Louisiana’s Lake Pontchartrain Causeway is one of the longest bridges in the world; and it’s the last place you want to be pulled over by Louisiana law enforcement for a moving violation. The bridge is more than 20 miles long, and at its very center you cannot even see land on either side of you. If law enforcement catches you speeding or driving recklessly on the causeway, that incident will end up on your Louisiana driving record.
Do you know what’s currently on your Louisiana driving record? If you’ve been in an accident, received a ticket, or had your license suspended, all of that information is available on your driving record. Now is the time to take a look at your Louisiana driving record, before you find out the hard way from law enforcement.
Get Your Driving Record By Name & Address
- OR -
Get Your Driving Record By License Plate #
What’s On My Louisiana Driving Record?
Your Louisiana driving record offers a snapshot of your recent activity behind the wheel of a motor vehicle. Louisiana records contain information about traffic accidents, license status (suspended/revoked/cancelled), traffic violations, convictions, and the status of your commercial driver’s license, if applicable.
The state of Louisiana keeps violations and convictions on your driving record for a period of time ranging from three years to 10 years. The length of time that convictions and violations remain on your record depends upon the severity of each individual violation.
Who Can Access My Louisiana Driving Record?
There are numerous groups and government entities capable of accessing your Louisiana driving record. The agencies that are most likely to access your records include Louisiana law enforcement and DMV officials. In addition to these governmental agencies, insurance providers, employers, and attorneys can also access your Louisiana driving record.
Lawyers may access your driving record if you are involved in a lawsuit stemming from a traffic accident or violation. Insurance companies routinely request access to your driving record to assess the risk involved in providing you with coverage. When you have more blemishes on your record you are likely to see your insurance premiums increase. Finally, potential employers may view your driving record as part of the background check conducted during a pre-employment screening.
What are the Types of Driving Records Issued in Louisiana?
While other states in the US have two or more driving record types available, the Louisiana OMV only issues one universal driving record. This will already include all the information I’ve mentioned above. And this means that your driving record will reflect all your past driving citations, accidents, and other records since you received your license.
How Can I Access My Louisiana Driving Record?
You can access your Louisiana driving record in person at a DMV location, by requesting a copy through the mail, or by applying for access online with the DMV. If you have the patience of a saint, you can visit your nearest Louisiana Office of Motor Vehicles (OMV) location. Before you head out the door, you’ll want to print out and complete the Official Driving Record (ODR) Request Form, which is available courtesy of the Louisiana Department of Public Safety and Corrections. Once that form is completed, find a convenient Louisiana OMV location to visit.
If time isn’t an issue for your request, you can also send a completed request form to the central Louisiana OMV location. Along with your ODR form, you’ll need to include a check or money order to pay the processing fee. You can send the form and money to the following address:
Office of Motor Vehicles
P.O. Box 64886
Baton Rouge, LA 70896
Last but not least, if you’d rather see your records immediately, you can request a digital copy through the Louisiana OMV website. You will be asked to provide identifying information, form of payment, and a mailing address in order to access your records online. The state of Louisiana restricts access to online records to a 30-day period following the transaction. After that point, your access will be blocked.
All Louisiana driving records come with a processing fee that must be paid before records can be released. For those requesting a copy of their record in person or through the mail, the fee is $15. This fee can be paid by cash, check, money order, or credit/debit card in person. Only checks and money orders are accepted for requests via mail. If you are requesting a digital copy, you must pay with a credit or debit card. The fee for digital copies is $15, plus a $2 e-commerce fee.
What Information Do I Need to Provide?
When you visit a Louisiana OMV location, you’ll need to have your driver’s license with you so officials can confirm your name, address, and date of birth, as well as verify your driver’s license number. This same information must be provided when requesting a copy in the mail or online.
Your Louisiana driving record documents your activity on the road. On occasion, inaccuracies make their way onto driving records. If you check your driving record regularly, you can stay ahead of any inaccuracies and prevent embarrassing encounters with law enforcement or potential legal ramifications. In order to correct errors on your record, contact officials at your nearest Louisiana OMV.
How do Points Get Added to My Louisiana Driving Record?
The state of Louisiana does not have an established point system. They use the Problem Driver Pointer System (PDPS) instead to track a driver’s license history from all states. This system is also used to determine whether or not a person can be licensed in Louisiana.
However, this doesn’t mean that Louisiana does not take action against your driving record if you commit too many traffic offenses.
Whether it happened inside or outside the state of Louisiana, LA ODR points will be added based on a driver’s past violations instead of demerit points.
If you acquire too many traffic violations, it will have a negative impact on your insurance rate. It may also hinder possible employment opportunities.
it can result in several punishments from the OMV, including getting your Louisiana driver’s license suspended. You’ll get a 1-year suspension for your first DWI offense, and if you commit 3 charges of reckless driving within 12 months.
If you refuse to submit to a blood/breath test, your license will be suspended for 6 months if you’re older than 21 years old, and 3 months if you’re 21 or younger.
When this happens, you will need to pay for license reinstatement fees, attend a required driver improvement course, and even pay for additional fines. I’m sure you don’t want to have to do that.