Are you nervous about the Arkansas permit test?
Do you not know what to expect?
Well, we’re here to tell you everything you need to know.
This way, you can prepare yourself before you go out and ACE that test.
Let’s get right into it!
Can I Take the Arkansas Permit Test Online?
Unfortunately, you cannot take the test online. You’ll have to appear at a testing center.
That said, you can schedule for your Arkansas permit test online. Just click here.
How Many Questions Are on the Arkansas Permit Test?
The Arkansas permit test contains 25 multiple-choice questions. To pass the test, you need to get at least 20 items right. Otherwise, you’ll have to wait 5 days before you may retake the exam.
How Much Does the Arkansas Permit Test Cost?
The Arkansas permit test costs around $5. If you pass, there will also be a $40 licensing fee, which you pay at the DMV.
How to Prepare for the Arkansas Permit Test?
The Arkansas permit test was designed to gauge your knowledge of different Arkansas driving laws. While it isn’t exactly the SATs, there will be a certain level of challenge present.
Don’t worry too much, though. There are things you can do that will help you pass with flying colors.
One is to read the Arkansas DMV Handbook. Since the permit test takes its questions from the handbook, you’re sure to be familiar with the topics if you study it.
If you don’t have time to study, then you can take an online practice test. You can take the official Arkansas practice test here.
You can also find a few FREE ones on the internet.
What are the Recommended Permit Practice Tests in Arkansas?
Besides the official online practice test, there are a few others that provide great help.
Here, we’ll list and review a few of the top FREE permit practice test in Arkansas.
This is a great way to get familiar with the format of the actual Arkansas permit test. You can switch between difficulties (there are 3: easy, hard, hardest). There’s also a nifty exam simulator, so you can experience what taking the exam would be like in real life.
DMV Permit Tests
You can’t switch between test modes on this permit practice test. However, the great thing about it is that it has 15 different tests. Each contains various questions that could potentially appear on your permit test. So, you can still familiarize yourself with different test questions.
Free DMV Practice Tests
The great thing about Free DMV Practice Tests programs is that it has a progress tracker. You can check this tool to review your practice test scores. Keep track of what questions you have a hard time answering. Take note of the right answers so you can easily recall them during the actual test.
What Happens If I Fail the Arkansas Permit Test?
You can simply retake it.
However, you have to wait 5 days before you can reapply. Once you submit your application, you have 90 days and 3 attempts to pass the permit test.
If you can’t pass the test on the third try, you’ll need to repeat the whole process again.
What Kind of Questions Should I Expect on the Arkansas Permit Test?
The Arkansas DMV Handbook, which is available for FREE online, contains all of the questions that appear on the learner’s permit test.
Answers are also found at the very end of the study guide. So, it’s best that you read the thing from cover to cover.
As for the permit test, there are 2 categories.
The first covers the following topics:
- Driving laws (liability insurance laws, alcohol-related laws, pedestrian laws, implied-consent laws)
- The penalties for violating these laws
- Various kinds of maneuvering (turning, signaling, lane changing, and parking)
- Differences between highway driving and city driving, including speed limits
- Procedures to be used in accidents or emergencies
Meanwhile, the second category addresses the following:
- The 4 basic uses for signs (indicating hazards, providing guidance, providing information, and regulating traffic) and which color is used for each
- Distinguishing various signs and their meaning based on color and shape
- The uses for pavement markings on both highways and streets, and the ways in which they restrict the actions of drivers
Where Can I take the Arkansas Permit Test?
Although the Arkansas Department of Finance and Administration (DFA) is in charge of granting driver’s licenses, the Arkansas State Police are in control of all testing.
You can find a list of all State Police driver’s testing centers in the state by visiting the Arkansas State Police website.
For online scheduling for your permit test, click here.
What Requirements Do I Need to Take the Arkansas Permit Test?
To take the Arkansas permit test, you’ll need to submit the following requirements:
- Original US birth certificate (no copies)
- Social Security card
- Proof of residential address
- Proof of citizenship or legal presence
- Proof of enrollment in a public or private school and a GPA of at least 2.0
- Necessary fees where applicable
- A parent or guardian’s signature (for applicants 16 years old and below)
How Long After the Permit Test Can You Get Your Driver’s License in Arkansas?
Teens that are 16 years old and have held their Arkansas driver’s permit for at least 6 months may apply for a provisional driver’s license.
From there, they need to hold the provisional license until they turn 18 years old.
So if you get your learner’s permit at 16, you’ll have to wait 2 years to get your full driver’s license in Arkansas.
So that was everything you needed to know about the Arkansas permit test.
It’s nothing new to be nervous about taking the test.
I mean, everyone wants to pass on the first try.
Now that you know what to expect, you’ll be more than prepared.
Also, if you want to GUARANTEE you pass on the first try, you should read the Arkansas DMV Handbook and take a FREE online practice test.
And, if you want to check out the other Arkansas driver’s license requirements, check out this article.