Did you know that your driving record can ruin your life?
Okay, that’s a bit extra. It won’t exactly “ruin” your life, but it can make it harder.
Well, a bad driving record can cause your car insurance fees to sky-rocket into new heights.
And trust us, that’s not the “leveling up” you want in 2022.
Your driving record can also affect your chances of getting a job offer from your dream company.
I mean, a driving record free of violations and fines makes you look like a responsible individual both at work and out on the road. And who doesn’t want an unproblematic job applicant?
So, if you’re a driver in Alabama, reviewing your driving record can help you keep an eye on your track record.
But how do you get your Alabama driving record?
That’s what we’re here to talk about.
Types of Driving Records in Alabama
Did you know there are different types of driving records in Alabama?
So before we begin, let’s see what these types are:
- Driver abstract:
- Contains your full driving history
- Can only be requested by the person on the record
- Can only be requested in person
- 3-year driving record:
- Contains your driving record for the last 3 years
- Can only be requested by the person on the record
- Motor vehicle record (MVR):
- Contains your personal information
- Contains your Alabama driving history
- Can be requested by authorized users other than the person on the record
How to Get Your Driving Record in Alabama
How exactly can you request for your driving record?
There are 3 ways:
- through the mail
Let’s talk about the procedures for each option:
If you want to get your 3-year driving record or MVR, it’s best to do it through the mail.
Here are the steps you have to take:
- Submit a Driver Record Request – 3 years or a Request for Motor Vehicle Record
- Include your name, driver’s license number, birth date, and social security number…
- Provide other personal information and your mailing address
- Write a certified check or money order of $5.75 to the “Alabama Department of Public Safety”. This is the record fee.
- Mail it to your local Alabama DMV office:
Alabama Department of Public Safety
Driver License Department
P.O. Box 1471
Montgomery, AL 36104
If you want to get a driver abstract record, then you’ll have to do it in person.
For in-person requests, it’s similar to if you request it through the mail. That is, you have to:
- Submit a completed Driver Abstract Request
- Write a certified check or money order made payable to the Alabama Department of Public Safety. The fee is $15 for the abstract record.
Now, instead of sending it through the post, you must physically go to your local Alabama DMV office. Here’s a list of their offices in Alabama:
Note: If requesting an MVR in person, make sure to call and ask your local Alabama DMV office if they process that type of record.
Unfortunately, Alabama does not authorize online requests. So we do NOT recommend getting one online.
However, if you insist, you can check out some third-party websites, such as DMV.org, that offer Alabama driving records online. Now, these might be a bit more expensive and could end up being a scam. So you have to do it with precaution.
If you ask us, though, it’s best to do it the official way (through mail or in-person).
What To Do With Your Alabama Driving Record
Once you have your driving record, you can use it to:
- Present it, along with your resume, when applying for a new job position
- Present in court and other legal proceedings
- To ask for better insurance rates from your insurance company
- To check for any errors in demerit points
Understanding Your Driving Record Points
What are the demerit points in your driving record?
Each traffic offense you commit has a specific assigned point value. Depending on how many points you have accumulated in Alabama in the last 2 years, you will receive different fines and punishments.
Now let’s talk about the points:
- 2 points: some minor offense crimes are awarded 2 points. Some examples are speeding (1-25 mph), making an improper turn, driving in the wrong lane
- 3 points: this is another minor offense point that usually includes failure to obey a police officer, running a red light
- 4 points: 4 points are usually given to drivers who commit illegal passing
- 5 points: this is a more “severe” point system given to violations like speeding over 26 mph, passing a stopped school bus, failing to give the right of way
- 6 points: this point system is reserved for the more “severe” traffic offenses like reckless driving, driving under the influence
Remember that the more points you have, the bigger the consequences!
Now we’re going to show you how long you’re going to get your license suspended based on how many points you’re accumulated within 2 years in Alabama:
- 12 – 14 points: 60 days
- 15 – 17 points: 90 days
- 18 – 20 points: 120 days
- 21 – 23 points: 180 days
- 24 points and more: 365 days
We know it looks scary. So be sure to keep those points as low as possible!
Improve Your Record with an Online Traffic School
Just to be sure, online traffic school CAN’T remove demerit points from your driving record.
However, they can help you avoid those points being added in the first place.
Of course, you have to ask your court handler first if an online traffic school can dismiss a ticket. I mean, you don’t want to take an online traffic school for nothing.
If they give you the green, then AWESOME!
But what online traffic school should you attend?
We have one recommendation. And that is iDriveSafely.
This online school is 100% online, state-approved in Alabama, legit, and can help you dismiss that annoying ticket to avoid those annoying demerit points.
Need to keep an eye on your demerit points?
Want to present your driving record to your auto insurance company?
Well, now that you know how to get your Alabama driving record, it will be very easy to get hold of it.
And just to make sure, here’s a quick recap:
- You CANNOT get a driver abstract through mail or online. It has to be in person. Plus, it costs more ($15) as it holds your full driving history
- 3 year driving record and MVR can be requested through the mail. These both cost $5.75.
- MVR can be requested by third party authorities, such as insurance companies, law enforcements, and potential employers
- Alabama does NOT have online services to obtain your driving record. If you want to do it online, there is some risk involved
We hope that this article has helped you out!
This article is part of our series on Alabama Driving Laws. You can view all these laws here!