Drive-Safely.net

Arkansas Driver’s License Requirements (A Complete 2022 Guide)

Arkansas Driver's License Requirements (A Complete Guide)

Excited to get your driver’s license?

I’m sure you are. 

But before that, you need to complete all the Arkansas driver’s license requirements

And today, we’re going to give you a complete 2022 guide on how to get your driver’s license in Arkansas. This way, you know exactly what you need, when you need it, and how to get it. 

So let’s get started!

How to Get a Driver’s License in Arkansas?

In Arkansas, you can start working towards your driver’s license at 14 years old. If so, you’ll have to follow the Graduated Driver Licensing (GDL) law. 

The GDL makes you go through 3 stages of license:

  • An instruction permit (14 to 16 years old)
  • An intermediate license (16 to 18 years old)
  • A Class D driver’s license (18 years old and above)

Here, we’re going through all the steps on how to get your instruction permit, intermediate license, and Class D license. 

So let’s start from the very beginning…

How to Get an Instruction Permit in Arkansas

These are the steps to getting hold of your Arkansas instruction permit:

  1. Schedule an appointment with the local state police testing center for your written test (click here to do it online
  1. While there, submit the required documents:
    1. Birth certificate
    2. Another proof of identity 
    3. Signature of parent or legal guardian (they must accompany you to the office and bring their driver’s license or state ID)
    4. High school diploma, GED, or Notice of Intent to Home School form (online diplomas are NOT accepted)
  1. Pass a vision test
  1. Pass the written test
  1. Apply for your instruction permit at the DFA Revenue Office (click here for locations)
  1. Have your photo taken
  1. Pay the permit fee of $40 (can pay with cash, checks made payable to the DFA, or credit cards with an additional $2)
  1. Receive your instruction permit (this is valid for 1 year and cannot be renewed)
  1. Practice driving for at least 30 days 
  1. Schedule an appointment with the local state police testing center for your road test (click here to do it online)
  1. While there, submit the required documents:
    1. Everything from step 2
    2. Written consent from your parent or legal guardian
    3. A vehicle, along with its registration and insurance
    4. A driver who is at least 21 years old and holds a valid driver’s license
  1. Pass the road test 
  1. Switch your instruction permit to a learner’s license by submitting your stamped permit to the DFA Revenue Office 
  1. Practice more driving 

For drivers between the ages of 14 and 16, you are required to hold your instruction permit or learner’s license for at least 6 months without a traffic violation.

With this, you can practice how to drive. However, you must have an instructor or licensed adult at least 21 years old on the front passenger seat at all times. 

How to Get an Intermediate License in Arkansas

Once you turn 16, have held your instruction permit/learner’s license for at least 6 months, and have no major driving violation on your record, you can now apply for the intermediate license. 

Here are the steps to get this type of license in Arkansas:

  1. Visit your local DFA Revenue Office
  1. Apply for an intermediate license
  1. Submit the required documents:  
    1. Your learner’s license
    2. Social Security Number or a signed affidavit that you don’t have one
    3. Proof of identity
    4. Birth certificate
    5. Proof of legal presence in the US
    6. Proof of name change (if applicable)
  1. Have your photo taken
  1. Pay the intermediate license fee of $40
  1. Get your intermediate license 

Drivers with an intermediate license can start driving unsupervised. However, there are still a few restrictions. These are:

  • Need a licensed adult driver in the front passenger seat for the first 6 months of your intermediate license.
  • Cannot drive between 11 pm and 4 am unless accompanied by a licensed adult driver OR driving to or from a school activity, church activity, or a job. 
  • Cannot drive with more than 1 unrelated minor passenger unless accompanied by a licensed adult driver in the front passenger seat. 
  • Cannot use any handheld or hands-free device while behind the wheel

How to Get a Class D License in Arkansas

Now, if you hold an intermediate license, you can switch to a full Class D license if:

  • You turned 18 years old
  • You have no serious accidents or traffic violations during the prior 12 months

All you need to do is: 

  1. Go to your local DFA Revenue Office
  1. Apply for a Class D license
  1. Submit the required documents:
    1. Your intermediate license
    2. Social Security Number or a signed affidavit that you don’t have one
    3. Proof of identity
    4. Birth certificate
    5. Proof of legal presence in the US
    6. Proof of name change (if applicable)
  1. Have your photo taken
  1. Pay the Class D license fee of $40

And there you have it!

You are now a fully licensed driver in Arkansas. 

Congrats!

But wait…

What about those that start working towards their license when they are already over 18 years old?

Or what about those that have a foreign license and want to get an Arkansas license?

The steps are very similar to getting an instruction permit. Only, you need to:

  1. Schedule an appointment with the local state police testing center for your written test (click here to do it online
  1. While there, submit the required documents:
    1. Social Security Number or a signed affidavit that you don’t have one
    2. Proof of identity
    3. Proof of birth date
    4. Proof of legal presence in the US
    5. Proof of name change (if applicable)
  1. Pass a vision test
  1. Pass the written test
  1. Have your photo taken
  1. Receive your instruction permit 
  1. Practice driving for at least 30 days 
  1. Schedule an appointment with the local state police testing center for your road test (click here to do it online)
  1. While there, submit the required documents:
    1. Everything from step 2
    2. Your instruction permit
    3. The vehicle’s registration and insurance (plus your vehicle)
  1. Pass the road test 
  1. Apply for a Class D license at your local DFA Revenue Office
  1. Submit the required documents:
    1. Everything from Step 2
    2. Stamped instruction permit or foreign license
  1. Have your photo taken
  1. Pay the license fee of $40 (can pay with cash, checks made payable to the DFA, or credit cards with an additional $2)

As you can see, the process is the same but with some steps moved around. 

FAQs

Before we go, let’s answer some of the most frequently asked questions.

Can you take the written test online in Arkansas?

No. The written test can only be taken in person at the Arkansas State Police Headquarters or the McGee Center.

How much does it cost to get a driver’s license in Arkansas?

Getting a new driver’s license in Arkansas will cost approximately $65:

  • New license fee: $40
  • Written test fee: $5
  • Skills test fee: $20

How many questions are in the Arkansas written test?

There are 25 questions in the Arkansas written test. You need to get 20/25 questions right to pass the test.

Conclusion

That was a lot of steps!

But with this complete guide to Arkansas driver’s license requirements, you now have everything under control. Meaning, you now know what you need to do, how to do it, and when to do it. 

So remember, if you are 14 to 16 years old, you need to get an instruction permit and then a learner’s license. 

From there, you can switch it to an intermediate license. This will give you more freedom to drive, but with some restrictions still. 

Then, when you turn 18 years old, have held your intermediate license for 6 months, and have no major traffic violations, you can now get a full Class D license. 

So what are you waiting for?

If you are 14 years old or older, you should get started right away.

Good luck!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *