New York, NY (11/18/2014) – If you live in the state of New York, you now have a way to lower your auto insurance rates by 10% simply by completing this online based defensive driving course. But don’t expect your insurance company to tell you about this obscure New York law.
How It Works
So, how are you able to save 10% without ever switching your auto insurance provider? Simply complete an online based defensive driving course from the comfort of your own home and your insurance company doesn’t have a choice. They are required by law to give you the discount.
Has your insurance company ever told you that?!
Well now you know. If you follow the below steps, you can get a 10% break on your auto insurance for the next 3 years and there isn’t a thing your insurance company can say or do about it. Here’s how it works…
Before you take any New York Point & Insurance Reduction Program (PIRP) defensive driving course, make sure it is state certified! We highly recommend this state certified course.
Step By Step Instructions
Once you complete the online course, your insurance company is required to give you a 10% discount for 3 years. At the end of 3 years, you may take the course again to continue receiving your state mandated discount. Each driver in your household may take the course, which can add up to some serious savings.
Step 1: Signing Up For A CERTIFIED Course
This is the online defensive driving course we recommend. They are certified by the state of New York and have had millions of people go through their online defensive driving courses. Whoever you end up deciding to go with, make sure they are certified by the state of New York to provide PIRP (Point & Insurance Reduction Program) courses.
Step 2: Complete The Course Online
The state of New York mandates the course to be 320 minutes in duration. You have 30 days to complete the course and most people choose to do the course an hour at a time, but you can complete it as quickly as you wish.
Step 3: Pay Less On Your Auto Insurance Premiums For 3 Years
That’s it! Once you complete the course, the school you took the course with will automatically notify the state and the state will then notify your insurance company that they will be charging you 10% less – like it or not!
That’s it! Pretty easy stuff, right? You can get started now right here.
Frequently Asked Questions
I’ve Never Heard Of I-PIRP. What Is It?
In short, it is something your auto insurance company doesn’t want you to know about. PIRP is a program established by the state of New York to allow drivers to complete driver training courses in exchange for discounts on their auto insurance. You can learn more about this program on the New York State website here: https://dmv.ny.gov/tickets/about-online-and-alternative-delivery-method-courses-i-pirpadm
How Do I Know If I’m Eligible For The Program?
If you are a licensed driver in the state of New York, you are eligible. This is true whether you have violations on your record or not.
How Many Members Of My Household Can Enroll In The Program?
Every driver on your insurance policy may enroll into a PIRP course and receive the discount. So, if you have a spouse and child on your policy in addition to yourself, all 3 of you may complete a PIRP course and receive a 10% discount. You can see how this can really add up
How Long Does The PIRP Course Take?
The state of New York requires all courses to be 320 minutes in duration. You are able to complete the course over a 30 day period and all online courses are accessible 24hrs per day and 7 days per week.
Will A PIRP Course Also Reduce Points On My New York Driving Record
YES! If you have points on your driving record, a PIRP course will reduce the number of points on your record.
How Many Times Can I Take The Course
Once you complete the course, you will secure up to a 10% discount on your auto insurance for a 3 year period. At the end of 3 years your discount will expire, at which time you are able to take the course again. If you are taking the course for point reduction purposes, you can take the course every 18 months.
Is There An Age Restriction?
No, as long as you are a licensed driver in the state of New York, you are eligible. Many parents have new 16 year old drivers complete the course right away.
What Is The Best PIRP Course I Can Take Online?