How do you register a brand-new vehicle in Louisiana?
What about a vehicle that has already been used or came from out of state?
How do you renew your vehicle registration?
Welcome to your guide to Louisiana vehicle registration.
Here, we’ll show you all the ways to register a vehicle, as well as how to renew it and the vehicle laws in the state.
There’s a lot to cover, so let’s dive right in!
How to Register A Car in Louisiana
Car registration is slightly different if:
- You bought a new vehicle
- You bought a used vehicle
- You are a new resident in Louisiana bringing an out-of-state vehicle
Let’s talk about how to register your vehicle under all these circumstances.
How to Register New Vehicles in Louisiana
When you buy a brand new vehicle, most of the registration process is done by your dealer.
Here’s how it goes:
- The dealer prepares the following documents:
- Sales invoice
- Certificate of Title
- Vehicle Application Form
- The dealer has to get the sales invoice and Certificate of Title notarized before passing them to the Motor Vehicle Office.
- After notarization, the dealer passes your documents to the Motor Vehicle Office. They will be given a temporary license plate for your new car.
- Attach the temporary license plate to the rear of your car. Make sure it’s visible.
- Wait for the official license plate and title registration to be delivered to you. When you get it, put it in the rear of your vehicle and make sure it’s visible.
How to Register Used Vehicles in Louisiana
If you bought a used car, you will have to do the registration yourself.
Remember, once you buy the car, you only have 5 days to make sure that the Certificate of Title is named under you.
If so, then here are the steps to registering your vehicle:
- The seller or dealer should assign the Certificate of Title to you during the sale. This document should be notarized.
- When the sale is made, the seller or dealer should have the sales invoice notarized.
- During the application process, submit the following documents:
- Certificate of Title assigned to you
- Notarized sales invoice that shows the price of the vehicle sold
- Proof of paid sales tax and license transfer
- Federal Odometer statement (if the vehicle is less than 10 years old)
- Proof of auto insurance
- Printed and filled up Vehicle Application Form
- Loan documents if you used a financing option to purchase the vehicle
- Pay the registration fees at the Motor Vehicle Office. The fee will depend on what vehicle you have.
- Receive your temporary license plate and put it in your vehicle. Replace that with the official license plate once it arrives.
How to Register Out of State Vehicles in Louisiana
Now, if your vehicle is registered in a different state, you have to register it in Louisiana if you move to this state.
Here are the steps to do that:
- Prepare the following documents before going to the Motor Vehicle Office:
- Registration Certificate
- Certificate of Title from your previous state
- Proof of auto insurance
- Receipt of taxes for your vehicle
- Filled up Vehicle Application Form
- Go to the Motor Vehicle Office and submit these documents.
- Pay the necessary taxes if applicable.
- Receive your temporary license.
As with the other registration processes mentioned here, your official license plate will be mailed to you. But before that, use the temporary license and place it on the rear of your vehicle where it’s visible.
How to Renew A Car Registration in Louisiana
What if you need to renew your car registration in the state…
The good news is that Louisiana mails you a reminder for renewal 60 days before registration expiry. This is so you won’t forget about it.
In the renewal invite, you can check if you are eligible to renew your registration online. If you are, simply go to the online portal, follow the instructions, and pay the renewal fee online.
However, not everyone is eligible to renew online. If this is you, then you have one of two options – renewal by mail or in person.
If you are renewing by mail, follow the instructions on the invite and make a check payable to the Department of Public Safety. Place the amount written on your renewal invite.
Mail the invite back to the address that sent the letter. Make sure that the check payment is included.
For those renewing in person, go to the Motor Vehicle Office and bring your driver’s license and your Certificate of Title.
Vehicle Laws in Louisiana
All motor vehicles operated in Louisiana are required by law to have three things – registration, vehicle inspection sticker, and auto insurance.
Let’s look at these laws one by one.
In Louisiana, you must complete your vehicle registration within 40 days of buying it.
If you are registering an out-of-state car, then it must be registered even sooner at 30 days.
Motor Vehicle Inspection Sticker
Besides registration, all motor vehicles are required to have a motor vehicle inspection sticker.
You can apply for this sticker every year or every other year.
Now, the motor vehicle inspection sticker shows that your vehicle has been inspected by the Louisiana Motor Vehicle Inspection Station. If you have the sticker, this means that your vehicle is working in proper condition.
Auto Insurance Law
Another requirement for all vehicles is auto insurance. The specific insurance you need is liability insurance.
Here are the minimum coverages:
- $15,000 for bodily injury for one person
- $30,000 for bodily injury for more than one person in a single accident
- $25,000 for someone else’s property or vehicle damage
Remember, you must purchase auto insurance before registering your vehicle.
And that’s it — that’s your guide to Lousiaian vehicle registration.
So depending on whether you buy a brand new or used vehicle, you must follow the necessary steps to get it registered.
Also, if you are moving from out of state, then there are different requirements to register your vehicle.
And, of course, don’t forget that you need a vehicle inspection sticker and auto insurance, too. Plus, you need to renew your registration every year.