Idaho Driving Laws 2024 – Driver’s License, Laws, and Road Rules

Idaho Driving Laws Driver’s License, Laws, and Road Rules

Looking to refresh your Idaho driving laws knowledge?

Then we’ve got what you need!

Here, we’re going to go through:

  • ID driver’s license
  • ID traffic laws
  • ID road rules

All this will help you stay within the law — and be a better and safer driver, too. 

Now, there’s so much to cover, so let’s jump right in!

Idaho Driving Laws by Category

Let’s separate the 3 main categories that we’ll discuss. 

Driver’s License: 

Driving Laws:

Road Rules: 

Let’s start with the Idaho driver’s license…

Idaho Driver’s License 

Before you can even consider following the driving laws and road rules, you first need a driver’s license. 

And in these following sections, we talk all things Idaho driver’s license. 

Idaho Driver’s License Requirements

For 14½ to 17½ years old, the State of Idaho follows a Graduated Driver’s Licensing (GDL) Program. This program comes in three parts:

  • Instruction permit
  • Underage driver’s license
  • Full driver’s license

Here’s how to get an instruction permit: 

  1. Prepare the following documents:
    1. Proof of legal name, age, and birth 
    2. Valid ID with photo
    3. Proof of Idaho residency
    4. Proof of legal presence in the US
    5. Social Security Card
    6. High school diploma, GED diploma, or proof of enrollment

For acceptable documents you can bring, click here

  1. Visit the nearest DMV with your parent or legal guardian.
  1. While there, submit the documents above and fill up the application form. Your parent or legal guardian has to sign a consent form.
  1. Pass the vision test.
  1. Pay the necessary fees:
    1. Knowledge test – $5
    2. Instruction permit – $20
  1. Pass the knowledge test.
  1. Have your photo taken. 
  1. Receive your temporary instruction permit. The official one will arrive in the mail within 3 weeks. 

Here’s how to get an underage driver’s license: 

  1. Hold your instruction permit for at least 6 months. 
  1. Complete a state-approved driver’s education which is composed of:
    1. 30 hours of classroom instruction 
    2. 6 hours of behind-the-wheel training
    3. 6 hours of in-car observation 
  1. Complete 50 hours of supervised driving. This should include 10 hours of driving at night.
  1. Visit your county office and pass these documents:
    1. Driver’s ed certificate of completion
    2. A parent or legal guardian signed and dated statement that you completed the 50 hours of supervised driving
    3. Proof of legal name, age, and birth 
    4. Valid ID with photo
    5. Proof of Idaho residency
    6. Proof of legal presence in the US
    7. Social Security Card
    8. A filled-up application form. 
  1. Pay the required fees:
    1. Initial skills test fee – $6.50 
    2. 1-year underage driver’s license – $20
    3. 3-year underage driver’s license – $30
  1. Schedule an appointment for your skills test at a local Skills Test Examiner. 
  1. While there, bring the following:
    1. Your valid instruction permit. 
    2. Photo ID.
    3. A receipt that you paid the fee at the county office. 
    4. A vehicle to use for the skills test. 
  1. Pass the skills test.
  1. Pay the remaining test fee of $28.50 at the Skills Test Examiner.
  1. Go back to the county office and surrender your instruction permit.
  1. Receive your temporary underage driver’s license. The official one will arrive in the mail within 3 weeks. 

Here’s how to get a full driver’s license: 

  1. 5 days before your 18th birthday, request a full driver’s license. 
  1. Go to the county office and submit proof of legal name, age, and birth, proof of residency, proof of SSN, and proof of legal presence in the US
  1. Fill up the application form.
  1. Surrender your underage driver’s license. 
  1. Pay the full driver’s license fee of $30 (for 3-year validity).
  1. Receive your full driver’s license. 

Idaho Driver’s License Renewal

Let’s say you already have a driver’s license…

But it’s about to expire.

Luckily, you have 3 options to renew it. These are: 

  • Online
  • By Mail
  • In Person

Here’s how to renew your ID driver’s license online: 

  1. Make sure you’re eligible for online renewal. 
  1. Go to Idaho’s DMV Online Services.
  1. Sign in to your account or create a new one if you don’t have one yet. 
  1. Follow the prompts for renewing online. 
  1. Pay the $35 renewal fee and online service fee.
  1. Your new driver’s license will be mailed to you within 12-14 business days. 

Here’s how to renew your ID driver’s license by mail:

  1. Receive a renewal notice and renewal application form for mail-in renewal. 
  1. Fill out the renewal application form. 
  1. Pay the renewal fee of $35 for a 4-year license or $60 for an 8-year license. You can pay by check, money order, or credit card. 
  1. Send the renewal application form and the payment to the address stated in the form. 
  1. Your new driver’s license will be mailed to you within 12-14 business days. 

Here’s how to renew your ID driver’s license in person:

  1. Prepare the following documents:
    1. Proof of identity
    2. Proof of US citizenship or legal presence
    3. Social Security Number
    4. Proof of Idaho residence
  1. Go to your nearest DMV office offering licensing services (not all have it). Bring your documents with you. 
  1. Fill up the renewal application form found in the office. 
  1. Pass the vision screening. 
  1. Pay the appropriate license fee:
    1. 3-year license (age 18 to 21) – $30
    2. 4-year license (age 21 and above) – $35
    3. 8-year license (age 21 to 62) – $60
  1. Return your previous driver’s license. 
  1. Your new driver’s license will be mailed to you in 12-14 business days. 

Idaho CDL Requirements

What if you want to become a commercial driver?

You first need to get a regular driver’s license — from there, you can work on your commercial driver’s license (CDL). 

Here’s how to get an ID CDL permit:

  1. Prepare the following documents:
    1. Current driver’s license
    2. Social Security Card
    3. Proof of identity
    4. Proof of Idaho residency
    5. Proof of US citizenship or lawful presence in the US
    6. A completed Medical Examiner Certificate (if required)
  1. Visit the nearest DMV licensing office with your documents. Submit the documents, fill up a CDL application form, and declare your CDL class. 
  1. Pay the CDL written exam(s) fee of $5 each. The number of written exams varies on the type of CDL you’re getting and the endorsements you’ll add. 
  1. Pass your CDL written exam(s). 
  1. Pay the $29 CDL permit fee AND the initial CDL skills test fee of $10.  
  1. Receive your CDL permit. 

Here’s how to get your ID CDL:

  1. Hold your CDL permit for at least 14 days. 
  1. Complete Entry-Level Driver Training (ELDT). You can check this out on the FMCSA website.
  1. Schedule your CDL skills test with an examiner
  1. Bring these documents during your skills test:
    1. Current driver’s license
    2. Valid CDL permit
    3. Certificate of Completion for the ELDT 
    4. A vehicle that falls under your CDL class OR you can rent at some testing sites. 
  1. Pay the skills test fee (the total cost will depend on the examiner).
  1. Pass the CDL skills test. 
  1. Go back to a licensing office and pay the appropriate CDL fee:
    1. 1-year (age 20) – $15
    2. 3-year (age 18 to 21) – $30
    3. 4-year (age 21 and above) – $40
  1. Receive your temporary CDL. Your official CDL will be mailed to you within 10 business days. 

Idaho Driver’s License Classes

Okay, okay. 

But you might get confused with all this talk about driver’s license classes. 

There’s a Class A CDL, Class B CDL, Class C CDL…

What’s more, there’s a Class D and M license. 

Let’s give you a quick guide on each Idaho driver’s license class so you know which one YOU need. 

  • Class A CDL – operates commercial combination vehicles with a Gross Combination Weight Rating (GCWR) of more than 26,000 pounds with the towed vehicle’s Gross Vehicle Weight Rating (GVWR) of more than 10,000 pounds
  • Class B CDL – operates commercial single vehicles with a GVWR of more than 26,000 pounds but, if towing a unit, it should only be up to 10,000 pounds. 
  • Class C CDL – operates commercial combination or single vehicles that weigh fewer than 26,001 pounds and is designed to carry 16 or more people (including the driver) OR transports hazardous materials requiring placards. 
  • Class D License  – operates a non-commercial vehicle that weighs fewer than 26,001 pounds. 
  • Class M – operates motorcycles (NOTE: this isn’t a license, but an endorsement).

How to Get Your Idaho Driving Record

Here’s another document that you might need that’s related to your driver’s license. 

Whether you want to get a driver’s license record or crash report, you can request it online, by mail, or in person. 

Here’s how to get your Idaho driving record online:

  1. Go to the Idaho Transportation Department Portal
  1. Scroll to the bottom, and under the ‘I am’ portion, choose what applies to you. 
  1. Select the reason why you’re getting a driving record. 
  1. Fill up the required information. 
  1. Pay the appropriate fee via credit or debit card:
    1. 3-year uncertified driver’s license record – $7
    2. 3-year certified driver’s license record – $21
    3. If you want a printable copy – $9.50 for uncertified and $23.50 for certified.
  1. View your driver’s license record. You can also print it if you want. 

Here’s how to get your Idaho driving record by mail:

  1. Download, print, and complete the Idaho Driver’s License Record Request Form.
  1. Attach a check or money order made payable to Idaho Transportation Department. It’s $7 for an uncertified DLR while the certified DLR is $21. 
  1. On the envelope, don’t forget to include your personal information and return address. 
  1. Mail your request to this address: 

Idaho Transportation Department

PO Box 34 

Boise ID 83707-0034

  1. Receive your DLR via email, fax, or mail. 

Here’s how to get your Idaho driving record in person:

  1. Print and fill up the Idaho Driver’s License Record Request Form.
  1. Visit a DMV licensing office. 
  1. Provide proof of your full name, birthdate, and license number. 
  1. Pay the fees. Remember, it’s $7 for an uncertified copy and $21 for a certified one. 
  1. Get your Idaho driving record. 

Idaho Driving Laws

Now that you’re equipped with the right driver’s license, it’s time to move on to the laws and your responsibilities as a driver in Idaho. 

Idaho Car Seat Laws

Car seats are crucial to keeping your child in place when there’s a collision. Without car seats, serious injuries can happen. 

This is why, in Idaho, children 6 years old and below are required to be in the proper car seat. 

The right car seats are as follows:

  • Rear-facing car seats for infants and toddlers up to 2 years old. It’s highly recommended that you keep your child in a rear-facing car seat as long as they are within the seat’s height and weight limits. 
  • Front-facing car seats for children 2-4 years old or when they weigh anywhere between 40-65 pounds. 
  • Booster seats are for children 4-8 years old or until they reach 4’9”. 
  • An adult seat belt is only allowed for children 8 years old or older or when they’re at least 4’9”. 

The Idaho car seat law is primary enforcement — so a police officer can pull you over if they find that your child is not in the proper restraint device. 

Now, violating the car seat law will result in a $66.50 fine if you’re driving a child that is at least 6 years old. 

If the child not wearing the car seat is below 6, the fine is $84. 

On the other hand, all adults should be wearing seat belts when they’re in a moving vehicle. 

Idaho DUI Laws

Here’s another crucial law EVERYONE must obey. 

DUI laws are implemented to discourage people from drunk or drugged driving.

Remember, these substances can impair your driving ability to make sound decisions, react in time, and focus on the road. 

To determine if you are driving under the influence, your Blood Alcohol Concentration (BAC) is checked. 

In Idaho, you’re considered a DUI if your BAC levels are: 

  • 0.08% for drivers 21 and up
  • 0.02% for drivers below 21
  • 0.04% for drivers with a CDL

Given that DUIs pose a danger to people on the road, the penalties are harsh. 

Here is a summary of what you might get if your BAC is at 0.08%:

OffenseFineImprisonment/Community ServiceLicense Suspension
1stUp to $1,000Up to 6 months90-210 days
2ndUp to $2,00010 days to 1 yearAt least 1 year
3rdUp to $5,00030 days to 10 years1-5 years

There are harsher penalties for people with a BAC of 0.20% or higher. Plus, a third DUI conviction within 10 years is already considered a felony in Idaho. 

Idaho Road Rules

Even though these are not laws, the road rules MUST still be followed — I mean, it’s there to make sure everyone is safe. 

If you don’t follow it, you could receive a ticket and face some penalties. 

Idaho Road Signs

A big part of driving is navigating the roads. 

Thankfully, road signs exist so it’s easier to manage traffic and communicate the rules and regulations on specific roads. 

Road signs also warn you of hazards ahead. 

In Idaho, there are 4 types of road signs:

  • Regulatory signs tell you of actions required or prohibited in the area – usually colored red and white, black and white, or black, white, and red. 
  • Warning signs warn you of hazards ahead – bright yellow with black markings. 
  • Work zone signs are similar to warning signs but focus on work zones – bright orange with black markings. This could also be cones, barriers, flaggers, etc. 
  • Guide signs direct drivers to different places – green and white are for directions and distances, blue and white for services, and brown and white for points of interest. 

You’re probably familiar with the common road signs, such as STOP and YIELD, so we’ll only focus on signs that you don’t usually encounter. 

SignSymbol Meaning
Lane ShiftThis work zone sign means that the lanes eventually shift.
Prepare to StopThis work zone sign tells you that you need to prepare to stop because of a work zone ahead. 
Slow-Moving VehicleTypically placed at the rear of slow-moving vehicles. Drive cautiously.
Open RangeLivestock roams freely in this area. Yield the right of way. 
Lane Ends/Merge LeftA two-lane road becomes a single lane ahead. 
Added LaneThe highway you’re on will converge with another lane. You may drive on the added lane. 
Low Clearance OverheadThe clearance is low. Make sure that your vehicle’s height fits. If not, find an alternate route. 
Animal CrossingWatch out for animals that are crossing the road. 
Hospital There is a hospital in the area. 

Idaho Road Conditions

Idaho experiences a lot of different road conditions throughout the year. 

It’s important to know what to do when you face these challenges. 

Here are some safe-driving tips to always remember:

  • Roads are more dangerous when it is wet. Avoid hydroplaning by slowing down and stepping on the brake gradually. 
  • Do not brake suddenly in wet or snowy conditions. 
  • If there’s a flood, try to look for an alternate route right away. If the flood is already 2 feet deep, change routes or wait for the water to go down. 
  • For instances when there is low visibility, turn on your headlights but use low beams if there are other vehicles. If the visibility is too low, don’t hesitate to pull over in a safe spot. 
  • During the winter season, you need to prepare for driving outside. Before leaving your home, make sure to test your tires, brakes, and steer. 
  • Avoid using cruise control during the winter. 
  • For night driving, keep a safe distance between you and other vehicles. Do not tailgate. 
  • Do not look right at headlights. The glare can momentarily blind you. 

Idaho Rules of the Road

Yes, driving is a lot easier if you’re the only vehicle on the road. 

Sadly, that’s rarely the case in Idaho. 

And because of that, you should always know how to share the road with other motorists and pedestrians. 

Here are some tips when you’re sharing the road:

  • Yield the right-of-way to pedestrians crossing. 
  • Be alert if you are in a park or school zone. Prepare to stop if there are children or people on the sidewalk. 
  • Horseback riders can use the roads in Idaho. If you encounter them, reduce your speed and give them space. 
  • Avoid honking on animal-drawn vehicles. This just might startle them. 
  • Bicyclists and motorcyclists have the same rights as other motorists. They can use the roadways and deserve one full lane. 
  • If there are bicyclists in the area, be alert for their hand gestures to indicate turning or stopping. 
  • Yield the right-of-way to bicyclists when turning. 
  • If you need to pass a bicyclist or motorcyclist, make sure that you pass using another lane. Do not squeeze them to the side of the road.
  • When driving alongside trucks, be aware of the blind spots. Always make yourself visible to the driver. 
  • If a truck is turning, give them more space, especially if you’re in the area where they’re trying to turn to. 

Wrapping Things Up


That was a lot of Idaho driving laws!

But if you just think of it by the categories, it’ll be a lot easier to remember. 

So whether you’re about to take your written test…

Maybe you want to avoid getting those annoying tickets…

Or maybe you’re looking to be a better and safer driver…

Whatever the case, this driving law refresher article is for YOU

If you want to know more about a certain topic, check out the links in each section for a more detailed discussion. 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *