Drive-Safely.net

Arkansas Driving Laws 2022 – Everything You Should Know

Arkansas Driving Laws Everything You Should Know

Are you a new driver in Arkansas?

Maybe you’re about to get your AR driver’s license. 

Or, maybe you want to avoid those annoying tickets. 

Whatever the case, you’ll learn everything you need to know about the Arkansas driving laws here. We’ll look at:

  • Arkansas driver’s license
  • Arkansas driving laws
  • Arkansas road rules

With each category, we’ll give you ALL the details — from how to get your driver’s license to safe driving tips in the Arkansas road conditions.

So shall we begin? 

Arkansas Driving Laws by Category

Driver’s license:

Driving laws:

Road rules:

Okay, let’s start from the very beginning — getting your Arkansas driver’s license. 

Arkansas Driver’s License

Here is all the information you should know about your driver’s license in Arkansas. 

Arkansas Driver’s License Requirements

You can start working towards an AR driver’s license when you turn 14 years old. So let’s go through the steps for you. 

Here are the steps to get your instruction permit:

  1. Schedule an appointment for your written exam at a local state police testing center
  2. Submit these required documents to the state police testing center:
    1. Birth certificate
    2. Proof of identity
    3. Financial Responsibility Acceptance form signed by your parent or legal guardian in front of a state police employee 
    4. High school diploma, GED, or Notice of Intent to Home School form
  3. Pass the vision test
  4. Pass the written test
  5. Apply for an instruction permit at a DFA Revenue Office  
  6. Have your photo taken
  7. Pay the $40 permit fee
  8. Receive your instruction permit 

Here are the steps to upgrade to a learner’s license:

  1. Hold your instruction permit for at least 30 days
  2. Schedule an appointment for your road test at a state police testing center
  3. Submit these documents at the center:
    1. Birth certificate
    2. Proof of identity
    3. Financial Responsibility Acceptance form signed by your parent or legal guardian at the center
    4. High school diploma, GED, or Notice of Intent to Home School form
    5. Written consent from your parent/legal guardian
    6. Your vehicle’s registration and insurance card
  4. Pass the road test 
  5. Get your instruction permit stamped
  6. Submit the stamped permit to a DFA Revenue Office and have it replaced with a learner’s license 

Here is how to get your intermediate license:

  1. Be at least 16 years old
  2. Hold your learner’s license for at least 6 months
  3. Have no major driving violations
  4. Visit your local DFA Revenue Office
  5. Apply for an intermediate license
  6. Submit these documents:
    1. Your learner’s license
    2. Social Security Number or a signed affidavit that you don’t have one
    3. Proof of identity
    4. Birth certificate 
    5. Proof of legal presence in the US
  7. Have your photo taken
  8. Pay the $40 intermediate license fee
  9. Get your intermediate license 

And here is how to get your full driver’s license:

  1. Be at least 18 years old 
  2. Have no serious accidents or traffic violations for 12 months
  3. Go to a DFA Revenue Office
  4. Apply for a Class D license
  5. Submit these documents: 
    1. Your intermediate license
    2. Social Security Number or a signed affidavit that you don’t have one
    3. Proof of identity
    4. Birth certificate 
    5. Proof of legal presence in the US
  6. Have your photo taken
  7. Pay the $40 Class D license fee 
  8. Get your full driver’s license 

There you have it!

You are now a licensed driver in Arkansas. 

Read More About Arkansas Driver’s License Requirements Here

Arkansas Driver’s License Renewal 

Once you have held your full driver’s license for 4 years, it’s time to renew it. 

Now, you can choose to renew it at an office or through the mail (if you are eligible). Let’s look at them one by one. 

Here’s how to renew your AR driver’s license in person:

  1. Go to your local DFA Revenue Office 
  2. Submit these documents:
    1. Your current driver’s license
    2. Proof of identity 
    3. Proof of legal presence in the US
    4. Social Security Number
    5. Proof of legal name change (if applicable)
  3. Pass the vision test
  4. Pay the $40 renewal fee
  5. Get your new driver’s license

Some people can’t make it to an AR DFA Revenue Office because they are out of state. So they are given the option to renew through the mail. And here are the steps:

  1. Apply for mail renewal by calling the AR ODS Driver’s License Department at (501) 682-7059. Or, you can email them at Driver.Service@dfa.arkansas.gov
  2. Complete the renewal application form sent by the department
  3. Pay the $40 renewal fee
  4. Put the form and payment in a packet and send it to the address found on the form
  5. Receive your new driver’s license by mail 

Petty simple, right?

Read More About Arkansas Driver’s License Renewal Here

Arkansas CDL Requirements

Say you want to drive a commercial motor vehicle (CMV). Well, you need a commercial driver’s license (CDL). Now, let’s quickly go through the steps to getting this in Arkansas. 

Here’s how to get your commercial learner’s permit (CLP) in Arkansas:

  1. Be at least 18 years old (21 years old to drive out of state)
  2. Go to a local Arkansas Office of Motor Vehicles 
  3. Submit these documents: 
    1. Your driver’s license (should be valid for at least 1 year)
    2. Driving history check
    3. Proof of passing a medical and vision test from the FMCSA
    4. Self-certification affidavit 
    5. Proof of legal presence in the US
    6. Proof of residency in Arkansas 
  4. Apply for a CLP
  5. Pay the $50 written exam fee
  6. Pass the written exam(s)
  7. Receive your CLP

Once you have held your CLP for 14 days and completed an Entry-Level Driver Training from the FMCSA, you can apply for your CDL. 

Here are the steps: 

  1. Schedule a CDL skills test
  2. Pass the skills test
  3. Pay the $42 CDL fee
  4. Get your CDL

You can now drive a commercial truck that matches your CDL class. 

Read More About Arkansas CDL Requirements Here 

Types of Driver’s License in Arkansas 

Class D license. 

Class A and B CDL. 

Class M. 

You might have heard about these license classes but don’t know what it stands for. It’s important that you do as it will determine what vehicle you can drive. 

So let’s go over all the license classes in Arkansas. 

  • Class A CDL – can operate combination CMVs with a Gross Combination Weight Rating (GCWR) of 26,001 pounds or more. The towed unit should be more than 10,000 pounds. 
  • Class B CDL – can operate single or combination CMVs with a Gross Vehicle Weight Rating (GVWR) of 26,0001 pounds or more. For a combination vehicle, the towed unit should be less than 10,000 pounds. 
  • Class C CDL – can operate CMVs that carry 16 or more passengers, hazardous materials, and quantities of substances considered toxins or select agents. 
  • Class D – can operate private vehicles with a GVWR of fewer than 26,0001 pounds. This is your regular driver’s license. 
  • Class M – can operate motorcycles with more than 250cc. 
  • Class MD – can operate motorcycles with less than 250cc.
  • Class MB – can operate motorized bicycles with less than 50cc. 
Read More About Types of Driver’s License in Arkansas Here

How to Get Your Arkansas Driving Record 

Interested to see your driver’s license history? 

Maybe you need to submit your driving record to an auto insurance company, or the court. 

If so, here are the ways you can request your Arkansas driving record. 

  • Get your AR driving record online
    • Go to the AR DFA website
    • Fill out the form
    • Choose what type of record you want
    • Pay the fee (the cost will depend on what record you choose). NOTE: online requests are more expensive. 

Department of Finance and Administration

P.O. Box 1272 Room 1130

Little Rock, AR 72203-1272

  • Get your AR driving record in person
Read More About How to Get Your Arkansas Driving Record Here

Arkansas Driving Laws

Now that you know everything about Arkansas driver’s licenses, it’s time to move on to the driving laws. If you want to avoid annoying tickets, then keep close attention to this section. 

Arkansas Vehicle Laws

In Arkansas, you have to register your vehicle within 30 days. That’s whether you transferred it from another state/country or newly bought it from the state. 

When registering, you need to submit the required documents and pay the necessary fees. 

Here are the documents you need to submit at the Arkansas OMV Revenue Office or online:

  • Proof of ownership
  • Manufacturer’s Certificate of Origin OR signed vehicle title by you and the seller
  • Signed lien agreement
  • Filled out Vehicle Registration Application form 
  • Filled out Bill of Sale 
  • Proof of vehicle VIN (if applicable)
  • Proof of AR car insurance 
  • Proof of personal tax payment
  • Proof of assessment 

And here are the fees you need to pay:

  • Vehicle weighing 3,000 pounds or less – $17
  • Vehicle weighing 3.001 pounds to 4,500 pounds – $25
  • Vehicle weighing 4,500 pounds and more – $30
  • Motorcycle with less than 250cc – $3
  • Motorcycle with more than 250cc – $5
  • Commercial motor vehicles – $21

You also need to renew your vehicle registration every year. The great news is that you can renew it online, by phone, through the mail, or at an office. 

Now, if you are late to register your vehicle, you will need to pay a penalty fee of $3 for every 10 days past the 30 days. Also, if you don’t register your vehicle, it can be impounded. 

Read More About Arkansas Vehicle Laws Here

Arkansas Seatbelt Laws

Seatbelts are SUPER important, whether you think so or not. 

This is why Arkansas implements strict seatbelt laws. And this is why it’s a must to know and obey these laws. 

In Arkansas, all front passengers are required to wear a seatbelt. If the driver is underage, then everyone needs to wear a seatbelt, whether in the front or back seat. 

As for car seats for children, every child younger than 6 years old and weighs less than 60 pounds HAS to use a child safety seat. 

What if you disobey these laws?

A police officer can stop you on the spot and give you a non-moving violation. As a result, you’ll need to pay a penalty fee of $25, plus court costs. 

Read More About Arkansas Seatbelt Laws Here

Arkansas Distracted Driving Laws

I’m sure you can see why distracted driving is dangerous. 

The moment you take your focus off the road, whether mentally or physically, you are putting everyone in danger. 

That said, the number one distraction is using your phone while behind the wheel. 

This led the State of Arkansas to make a “No Texting While Driving” law. The law is pretty self-explanatory. 

However, this also includes using a handheld device to send emails, play games, browse the web, engage in social media, as well as use wireless interactive communication. 

You are only allowed to use your phone if:

  • You need to communicate with personnel or colleague 
  • You need to report an illegal activity 
  • You need to contact an emergency hotline

What about penalties? 

For a first offense, you’ll have to pay $250. For subsequent offenses, that will go up to $500. 

And, if your distracted driving causes an accident or collision, the fines will double up. 

Read More About Arkansas Distracted Driving Laws Here

Arkansas DWI Laws

Driving while intoxicated is one of the most dangerous forms of driving. It’s no wonder it has some of the harsher penalties in the state. 

To make sure you don’t have to face these penalties…

Or worse, injuries or death…

You have to know about the Arkansas DWI laws. 

These are:

  • You should NOT drive with a Blood Alcohol Content (BAC) level of 0.08% if you are 21 years old or older
  • You should NOT drive with a BAC level of 0.04% if you hold a commercial driver’s license
  • You should NOT drive with a BAC level of 0.02% if you are under 21 years old 
  • You should NOT refuse a breathalyzer, blood, or urine test from an officer that suspects you of DWI 

Now, here is a table of the penalties you will face if charged with DWI.

First OffenseSecond OffenseThird Offense
Jail Time24 hours to 1 year (minimum 7 days if minor under 16 years old is present)7 days to 1 year (minimum 30 days if minor under 16 years old is present)90 days to 1 year (minimum 120 days if minor under 16 years old is present)
License Suspension6 months24 months30 months
Fines$150 to $1,000$400 to $3,000$900 to $5,000

The court may also ask you to take 30 to 60 days of community service and/or complete an alcohol education program, depending on the severity of your violation. 

For drivers under 21 years old charged with DUI, these are the penalties they will face:

First OffenseSecond OffenseThird Offense
Jail TimeNoneAt least 30 daysAt least 60 days
License Suspension90 days1 year3 years or until 21 years old (whichever is longer)
Fines$100 to $500$200 to $1,000$500 to $2,000
Read More About Arkansas DWI Laws Here

Arkansas Road Rules

Finally, let’s go over the road rules in Arkansas. 

Arkansas Road Signs

To be the safest driver you can be, you should follow ALL the Arkansas road signs. It’s also important to know about these signs to pass the permit test

First, there are the Arkansas traffic signals. This is your basic red light means stop, yellow light means slow down, and green light means go.

There are variations to the traffic signals. For example, you might see a flashing red light. This means that you need to stop, look around, and go if it is safe. 

Then there are the Arkansas traffic control signs. Here are some examples of traffic control signs in Arkansas. 

Arkansas Driving Laws
Arkansas Driving Laws
Arkansas Driving Laws
Arkansas Driving Laws
Fuel Next Exit Sign
Sign
Interstate 20
Road signs
Railroad crossing sign
Emergency road sign

There are also warning signs. Let’s look at some of these.

Arkansas Driving Laws

And here are the regulation signs

Arrow signs
Turn signs
Road signs

These are the signs that warn you about construction zones

Road signs

Lastly, we have the Arkansas pavement markings

Fog lines
White lane marking
Stop line marking
Solid double yelllow line
Broken yellow line
Arkansas Driving Laws
Arkansas Driving Laws
Read More About Arkansas Road Signs Here

Arkansas Road Conditions

When you drive in Arkansas, you’ll face many different road conditions. And it’s important to know how to go through these conditions.

So here are some safe driving tips to keep in mind. 

  • Driving on curvy roads 
    • Slow down 
    • Be in control of your vehicle
    • Don’t make sharp turns to avoid skidding
  • Driving in rain and snow
    • Slow down
    • Avoid driving if you can help it
    • Use the appropriate tires for heavy snow
  • Driving in heavy traffic
    • Go at the same speed as everyone else
    • Avoid braking suddenly as the car behind can collide with you
    • Always check your blind spots
    • Use your vehicle’s signals when turning
    • Do not tailgate
Read More About Arkansas Road Conditions Here

Conclusion 

That was everything you need to know about the Arkansas driving laws. 

So whether you want to learn about your AR driver’s license, the driving laws, or road rules, you can find it here. 

And if you want even more information on a specific topic, you can read about it through the provided links. 

We hope this article has been a great help!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *