Not sure what the parking laws in Alabama are?
Then it’s probably time to refresh your knowledge on the most common ones.
I mean, you don’t want to get a ticket, fine, or even a court order, right?
It’s normal for people to forget or be unaware of certain changes to regulations, especially when it comes to parking.
So, in this article, we’ll take a look at Alabama parking laws by answering some of the most common questions.
Let’s get started!
Is It Illegal to Park on the Side of the Road in Alabama?
According to the Section 32-5A-137 of the 2006 Alabama Code, unless a driver of a vehicle is in conflict with flowing traffic or has been flagged down by a police officer, they are prohibited from doing any of the following:
Parking, stopping, or standing the vehicle
Drivers are not allowed to park, stop, or stand their vehicles on the roadway side of vehicles that are stopped or parked at the edge of a street. Drivers are also prohibited from parking or stopping near sidewalks or within intersections and on crosswalks.
If you’re within a safety zone and an adjacent curb, parking, stopping, or standing your vehicle is still not allowed.
Additionally, parking/stopping prohibitions extend to bridges or other elevated structures, tunnels, highways, and railroad tracks. Places that have obvious “no parking” signs are also prohibited.
Lastly, if you’re alongside an excavation site or are opposite one, standing or parking may cause traffic obstruction. Thus, this action is illegal and may result in a ticket or fine.
Stopping or parking to pick up or discharge passengers
Stopping or parking 15 feet away from a fire hydrant is prohibited unless it’s to pick up or discharge a passenger. The same policy is applied for public and private driveways.
If you stopped or parked 20 feet away from an intersection or crosswalk, you may get fined, as this action is illegal.
Other actions that are illegal unless you’re dropping off or picking up a passenger are:
- Parking 30 feet away from stop signs, flashing signals, traffic control signals, and yield signs
- Parking 20 feet away from a driveway entrance to a fire station
- Parking on the opposite side and 75 feet away of a fire station entrance
- On streets and roads where parking is prohibited
Is it Illegal to Back into a Parking Spot in Alabama?
Backing on private property is generally not illegal, so long as you’re not obstructing any activities or interfering with traffic.
Backing in shoulders or roadways of any controlled-access highway without the proper authorizations, however, is illegal and can result in a fee.
Can You Get a Ticket Parking on Private Property in Alabama?
Unless you have a good reason to park on the said property (e.g., physical disabilities or obstruction of traffic), then you can definitely get fined or ticketed for parking on private property in Alabama. Fines for illegally parking on private property can range from $50 to $500, depending on the severity of your offense.
You can check Section 32-6-233.1 of the 2012 Alabama Code for more information.
Can You Park in Front of a Mailbox in Alabama?
According to the U.S. Mail authorities, drivers or owners of automobiles are prohibited from blocking mailboxes, as this can interfere with U.S. Mail operations. It’s recommended that you always leave 15 to 30 feet of space before a mailbox so as not to obstruct the U.S. Mail’s access.
Can You Legally Stop Someone Parking Outside Your House in Alabama?
Technically, you can’t legally stop anyone from parking outside your house, especially if they have a valid reason e.g., disability, discharging or picking up passengers, unloading or loading merchandise, and getting pulled over by a police officer.
What Are the Parking Signs in Alabama?
There are 3 types of parking signs in Alabama:
- Signs for accessible parking spaces
- Signs for towing laws
- Signs for fire lanes
Let’s look at each one.
Accessible parking spaces
Image source: myparkingsign.com
The American with Disabilities Act of 1990 requires all US states and establishments located within to provide accessible and friendly parking spaces for individuals with disabilities. In Alabama, drivers who illegally use these parking spaces, despite not having any such disabilities, can be fined $50 for their first offense.
Image source: myparkingsign.com
This sign warns drivers that illegally parking on private property will be subject to towing.
Fire lane signs
Fire lane signs signal drivers not to park in that area as it may obstruct fire department operations.
What are the Handicapped Parking Laws in Alabama?
Establishments and facilities are required to provide disabled or handicapped clients with accessible and friendly parking spaces. However, should a disabled individual park outside of those spaces, they are exempt from any penalties so long as it is more convenient for the disabled individual.
Handicapped or disabled drivers are required to get a handicap parking permit in Alabama. Otherwise, those who park in handicapped parking spaces will be fined $50 for their first offense, $200 for their second, and $500 for their third offense.
To get a permit, the individual should first consult with a medical professional and verify their disability. Once done, they have to fill out the application form and submit it to the Local County Licensing Office.
So there you have it!
We answered the most common questions asked about Alabama parking laws.
Now that you’re familiar with these laws, it’s a good idea to abide by them. I mean, you don’t want to have to pay a fine, or get a ticket, just because you couldn’t park a few more feet away.
If ever you are unsure about parking laws in Alabama, you can always just come back here to refresh your memory.
So we hope that this article has been a great help to you!
To be sure, parking laws will defer from state to state. We were only talking about the laws in Alabama. So if you’re from another state, make sure you check out the parking laws there.
This article is part of our series on Alabama Driving Laws. You can view all these laws here!