Drive-Safely.net

Arizona DUI Laws 2022 – Everything You Should Know

Arizona DUI Laws Everything You Should Know

Sure, you probably know that driving under the influence is a BIG NO.

However, just how much alcohol is considered under the influence?

If you’re caught, what punishment will you face?

We’re going to answer all these questions and more. 

Here, you’ll learn about everything you should know about Arizona DUI laws this 2022. 

So shall we? 

DUI Laws in Arizona

Arizona DUI Laws
Source: canva.com

Under Arizona’s Implied Consent Law, law enforcement officers can request a driver to submit a blood alcohol concentration or drug content (BADC) test of their breath, blood, urine, or other bodily substance. 

That is if they have reason to believe that you’re driving under the influence.

Now what percentage of alcohol and/or drugs is considered driving under the influence in Arizona? 

Here is the answer: 

  • 0.08% or more alcohol blood concentration in adults
  • 0.04% or more alcohol blood concentration for commercial drivers
  • For under 21s, any alcohol blood concentration found is considered DUI

Note: there are cases wherein the driver can still be found guilty of DUI even if the blood alcohol concentration is below 0.08%. 

If a driver wishes to reinstate their driving privileges or obtain a restricted permit, they are required to undergo screening for drugs and alcohol.

Penalties for DUI in Arizona

Now, drivers who refuse to submit or do not complete the required tests will lose their driving privileges for 12 months for the first offense. 

Second refusal to submit tests within 84 months will have their license suspended for 24 months.

Plus, should a driver receive any other criminal penalties related to a second or third DUI violation, their driving privileges will automatically be revoked.

And that’s just for refusing to submit to an alcohol/drug test. 

The actual DUI penalties in Arizona depend on:

  • Number of offenses
  • Alcohol concentration detected

Here are the penalties affiliated with various types of DUI in Arizona:

DUI

  • First offense
BAC level.08% to .149%
Days in jail10 consecutive days
License suspension90-days
Fines$1,250
  • Second and subsequent offenses 
BAC level0.08% to .149%
Days in jail90 days or more
License suspension12 months
Fines$3,000

Extreme DUI

  • First offense 
BAC level0.15% or higher
Consecutive days in jail30 consecutive days (No eligibility for probation or suspended sentence)
License suspension90 days
Fines$3,000
  • Second and subsequent offenses 
BAC level0.15% or higher
Consecutive days in jail120 days or more
License suspensionMinimum of 12 months
FinesAt least $3,250

Super Extreme DUI

  • First offense 
BAC level0.20% or higher
Consecutive days in jail45 consecutive days to 6 months 
License suspension90 days
FinesAt least $3,200
  • Second offense
BAC level0.20% or higher
Consecutive days in jail6 months or more
License suspensionMinimum of 12 months
FinesAt least $3,200
  • Subsequent offenses (Class 4 felony)
BAC level0.20% or higher
Consecutive days in jail4 months in Arizona State Prison
License suspensionMinimum of 3 years
FinesAt least $4,000

Aggravated DUI

Aggravated DUI applies to persons who are arrested for another DUI while their license is canceled, revoked, or suspended. This type of Aggravated DUI is considered a class 4 felony.

Other categories of Aggravated DUI include:

  • Class 4, Felony: Committed a third DUI within 84 months
  • Class 4 Felony: Committed a DUI and refuses to submit a BADC test while driving an ignition interlock device
  • Class 6 Felony: Committed a DUI with a passenger under 15 years old
  • Defendant was driving on the wrong side of the road
  • Defendant causes serious injury or fatality 

For first offense class 4 and class 6 felonies, defendants need to pay a $150,000 fine. 

The second offense for aggravated DUI will increase jail time to 7.5 years. Subsequent felonies will increase jail sentences to at least 15 years.

What to Do If You are Pulled Over for a DUI in Arizona?

Drivers pulled over and suspected of DUI are not required to complete field sobriety tests. However, you will be required to undergo a blood test or a breathalyzer test.

The Arizona Department of Safety usually dispatches a DUI mobile processing van on highways. If one is available, you may complete the tests there. Otherwise, you need to go to the police station to complete the tests.

Refusing to submit to a blood test or breathalyzer can result in the loss of your driving privileges.

That said, drivers have the right to legal counsel if they are pulled over for a DUI.

How Many Point is a DUI in Arizona?

Arizona has a zero-tolerance policy on driving under the influence. If your blood alcohol level is discovered to be above the legal %, points will be added to your driving record.

Getting either a DUI (BAC of 0.08% or more) or an Extreme DUI (BAC of 0.15% or more) offense in Arizona will add 8 points to your driver’s license.

Remember, acquiring 8 or more points on your Arizona driving record will require you to attend Traffic Survival School. If not, your driver’s license will be suspended.

How Long Does A DUI Stay in Your Record in Arizona?

Points stay on your Arizona driving record for 1 year. Attending a defensive driving course approved by the Arizona Supreme Court may give drivers the option to remove the points from their records.

Dangers of DUI

Aside from being unlawful, DUIs increase the risk of collisions. 

Most DUI offenses in Arizona are classified as misdemeanors, but more serious cases such as Extreme and Aggravated DUI are considered felonies.

If an intoxicated driver causes an extreme crash that results in serious injury or death, they may be charged with felony or manslaughter.

Conclusion

So those were the Arizona DUI laws for 2022. 

If you don’t want to go through the tests or the penalties, then the best thing to do is AVOID DRIVING UNDER THE INFLUENCE.

This will also help you avoid the greatest penalty, harming or causing death to yourself or someone else.  

So make sure to follow all the Arizona DUI laws to keep you, your passengers, and everyone else safe. 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *