If you’ve never obtained a copy of your driving history, you might find it particularly interesting, especially if you’re a colorful driver. But even if you’re a god behind the wheel like me, knowing where you stand as a driver in the eyes of the State of Connecticut is a good idea for a lot of compelling reasons.
What You Should Know About Your Connecticut Driver’s License
Every driver in Connecticut is legally bound to follow driving rules and regulations, and the failure to do so earns you demerit points against your driver’s license. Six points will get you a stern letter from the DMV warning that if you don’t change your ways, you’ll be sorry. After ten points, you’ll get a 30-day license suspension.
Get Your Driving Record By Name & Address
- OR -
Get Your Driving Record By License Plate #
Why Anyone Would Care About Your Driving Record
A poor driving record or one that’s inaccurate can cost you in a lot of ways. First, your insurance premiums are determined in part by how well you obey traffic laws (or how good you are at only breaking the law when there aren’t any cops around.) If you’re looking for a job with any employer who expects you to be driving on company time, you’re going to be waiting awhile if they know that you have a certain disdain for stop signs and speed limits. And they’ll know because they’ll obtain a copy of your Connecticut driving record before they even consider hiring you. Your driving history is also a standard document used in background checks of all sorts.
Why You Should Care About Your Driving Record
Maybe you’ve had a few moving violations in the past. You probably don’t really even remember exactly when. What’s the big deal? Well, let me tell you. These things add up. There are 42 infractions that can earn you different numbers of demerit points. You might be thisclose to losing your driver’s license for a month and not even know it. One day you run a stop sign and the next thing you know, you’re handing over your driver’s license for a month. There goes that road trip to visit your girlfriend in New Haven next weekend. There goes that midnight run for chicken wings and the promise you made to Grandma to take her to get her hair done each week. Suddenly you’re hoofing it everywhere or riding your bike through snowstorms to get to work. You feel like a complete loser, because now someone has to pick you up to go to a family dinner, and you have to tell your boss you can’t take your client out for lunch because you’ve got a suspended license.
And that’s why you should check your driving record periodically: So you know exactly how many points you’ve earned and how long they’ll be sticking around.
Get Your Connecticut Driving Record Online
It used to be that applicants who wished to get their Connecticut driving record online needed to do so via a third-party vendor like Inteligator. Luckily, however, the Connecticut DMV now allows Connecticut license holders to request their driving history directly from the DMV website. All you need to do is fill out a simple form, pay a fee (around $20), and you’ll get access to your complete driving history without even having to leave your home.
Once you’re done with the request process, you’ll have 30 days of access to your records before the DMV locks it again. You can download a copy of this for safekeeping and/or for future reference.
- Connecticut Online Traffic School Reviews
Get Your Record Through the Mail
If you prefer the way of the ancient man, you can mail in your application. It will take up to five weeks to receive your record in the mail. Print a copy of Form J-23, the Copy Records Request, and fill it out:
- Check the box that indicates you’re requesting your driving history.
- Enter Code 10 in the box labeled “Request Section.” Code 10, which can be found on the back of the form, states, “This record request is submitted for the purpose of obtaining my record on file at the Department of Motor Vehicles.”
- Sign and print your name and fill in the date.
- Complete Section 1.
- Fill out the Applicant Section with your driver’s license number, phone number, and mailing address.
Enclose the form in an envelope with:
- A legible photocopy of your state ID, driver’s license, or passport.
- A check in the amount of $20, made out to “DMV.”
Mail it to:
Department of Motor Vehicles
Copy Records Unit
60 State Street
Wethersfield, CT 06161
Get Your Record In Person
If you’d rather go directly to the source and get your driving record on the spot, you can show up in person at any DMV hub office or limited-service office.
You can make an appointment with the following locations:
- Stamford DMV Office
- Milford Nutmeg State Financial Credit Union
- North Haven Nutmeg State Financial Credit Union
- Norwalk Nutmeg State Financial Credit Union
- Participating AAA Office
There, you’ll fill out Form J-23, show a proper form of identification, and hand over $20.
IMPORTANT NOTE: AAA offices and Nutmeg Financial Credit Union may charge a convenience fee of up to $8.00 per DMV transaction.
Record Retention Periods
If you’re curious to know the different Connecticut Record Retention Periods, here’s a brief summary of what to expect:
Dealer and Repairer Complaints
Records for dealer and repairer complaints are available for the current year and the previous three years. These will only be disclosed once issues have been appropriately settled.
Operator License Records
The DMV reserves the right to retain records connected to an operator’s license for seven years. After which, these records may be destroyed as permitted by Connecticut State Law.
The DMV may retain vehicle registration records for a length of three years. After which, these records may be destroyed, as permitted by Connecticut State Law.
Records and evidence of traffic violations on driving histories are maintained for three years for most violations, while some violations may remain active on the history for almost ten years.
Records of title applications are available for the last ten years.
How To Get Your DMV Driving Records