New Illinois Traffic Laws

New Illinois Traffic Laws

Illinois traffic laws protect all who share our streets and highways. It is important to obey the
orders of a police officer, firefighter, highway authority official or uniformed adult
school crossing guard who is directing traffic or performing his/her official duties.

[ hana-code-insert ] 'Driving Record' is not found

New Laws

  • The SAFE-T Act (HB 3653)

This law was signed on February 22, 2021. 

Under this legislation, your Illinois driver’s license can no longer be suspended or “held” for unpaid red light camera tickets, unpaid speed camera tickets, unpaid traffic tickets, or unpaid abandoned vehicle fees. 

If your license is currently suspended or “held” for the tickets listed, those suspensions or holds will be cleared automatically and free of charge.

Drivers with a suspension or hold for reasons other than the above reasons, such as driving under the influence or failure to pay child support, may remain in suspension.

  • Texting while Driving Resulting in Injuries. This law became effective on July 1st, 2020, and states that drivers who text while driving resulting in great bodily harm, permanent disability, or disfigurement to another person are subject to a license suspension of 12 months and a minimum fine of $1,000.00.

  • Right of Way for Pedestrian in Crosswalk. This law also became effective on July 1st, 2020. It states that a driver who fails to yield the right of way at a crosswalk resulting in a serious injury to another faces a license suspension for a period of 12 months. A serious injury includes broken bones, severe bleeding, or injuries that require the victim to be carried from the scene for medical care.

  • Smoking in a Vehicle with a Minor Present. Beginning June 1st, 2020, it is illegal to smoke in a vehicle with a minor present, regardless of whether the vehicle is moving and has its windows down. A first offense carries a fine of not more than $100.00. A 2nd or subsequent offense carries a maximum fine of not more than $250.00. It should be noted that a police officer may not stop a vehicle solely for this offense, but may only write a ticket for this after stopping the vehicle for a different violation.

Other Illinois Traffic Laws

  • Slow-moving vehicle emblems may not be displayed on an object other than an animal-drawn vehicle, farm tractor, implement of husbandry, and certain special mobile
  • equipment.
  • The Secretary of State’s office may adopt rules to establish informational restrictions that can be placed on a driver’s license specific to the conditions of the licensee.
  • A vehicle used by someone driving on a suspended or revoked license is subject to
  • seizure and forfeiture if the driver’s privileges were revoked or suspended for certain violations in another state.
  • Using a wireless/cell phone device is prohibited while driving within 500 feet of an
  • emergency scene, except in certain circumstances.
  • A person driving a commercial motor vehicle is prohibited from using a hand-held
  • cell phone or texting.
  • The prohibition of wireless/cell phone use in a construction or maintenance zone
  • includes the area where signage is posted advising drivers that a construction or
  • The maintenance zone is being approached.
  • A motorcycle rider may proceed, after yielding the right-of-way to oncoming traffic,
  • through a red light that fails to turn green after waiting for at least 120 seconds.
  • A driver involved in a motor vehicle crash resulting only in damage to a vehicle may
  • move the vehicle as soon as possible to the nearest safe location that does not
  • obstruct traffic to exchange and render aid.
  • The Secretary of State’s office may suspend the driver’s license of a person determined by a court to have engaged in child visitation abuse.

Proceed To Illinois Safety Belt Laws

Go back to the Illinois Driving Laws page

The Homepage

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *