Oklahoma Driver’s License Renewal (A Complete 2024 Guide)

Oklahoma Driver’s License Renewal

As a driver, there’s a lot to think about…

You need to make sure you abide by all the laws and road rules. 

You need to know about changes in traffic regulations. 

You need to keep everyone around you safe. 

And, you need to renew your driver’s license every few years. 

We’re here to help you with the last point. 

To do that, we’ll list down all the steps of the Oklahoma driver’s license renewal process. This way, you can just follow our guide instead of going here and there and seeing how it’s done. 

We’ll even answer some frequently asked questions.

We know you’re pressed for time, so let’s get started right away!

How to Renew A Driver’s License in Oklahoma

Great news! Drivers in Oklahoma have several ways to complete the license renewal process:

  • Online
  • In Person
  • By Mail

With this, you have multiple options regardless of whether you’re always on the go, out-of-state, or prefer to transact in person.

However, it’s best to know each method’s eligibility requirements. Although Oklahoma offers several options, not everything will always be available.

So, let’s explore each of these in detail.

How to Renew Your OK Driver’s License Online

Renewing your driver’s license online might be your best bet if you’re tech-savvy, have a full schedule, or want to use the most convenient way possible.

But before you dive into the process, ensure you’re eligible for an online renewal. Here’s a list of things to consider:

  • You are an American citizen or a permanent resident.
  • Your driving privileges are active.
  • You are not a first-time applicant for a REAL-ID credential.
  • You are an Oklahoma resident.
  • Your driver’s license is valid (or it’s only been less than a year since it expired)
  • You don’t need to change any of your personal details (except your address)
  • You are not renewing a commercial driver’s license.

If you checked all the boxes, then you’re good. 

Here’s how to renew online:

  1. Prepare the following:
    1. A picture of an acceptable proof of identity that you can upload. You can click here to see which documents you can use. 
    2. A photo of yourself (it must not be more than six months old)
    3. A debit or credit card for payment
    4. Your Social Security number
    5. Your driver’s license number (Optional)
  1. Go to Service Oklahoma’s online renewal page.
  1. Follow the prompts on the screen.
  1. Pay the renewal fee of $38.50 (for a 4-year license) or $77 (for an 8-year one).
  1. Wait for your new license to arrive by mail within 60 days. 

NOTE: Unlike in-person renewals, you won’t get a temporary license if you complete the process online. However, you can print out the confirmation email you get after applying and keep that with your old driver’s license as proof of renewal until the official credential arrives. 

How to Renew Your OK Drive’s License In-Person

Say you aren’t eligible for online renewal. 

Don’t fret — renewing in person is easy, too. 

And, there are two places to do it — through a Licensed Operator or a Licensing Office.

It’s crucial to note that each has different eligibility requirements. You can use the table below as your guide:

Licensed OperatorLicensing Office
You are a U.S. citizen or a permanent resident. 

Your permanent home address must be in Oklahoma. 

Your license hasn’t expired (or if it has, it hasn’t been more than a year), OR it expired more than a year ago but less than three years. 

NOTE: The latter only applies to U.S. citizens who can provide a state-issued birth certificate.

NOTE II: You must apply for a new license if the one you carry expired more than three years ago.  

Your driving privileges are active (you cannot renew a suspended license)
You are a U.S. citizen, a permanent resident, or in the country with immigration documents. 

Your permanent home address must be in Oklahoma. 

Your driving privileges are active (you cannot renew a suspended license)

If you’re good to go, here are the steps:

  1. Find a Licensed Operator or a Licensing Office near you. 

NOTE: Most accept walk-in renewals, although the availability is limited. Making an appointment is better and even sometimes required. Make sure to look into this for your chosen office. 

  1. Bring the necessary documents:
    1. Your current driver’s license
    2. A primary ID (for lost, stolen, or damaged credentials that need replacing)
    3. A state-issued birth certificate or valid U.S. passport (if your license expired more than a year ago)
    4. Documents proving a change of name (if necessary)
  1. Apply for OK driver’s license renewal and submit the documents. 
  1. Pay the appropriate renewal fee:
    1. $38.50 for a 4-year license
    2. $77 for an 8-year license
  1. Receive your temporary license and wait for your new driver’s license in the mail within 30 days.

See — that wasn’t so bad, was it?

How to Renew Your OK Driver’s License by Mail

By-mail renewals are only available for drivers out-of-state when their licenses expire. 

If so, follow these steps to renew your license by mail:

  1. Send the following information to the DPS:
    1. Request for an OK driver’s license renewal 
    2. Your complete name and birth date
    3. Your driver’s license number
    4. Your address in Oklahoma (if you moved since your last renewal, you must update your address before beginning this process)
    5. Your address outside of Oklahoma
    6. A copy of your Primary ID
  1. Enclose a check or money order payable to the Department of Public Safety. The cost will be $38.50 or $77, depending on whether you want a 4-year or 8-year license.
  1. Send everything to this address:

Department of Public Safety

Driver License Services, Renewal By Mail

PO Box 11415

Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, 73136

  1. Expect your new license to arrive at your out-of-state or out-of-the-country address within 60 days. 


Got some questions?

Let’s go over some of the most frequently asked ones. 

When does my driver’s license expire in Oklahoma?

Driver’s licenses in Oklahoma expire every 4 or 8 years, depending on what you purchased. 

You may renew it up to a year in advance. Don’t worry — the DPS will honor the expiration date on your credential.

How long can you drive with an expired license in Oklahoma?

Oklahoma offers a 30-day grace period for drivers with expired licenses. However, it only means you can renew it without paying a penalty fee.

You can still get caught and charged with driving with an expired license even if it’s within the 30-day grace period. 

Do I have to make an appointment to renew my license in Oklahoma?

Some offices accept walk-in renewal applications. However, the availability of slots may be limited, so it’s best to make an appointment before going to a Licensed Operator or a Licensing Office.

Where can I renew my Oklahoma driver’s license?

You can complete your renewal in person by going to a Licensed Operator or a Licensing Office. Remember that eligibility requirements between these are different, so don’t forget to check before your visit.

If not that, you can also renew your driver’s license ONLINE

What is needed to renew a driver’s license in Oklahoma?

Technically, you only need to present your current driver’s license to renew it. However, there may be additional requirements, such as:

  • If you lost your license or it was stolen or damaged: A primary ID 
  • If your license expired more than a year ago: A state-issued birth certificate or valid U.S. passport 
  • If you changed your name since your last renewal: Documents proving a change of name

The Wrap Up

There you go — all the steps to the Oklahoma driver’s license renewal process. 

Following these steps will make your experience smooth and hassle-free.

Just remember, always check the eligibility requirements, the required documents, and the right renewal fee and you’re good. 

So what are you waiting for?

Don’t delay anymore!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *