Is car insurance mandatory in Connecticut?
How does car insurance work in the state?
How do you insure your car?
We’re here to answer all these questions and more.
By the end of this article, you’ll know everything you need to know about the Connecticut car insurance laws this 2022.
So without further ado, let’s begin!
Do You Need Insurance for Your Vehicle in Connecticut?
Yes, the State of Connecticut requires you to have insurance on each vehicle you drive. This applies to both private and commercial vehicles.
Now, there are 2 types of insurance currently required by law:
- Liability insurance
- Uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage
Let’s take a close look at each of these.
Liability insurance, also known as bodily injury liability, covers people and property that are injured/damaged due to your or someone else’s negligence when driving your car.
The minimum required by law is $25,000 per person, $50,000 per accident for bodily injury liability, and $25,000 per accident for property liability.
Of course, these are just the minimum requirements. You can always opt for higher coverage if you want.
Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist Coverage
So liability insurance covers other people and property harmed by you or a person driving your car. This motorist coverage, on the other hand, focuses on you and the people in your vehicle affected by an accident or someone who’s uninsured or underinsured.
This insurance will make up for the underinsurance of the one at fault or during hit-and-run instances.
The minimum coverage required by law is to have $25,000 coverage per person and $50,000 coverage per accident. Again, you can always opt for higher coverages.
What If You Don’t Have Car Insurance in Connecticut?
Since having car insurance is a law in Connecticut, you’ll face certain penalties if you don’t carry one.
Here are the penalties:
- $100 – $1,000 fine for private vehicles during their first conviction
- Suspension of the vehicle registration and driver’s license for the first conviction
- Up to 6 months suspension for succeeding convictions
- $,5000, imprisonment up to 5 years, or both for commercially-operated vehicles
As you can see, the penalties are pretty harsh.
So make sure you have your vehicle insured with the minimum state requirements.
You should also maintain your insurance and always bring proof of your active insurance in your vehicle.
Remember, if you fail to show proof of car insurance, that is already considered a non-compliance. So don’t ever forget to maintain and bring proof.
What Do You Need to Insure A Car in Connecticut?
To register for car insurance in Connecticut, you need to have the following documents:
- Your birth certificate
- Your Social Security card
- Your driver’s license and/or the driver’s licenses of anyone else you want to add to the policy
- Your vehicle registration
Once you have all of these ready, you can apply for a quotation from any car insurance provider in Connecticut.
The best way to go about looking for the best insurance provider is by doing research and getting quotes from several companies. This way, you can identify each plan and see which is the best for you.
How Much Is Car Insurance Per Month in Connecticut?
As you might expect, the monthly fee for car insurance varies on your insurance provider. In turn, your insurance provider can make it higher or lower, depending on your violations and infractions on your driving record.
If you have a clean record, the average fee is around $150 a month.
You may find a provider that offers fewer fees, however, make sure to check their services and inclusions for the best value.
What are the Reliable Car Insurance Providers in Connecticut?
To help you out a bit, we’re going to list a few of the most reliable car insurance providers in Connecticut. These are:
- USAA – $1,225 average annual full coverage premium
- Amica – $1,378 average annual full coverage premium
- Geico – $1,405 average annual full coverage premium
- State Farm – $1,457 average annual full coverage premium
- Nationwide – $1,485 average annual full coverage premium
You can pick from one of these or do your own research. Just make sure that you check for ALL the details.
Do You Have to Insure A Car That Is NOT Being Driven in Connecticut?
Yes. Even if you are not using your vehicle, you still need to cover it with car insurance. That is, if it has a valid CT registration.
Those who fail to have car insurance for every registered vehicle may be fined or have their vehicle registration suspended.
In some cases, vehicles are impounded if they don’t have any insurance coverage.
How Does Car Insurance Work in Connecticut?
When it comes to car insurance, a lot of people shy away from it because it seems too complicated for them.
But to put it simply…
If you are the victim, another person’s car insurance will cover your medical expenses. If you cause an accident, your insurance will cover the victim’s property damage and bodily injuries.
If such accidents occur, you will have to contact your insurance provider right away (assuming that you have been treated or are in stable condition).
You may also need to file a police report and take your documentation of the incident. This way, you have proof of what happened and the damage that it caused.
See. It’s a very simple concept. And a very helpful law, too.
- Connecticut requires that every registered vehicle should have 2 types of insurance – liability insurance and uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage.
- Failure to present car insurance that meets the state requirements will result in fines and driver’s license suspension. There are also cases where your vehicle’s registration is suspended.
So don’t forget to have your vehicle insured!
Because aside from avoiding penalties, you also become financially prepared for any accidents on the road.
If your vehicle doesn’t have car insurance yet, it’s best to get started right now!