About 90 days before your driver’s license expires, you should receive a renewal
notice from the Secretary of State’s office with information on what documents you
need to provide and what tests are necessary. You may renew your license up to one
year before a two- or four-year driver’s license expires. You may renew up to six
months before a one-year driver’s license expires.
You may not receive a renewal notice if you fail to notify the Secretary of State’s office
of a change of name or address. State law requires you to inform the Secretary of State’s
office of an address change within 10 days. It is the driver’s responsibility to renew
his or her license before expiration, regardless of whether a renewal letter is
the following cases:
- Driver under age 21 — license expires three months after 21st birthday.
- Driver age 81-86 — license valid for two years.
- Driver age 87 and older — license requires annual renewal.
For more information on renewing a CDL or motorcycle license, check the Illinois
Motorcycle Operator Manual, the Rules of the Road for Non-CDL Vehicles or the
Commercial Driver’s License Study Guide.
To renew your driver’s license, you must:
- Visit a Driver Services facility and present your renewal notice.
- Take the appropriate exam(s), if applicable.
- Pay the appropriate fee and have a new photo taken.
Upon payment and successful completion of any required testing, the Secretary of
State will issue your new driver’s license before you leave the facility. For more information on the vision, written or driving exam.
Safe Driver Renewal
The Safe Driver Renewal Program enables drivers with clean driving records to renew
their driver’s licenses from home and visit a Driver Services facility only once every
eight years. Eligible drivers will receive a notice in the mail detailing how to complete
the renewal process online, by phone or by mail. To be eligible for Safe Driver
Renewal, a driver must:
- Be age 22-74;
- Not hold a commercial driver’s license (CDL) or school bus driver permit;
- Have no traffic infractions, sanctions, crash reports or medical report review
- Have Social Security information verified through the Social Security Online
Illinois Driver’s License FAQs
How much does it cost to renew a driver’s license in Illinois?
As of September 2021, the Illinois license renewal fees are as follows:
- If you’re 18 to 20, it costs $5
- If you’re 21 to 68, it will cost $30
- If you’re 69 to 80 years old, you will pay $5
- If you are 81 to 86, $2
- For those over the age of 87, it’s free of charge
Note: the fees will be based on your age upon license renewal.
Do I need to take a new photo when I renew my license?
Yes, every time you renew your license, make sure that you take a new photo. Your renewed driver’s license will serve as proof of your identity for the next four years, so you must look exactly as you do in person in your photo.
When do I need to renew my Illinois driver’s license?
Depending on your age, you have to renew your driver’s license:
- If you are 21 to 80, license renewal happens every four years
- If you are 81 to 86 years old, you will need to renew your license every two years
- If you are older than 87 years old, license renewal needs to be completed every year
When will my Illinois driver’s license expire?
Again, this will depend on your age.
- If you are under 21 years old, your license expires in 3 months after your 21st birthday
- If you are older than 21 years old, your license will expire on your birthday. This happens every four years if you are between 21 to 80 years old, every two years if you are 81 to 86 years old, and every year for those who are 87 years old or older.