The State of Texas requires all driver license applicants under 18 to complete a behind-the-wheel training course. And while this may seem like yet another task to add to your to-do list, this type of training can be incredibly valuable to soon-to-be licensed drivers.
While Texas behind-the-wheel training is beneficial to drivers of any age, those learning how to get comfortable in the driver’s seat can get the most out of it. Continue reading to learn more about the benefits of taking Texas behind-the-wheel training.
Prepare for Your Road Skills Exam
For many teens, taking a driving test can be an overwhelming experience. Enrolling in Texas behind-the-wheel training can help prepare you for your driving test.
During your test, your administrator will watch how you pass, turn, drive in reverse, and park, which are all actions you’ll tackle during your behind-the-wheel training. If you decide to enroll with a professional driving school, your instructor will have a thorough knowledge of the road skills exam and prepare you accordingly.
Practice What YOU Need to Practice
Young drivers-in-training may be unsure in how to handle certain issues, such as the stress of highway driving or how to handle aggressive drivers. Enrolling in Texas behind-the-wheel sessions will allow you to practice through your concerns and issues with a knowledgeable, professional driving instructor who will work hard to make you feel safe on the road. It’s also valuable time to ask questions of your instructor—after all, that’s what they’re there for.
Give Yourself a Lifetime of Safe Driving
While the most immediate benefit of behind-the-wheel training may be the boost it gives you during your road skills exam, the long-term benefits may be even more important. Proper behind-the-wheel training can set you up for a lifetime of safe driving.
In 2016, a reportable crash occurred nearly every minute in Texas. Learning suitable defensive driving techniques helps keep you from becoming part of that statistic. Also, it can help keep your driving costs low. Safe drivers—those who don’t instigate accidents or are ticketed—usually pay lower insurance plan premiums while avoiding pricey deductibles.
It doesn’t matter if you’re 16 or 46, getting behind the wheel as a new driver can be a nerve-racking experience—but it doesn’t have to be. If you’re a new driver, taking lessons can be a great way to begin your journey behind the wheel. Not only can driving lessons give you the training you need to pass your driving test, but they can also teach you safe driving skills that will last a lifetime.
Texas Behind-the-Wheel Training FAQs
Who is qualified to be my behind-the-wheel instructor?
During the behind-the-wheel training, a qualified adult must accompany the student. The adult must be a parent, step-parent, grandparent, step-grandparent, or legal guardian who has acquired proper documents to teach you.
Students can also take the behind-the-wheel training with a certified instructor at a commercial driving school.
Why should I take a behind-the wheel-training course in Texas?
Texas teens that are aged between 15 and 18 are required to take in-car driving lessons to earn their license. This is under Texas law, which states that you should complete 7 hours of in-car driving lessons and 7 hours of observation under a licensed driving instructor in a DPS / TDLR-approved program such as DriversEd.
Note though that even if you’re already older than 18 years old, we still recommend that you take driving lessons from a professional instructor to make you a safer and more confident driver. Besides, you may still need this extra training to pass your DPS driving test.
Can my parents be my behind-the-wheel training instructor?
Yes, some programs allow you to choose the Parent-Taught Drivers Education program. This way, you can complete driver’s education, behind-the-wheel training, or both with your parents (if they are qualified to be your instructors). They will need to submit an application for this and meet certain criteria.
For example, DriversEd’s Parent-Taught Drivers Education requires that your PTDE instructor must have had a valid drivers license for the past three years, have no suspensions or revocations for traffic violations, have fewer than 6 points on his or her driver record, have never have been convicted of (or received a probated sentence for) driving while intoxicated, driving under the influence, or criminally negligent homicide, and should not be disabled due to mental illness.