In the articles listed below, you’ll find the most important Illinois driving laws. Driving laws are a necessary evil to keep our streets safe and it’s very important that all drivers have at least basic knowledge of how traffic laws work. Just go to any busy 4-way intersection without a stoplight and you’ll see what happens when nobody knows the laws (in this case, right-of-way laws).
These articles will also assist you in passing your driving exam. You’ll need to know this information not only for your driving test, but also for your written exam.
Illinois Driving Laws by Category
Illinois Driver’s License Laws & Driver Documentation Requirements
Special Restrictions for Driver’s Under 21
Illinois Traffic Laws
Recent Changes To Illinois Traffic Laws 2021
The COVID-19 pandemic in 2021 caught everyone by surprise. With all the things happening around us, the Illinois Legislature has enacted new laws and amended some of their existing statutes. Below are three of the most notable changes to Illinois traffic law:
House Bill 4846 took effect in Illinois July 1st, 2019 wherein you’ll find under 625 ILCS 5/12-610.2 the amendments made to the state’s texting and driving law. Here it mentions that using a handheld mobile device while driving a motor vehicle will now count as a first-time offense for “moving violation.” Previously, this violation was treated as ‘non-moving violations’ for the first offense, so this is indeed a significant change.
Fines have been updated to:
- $75 for the first offense
- $100 for the second offense
- $125 for the third offense
- $150 for the fourth offense
Meanwhile, if this violation ends up in an accident, adding injury to anyone involved in the accident, the driver will now be subject to a minimum fine of $1,000.00 upon conviction. In addition, the driver will be required to report to the Secretary of State, facing the possibility of his/her license being revoked.
License suspension no longer apply for unpaid parking tickets fines
Another important update in 2021 is that if a driver fails to pay the fine for a non-moving violation, such as parking tickets, it will no longer result in your driver’s license suspension or revocation.
Fine for over speeding in speed camera zones
From March 1, 2021, drivers that are caught driving 6 to10 mph over the speed limit in speed camera zones are being issued a traffic ticket and fined $35. And, driving at 11 mph or more over the speed limit gets a $100 fine.
There was a short break for Chicago drivers from this law after a faulty speed zone camera operating system on city roads near schools, parks, and hospitals. But the system is now working as intended so drivers need to be mindful of their speed in these areas during certain hours and days of the week.