Folks typically don’t give much thought to their Vermont driving record unless they’re shopping around for auto insurance or know they’re on the verge of losing their license due to a heavy accumulation of points. But once every year or two, it’s a good idea to check your driving history to ensure its accuracy and help prevent identity theft.
The Point System
Vermont operates on the point system. Points are demerits against your license, and they stay on your record for two years. If you earn 10 or more points in two years, you’ll get a notice of suspension.
The suspension period may be anywhere from 30 days to a year, depending on the number of points and the severity of the violations.
- For 10 points, you’ll get 10 days of driver’s license suspension.
- For 15 points, you’ll get 30 days of driver’s license suspension.
- For 20 points, you’ll get 90 days of driver’s license suspension.
For every 5 points, you receive after 20 points, you’ll get an additional 30 days of driver’s license suspension.
You can see what violations earn points and the number each one earns by reading Chapter 25 of The Vermont Statutes Online.
Get Your Driving Record By Name & Address
- OR -
Get Your Driving Record By License Plate #
Inaccurate or Outdated Information
Mistakes on your driving record don’t happen often, but they can occur. It’s up to you to make sure that the number of points on your license is the number of points you’ve earned, and that the information regarding suspensions, violations, and convictions is accurate. (More on this below).
It’s also important to make sure your name and address are up to date since your driving record is often used to verify information on job and insurance applications.
Why You Should Order Your Vermont Driving Record
It’s a good idea to know where you stand with points so that you’ll know how close you are to a license suspension, especially if you drive like a maniac and don’t really keep track of how many violations you’ve had in the past. It’s also good to know what your chances are of getting good insurance rates or that sweet job you applied for, since your driving history can influence both: Drivers with poor records pay higher insurance rates, and employers may deny you a job if you have a history of violations, especially if you’ll be driving in connection with the job.
3 Ways to Obtain your Driving Record
You can order your driving record online, through the mail, or in person. Vermont requires proof of identification when ordering through the mail or in person. Acceptable identification includes your current driver’s license or state ID or a valid passport. For information about what to do if you don’t have the proper ID, call the Vermont Department of Motor Vehicles at 802-828-2000.
The Vermont DMV doesn’t provide access to driving records online unless you’re ordering them in bulk. To order an uncertified copy of your driving record online, you’ll need to use a reputable third party provider like Inteligator.
Order by Mail
To order your Vermont driving record by mail, you’ll need to download and print Form TA-VG-116. It must be printed in ink and signed on the back. A certified copy of your three-year driving record costs $13, and a certified copy of your complete record runs $16.
A personal check is the only mail order payment option, and it should be made payable to the Vermont Department of Motor Vehicles.
Mail the completed form, a check in the exact amount, and copies of accepted identification to:
Department of Motor Vehicles
Vermont DMV Record Request
120 State Street
Montpelier, VT 05603-0001
Allow at least two weeks to receive your certified driving record in the mail.
Order In Person
The Montpelier DMV office is the only location where you can order your driving record in person. You can pay by cash, check, or money order. The price for ordering in person is the same as the price of ordering by mail. Fill out the same form, have your ID on hand, and take it to the main office at 120 State Street.
Once you have your driving record, check it for accuracy. Concerns about mistakes regarding violations, suspensions, convictions, and points should be directed to the presiding court or ticketing officer for each violation. To fix errors regarding your name and address, contact the Department of Motor Vehicles at 802-828-2000.
Errors in Your Vermont Driving Record
Although it seldom happens, there is a chance that a piece of wrong information is added to your driving record. For example, points more than 2 years ago are still being reflected, or a record of an accident you were not involved in may suddenly appear.
To ensure that the information is accurate, it is best to check on it regularly. I mean, your driving record is often accessed by third-party entities to verify information on job and insurance applications.
You’ll want to always be one step ahead in case an erroneous point can potentially hurt your record.
If you suspect any errors, you can contact support to have them corrected immediately.
If the error relates to your violations, points, accidents, or license actions, contact your presiding court or a ticketing officer in Vermont so that they can validate the information and forward it to the VT DMV.
If the error is regarding your personal information, reach out to the VT DMV directly at (802) 828-2000.