would like to renew your driver’s license for free.
If you don’t qualify for online renewal, don’t fret! There are 2 other ways to complete the process.
How to Renew In-Person
Sure, the in-person process isn’t as convenient as renewing online, but it’s far from complicated. Here are the 4 steps you must complete:
- Set an appointment online. Even if you plan to renew in person, you cannot just walk into a DMV office.
Note: you can also get your license renewed at select AAA locations and Nutmeg Financial Credit Union officers. However, be prepared to pay an additional fee of up to $8 per transaction.
- Gather the necessary items for renewal. For a more organized renewal experience, it’s best to put these in one envelope to ensure you don’t miss out on anything.
- The renewal application form, if you received one from the DMV through the mail.
- Your present driver’s license. If you do not have it, bring another acceptable form of identification.
Note: If the DMV doesn’t have your photo on file, you need to present two acceptable forms of identification.
- Payment for the renewal fee through cash, check, money order, American Express, Mastercard, Visa, Discover, and most debit cards with the Visa/Mastercard logo.
Note: If you’re paying by check, it must be payable to the DMV.
- Check if you need additional documents. Sometimes, specific actions like doing a no-fee renewal or requesting a name change may require you to submit other documentation. See if you fall in any of these scenarios:
- You’re applying for a REAL ID-verified license. Effective on May 3, 2023, the U.S. Federal Government will require you to present a verified driver’s license each time you board a plane. Connecticut’s REAL ID fulfills this requirement.
- You’ve changed your name since your license was issued. You must bring a document verifying the name change. These include a marriage license, civil union certificate, divorce decree, or a probate court name change document.
- You want a no-fee renewal and are currently serving in the military. You must present your active military ID and a completed Application for Waiver of Driver’s License Fee form.
- You want a no-fee renewal after being honorably discharged from the military. Besides the Application for Waiver of Driver’s License Fee form, you also need to show an original copy of your Certificate of Release or Discharge from Active Duty (DD-214).
Note: The DMV only extends this privilege to those honorably discharged within 60 days of your renewal.
- Receive your new license. You can keep your old one if the only change in information is for your address, but you’ll get the new one through the mail within 20 days.
Exceptions for In-Person Renewals
The in-person process doesn’t have as many restrictions as an online renewal. These are only limited to 2:
- Your driver’s license expired more than two years ago. If this situation applies, you must apply for a new one.
- You have a suspended license at the time of renewal. For this scenario, you must have it restored via mail.
How to Renew Through Mail
Typically, Connecticut residents must complete the renewal process online or in person. Only individuals in specific situations are allowed to renew by mail.
See if you’re one of them.
- You are part of the military or discharged honorably within the last 60 days. You will need to send two forms:
- Connecticut Driver’s License/Identifications Card by Mail (B-350)
- Application for Waiver of Operator’s License Fee (B-88)
Note: You must send both to the DMV’s Central Issuance Operations Unit at 60 State Street, Weathersfield, CT 06161-5041. Make sure you include your Connecticut resident address and your out-of-state mailing address.
- You can’t make a physical appearance due to a medical condition. Complete Form B-350 if you do not qualify for an online renewal but cannot go to a DMV office because of health reasons.
- You’re out of state or country at the time of your renewal.
- You’re in a correctional facility. It requires you to provide your inmate number, and the DMV will send your license to your location.
If you qualify, here’s how to do it.
- Complete a Form B-350.
- Pay for the renewal fee via check or money order. These must be made payable to the DMV. If you’re opting for the former, make sure it’s drawn from a U.S. bank and payable in U.S. funds.
- Mail these to this address:
Department of Motor Vehicles
60 State Street
Wethersfield, CT 06109
Attention: Central Issuance Operations Unit
Note: Send it at least 10 days before your license expires, particularly if you’re out of the country.
If not mail, you can do it through email.
- Complete Form B-350 and send it to DMV.CIU@ct.gov.
- You can send the payment through a link. You’ll receive the link within 3 business days.
Exceptions for Mail Renewal
Not everyone can renew their driver’s license via mail. You cannot process your renewal through the mail if:
- You have mail forwarding.
- You previously renewed online or by mail. You’ll need to have your photo updated, which requires you to go to a DMV office.
- You carry a CDL or have Public Service Endorsements.
- You have a Drive-Only license.
- Your declared state of residency is no longer Connecticut.
Frequently Asked Questions
As promised, we’re going to answer some of the frequently asked questions about license renewal in Connecticut.
Do I need an appointment to renew my driver’s license in Connecticut?
Yes. All in-person renewals are by appointment. You can make an appointment through DMV’s online system.
When does my driver’s license expire in Connecticut?
Driver’s licenses in Connecticut typically expire every 6 years. However, the state is moving to 8-year REAL IDs.
So, you’ll only have to renew every 8 years when you have a verified license.
How long can you drive with an expired license in Connecticut?
You cannot drive in Connecticut the moment your driver’s license expires. You will need to pay fines if an officer pulls you over and finds you using an expired license.
Since it might take up to 20 days before you receive your new license, it’s best to consider that timeframe. You don’t have to wait until the last minute — you can renew it as early as 180 days before the expiration date.
How much does it cost to renew my driver’s license in Connecticut?
The cost of renewal depends on the validity of your new license. The longer it takes to expire, the more expensive it becomes.
- 6-year driver’s license: $72.00
- 8-year driver’s license: $96.00
Seniors can request a 2-year driver’s license renewal. You must be at least 65 years old when you do this and pay a $24 fee.
It’s possible to have your license renewed for free, but this is only available to those in the military or honorably discharged within 60 days of your renewal application.
It’s best to renew your license before it expires. Although your application still goes through, you’ll have to pay an additional $25.
You have multiple options for license renewal in Connecticut. Just make sure you check whether you qualify for a specific channel or not.
But whatever channel you go for in the end, know that it isn’t complicated at all. You just need to complete a few steps.
So don’t wait any longer.
Go and renew your CT driver’s license today!