Driving in the Bluegrass State is a real joy for anyone lucky enough to do so. The natural beauty of the area makes a drive through Kentucky a blast, until you’re pulled over by law enforcement. What is your typical reaction when you see those flashing lights in your rearview mirror? Do you get nervous? Do you get defensive? Perhaps you’re just confused because you don’t think you were doing anything wrong.
It is entirely possible that you weren’t doing anything wrong, but your past offenses may be catching up with you.
Your Kentucky driving record provides a snapshot of your motor vehicle violations; and if you don’t know what is on your record, you may be in for a rude surprise when an officer pulls you over.
Get Your Driving Record By Name & Address
- OR -
Get Your Driving Record By License Plate #
What’s On My Kentucky Driving Record?
Kentucky is unique among US states in that it offers two distinctly different driving records. You have the option of accessing either a 3-year driving record or a 5-year driving record. Your 3-year driving record in the state of Kentucky includes your driver status, license expiration, driving restrictions, and traffic violations.
On your 5-year Kentucky driving record you will find all of the information from your 3-year record, as well as your accident history, address, gender, date of birth, and social security number. Kentucky splits driving records into two categories in an effort to better control the amount of information that third-parties can access.
Who Can Access My Kentucky Driving Record?
Your 5-year Kentucky driving record can only be requested and viewed by you. Since your full personal information, including Social Security number, is included on the 5-year record, it is not possible for third-party groups to view your 5-year record. Law enforcement, DMV officials, lawyers, employers, and insurance companies can only request and view your 3-year record. You are also permitted to access your 3-year record if you wish.
Insurance providers can view your driving record in an attempt to assess the risk involved with providing motor vehicle coverage to you as a driver. Employers can view your driving record as part of the background check process involved in pre-employment screening. Lawyers and other officers of the court will only view your records in the course of litigation stemming from traffic violations.
How Can I Access My Kentucky Driving Record?
Kentucky driving records are only available online and in person. 5-year driving records may only be obtained by visiting your nearest Kentucky DMV location. There is no need to fill out any forms in advance. Simply show up at your local DMV office and provide the staff your first and last name, as well as your driver’s license number.
Alternatively, you can access your 3-year driving record online at the Kentucky Driver History Record System website. You will need to provide your first and last name, driver’s license number, and an email address that can be verified at the completion of the application process. Your 3-year record will be available as a digital copy for 2 weeks following the application process, which usually takes less than two minutes. However, in order to keep a copy longer than that you must print out a copy or save it in PDF form.
When you visit your local DMV office for a copy of your 5-year Kentucky driving record, you will be asked to pay a $3 processing fee. For online requests, you’ll have to pay the $3 processing fee plus a $2 electronic convenience fee. Cash, check, credit, and debit cards are accepted for in-person requests. Online access requires a credit or debit card to complete the transaction.
Accessing your Kentucky driving record can save you from embarrassing interactions with law enforcement. Inaccurate information on your driving record can result in higher insurance premiums, increased fines for traffic violations, and even legal trouble stemming from suspended and revoked licenses. If you notice inaccurate information on your driving record, you can visit your local DMV office or call officials at the DMV to have errors corrected before they cause you bigger problems.
Understanding the Kentucky Point System
In order to be able to identify inaccuracies in your driving record, it is important to understand how points are added to a driver’s record.
Under the Kentucky Point System, points expire after 2 years, but they will remain on the driver’s record for 5 years after the date of conviction.
Accumulating 12 or more points (for drivers 18 years or older) or 7 points and above (under 18 years old drivers) will result in a hearing concerning the driver’s privileges to operate a motor vehicle. It will be conducted by the Kentucky Transportation Cabinet. Failure to appear for the hearing will mean:
- 6 months of driving suspension for the first accumulation of 12 points
- 1 year of driving suspension for the second accumulation of 12 points
- 2 years of driving suspension for any subsequent accumulation 12 points within the 2 years
Depending on the result of the hearing, the Kentucky Transportation Cabinet may place the driver on “probation” instead of a suspension. But the driver will be required to attend a driver improvement course from a state-approved traffic school.
Driving Record Points
When a Kentucky driver is given points for traffic violations, a notice of the offenses is sent by the courts to the Division of Driver Licensing to be recorded.
Here are some of the usual offenses and their equivalent point value in Kentucky:
|Traffic Offense||Point Value|
|10 mph or less over speed limit on limited access highway||0|
|15 mph or more in CMV
(out-of-state conviction-listed as serious offense only-no points)
|11-15 mph over speed limit on limited access highway||3|
|15 mph or less over speed limit on any non-limited access highway||3|
|15 mph over speed limit in CMV (commercial motor vehicle)||3|
|Stop Violation (electric signal, railroad crossing, stop sign)||3|
|Failure to Yield||3|
|Wrong Way on One-Way Street||3|
|Too Fast for Conditions||3|
|Too Slow for Conditions||3|
|Failure to Illuminate Headlights||3|
|Failure to Dim Headlights||3|
|Improper Lane Usage||3|
|Improper Use Left Lane/Limited Access Highway||3|
|Failure to comply with Instructional Permit Requirements/Regulations||3|
|Failure to yield right-of-way to Funeral Procession||3|
|Any Other Moving Hazardous Violations||3|
|Texting while driving||3|
|Following Too Closely||4|
|Driving on Wrong Side of Roadway||4|
|Changing Drivers in a Moving Vehicle||4|
|Vehicle Not Under Control||4|
|Failure to Yield to Emergency Vehicle||4|
|16-25 mph over speed limit on any road or highway||6|
|Commission of Moving Hazardous Violation Involving an Accident||6|
|Combination of any Two or More Moving Hazardous Violations in Any One Continuous Occurrence||6|
|Failure to Stop for School or Church Bus||6|
|26 mph over speed limit on any road or highway||Hearing-Possible Suspension|
|Attempting to elude police officer||Hearing-Possible Suspension|
How To Get Your DMV Driving Records