Vermont Driver’s License Requirements (A Complete 2024 Guide)

Vermont Driver’s License Requirements

Can’t wait to get your hands on your driver’s license?

Not so fast!

The good news is that you don’t have to wait until you turn 18. For Vermont residences, the process can begin once you turn 15 years old. 

The not-so-good news?

Well, you’ll have to go through several stages before you can get full driving privileges. 

If you’re unsure how the process goes, then we’re here to help. 

Today, we’re going to go over the Vermont driver’s license requirements. 

We’ll list down all the steps and details to ensure you know what to do, when to do it, and how to do it. 

Are you ready to start? 

Here we go!

How to Get A Driver’s License in Vermont

If you’re 15-17 years old, you’ll have to undergo the Vermont Graduated License Laws.

This law has 3 stages, namely: 

Don’t worry — we’ve mapped out the steps for each. 

So let’s look at that…

How to Get a Learner’s Permit in Vermont

First things first, let’s talk about your learner’s permit. 

Thankfully, it’s SUPER easy to get this. 

Here’s what you must do to get it:

  1. Decide what kind of driver’s license you want. You can choose between the following:
  1. Class D: This is a regular driver’s license. 
  1. REAL ID: This driver’s license complies with Federal standards for issuance and will allow you to board flights (even domestic ones) and enter federal facilities.
  1. Driver’s Privilege Card (DPC): This license is for those who can’t present proof of lawful status (citizenship or permanent residency). However, it is not REAL ID-compliant.
  1. Enhanced Driver’s License (EDL): If you are a Vermont resident and a U.S. Citizen, you can get an EDL. It’s REAL ID-compliant and is accepted for re-entry to the U.S. from Canada, Mexico, the Caribbean, or Bermuda (whether land or sea).
  1. (OPTIONAL) Study the Vermont Driver’s License Manual in preparation for the written test.
  1. Complete the permit application and pass the knowledge test online. NOTE: You will have to let a parent or legal guardian sign the application before you can test. 
  1. Pay the following fees with a credit card:
    1. Knowledge test – $32 
    2. Learner’s permit – $20
NOTE: If you don’t pass the test on your first attempt, you must pay another fee before retaking it.
  1. Wait for your learner’s permit to arrive in the mail. However, you can begin supervised driving by using your receipt (it acts as a temporary credential).

And just like that, your driving experience begins!

Now, in Vermont, a learner’s permit allows you to drive anywhere in the state at all hours. 


A licensed, unimpaired individual meeting any of the following must always ride in the front passenger seat:

  • A parent or a legal guardian
  • A certified driver’s education instructor
  • Any person at least 25 years old

How to Get a Junior Driver’s License in Vermont

The next stage is all about getting your junior driver’s license. 

It’s important to note that this is only required for those 16 to 17 years old. 

So here’s how to get one:

  1. Be at least 16 years old.
  1. Have your learner’s permit for at least a year. 
  1. Have a clean driving record and no permit suspensions or recalls in the six months before your junior driver’s license application.
  1. Complete a state-approved driver’s education course. You must ensure it consists of the following:
    1. At least 30 hours of classroom instruction
    2. 6 hours of behind-the-wheel training
    3. 6 hours of observation
  1. Earn supervised driving hours (on top of your BTW training). You must accumulate 40 hours, 10 of which must be at night (at least half an hour before sunrise or 30 minutes after sunset).
  1. Make an appointment online for your road test.
  1. Bring the following to your appointment:
    1. Your valid learner’s permit.
    2. A filled-out Application for License/Permit (Form VL-021). Your parent or legal guardian must sign it in front of a DMV representative. 
    3. A completed Driving Practice Log Sheet for your 40 supervised driving hours. You can also track your progress using the RoadReady App.
    4. A vehicle for the driving test (it must have a valid inspection sticker, an insurance card, and a registration certificate).
    5. Your Social Security Card or a letter from the Social Security Administration. 
    6. Documents providing your identity, birth date, and residence in Vermont.
    7. Proof of lawful status in the U.S. (only if you’re applying for a REAL ID or an EDL).

Don’t leave anything to chance — see a complete list of acceptable documents here!

  1. Take and pass the road test. 
NOTE: If you aren’t successful on your first try, you can retake it after at least seven days.
  1. Pay the following fees:
    1. Road test – $19
    2. Junior driver’s license – $32
  1. Get your junior driver’s license (JUN).

Two stages down — one to go.

Okay, okay. 

With a junior driver’s license, you’re given more driving freedom. 

You’ll be allowed to drive without supervision. 

However, there are still restrictions that you need to observe. These are: 

  • You cannot drive for employment for a year, such as a pizza delivery person.
  • You cannot carry passengers for hire as long as you hold a junior driver’s license.
  • If unsupervised, you cannot carry any passengers for the first 3 months of your junior driver’s license.
  • For the second 3 months of your junior driver’s license, you can begin driving with family members.
  • After 6 months of holding your junior driver’s license, there is no more restriction on how many passengers you can carry.
  • The number of passengers you transport cannot exceed the number of seat belts in your vehicle.
  • You cannot use any portable electronic device while driving.

How to Get a Full Driver’s License in Vermont

Once you have your junior driver’s license, it’s only a matter of time before you can get complete driving privileges. 

All you need to do is meet these eligibility requirements:

  • Turn 18 years old. 
  • Have a clean driving record and no junior license suspensions or recalls for the past 6 months. 

If so, you can upgrade your junior driver’s license to a full driver’s license online. You will also have to pay the appropriate fee. 

Credential2-Year Validity4-Year ValidityWith Motorcycle Endorsement
Driver’s License (Class D)$32$512 years: $38
4 years: $63
Real ID$32$512 years: $38
4 years: $63
Driver’s Privilege Card (DPC)$32$512 years: $38
4 years: $63
Enhanced Driver’s License (EDL)$62$812 years: $68
4 years: $93

After that, your full driver’s license will arrive in the mail. 

And you did it!


But wait…

What if you’re already 18 years old and getting a first-time driver’s license in Vermont?

Well, the Vermont Graduated License Laws won’t apply to you anymore. That means your process is considerably shorter.

Here are the steps:

  1. Get a learner’s permit (this is required for everyone, regardless of age). You can follow the steps above on how to get this. Only this time, if you’re 18 and older, you don’t need a parent or legal guardian to sign anything. 
  1. Practice supervised driving with a licensed and unimpaired parent or legal guardian, certified instructor, or anyone at least 25 years old. 
NOTE: For those 18+ years old, you no longer have to fulfill certain practice hours or hold your permit for a certain period of time. 
  1. When you’re ready, use the Vermont DMV’s Online Scheduling System to make an appointment for your road test.
  1. On your visit, provide the following:
    1. A completed Application for License/Permit (Form VL-021)
    2. Your valid learner’s permit
    3. An inspected, insured, and registered vehicle 
    4. Proof of identity, birthdate, Social Security Number, Vermont residence, and lawful status (the last document is for Real ID and EDL only)

If you’re unsure of what’s usable or not, you can click here to check.

  1. Pay the $19 road test fee.
  1. Take and pass the road test.
  1. Pay the appropriate licensing fee:
    1. Class D, Real ID, DPC license – $32 (2 years) OR $51 (4 years)
    2. Class D, Real ID, DPC license with M endorsement – $38 (2 years) OR $63 (4 years)
    3. EDL license – $62 (2 years) OR $81 (4 years)
    4. EDLT license with M endorsement – $68 (2 years) OR $93 (4 years)
  1. Get your full driver’s license. 

And you’ve finished! 

Fast, wasn’t it?

Frequently Asked Questions About Vermont Driver’s License Requirements

How Much Does it Cost to Get a Vermont License?

You must pay several fees when getting your license. You can categorize them into two groups:

Testing Fees (per attempt):

  • Written exam: $32
  • Road test: $19

Permit / Licensing Fees:

Credential2-Year Validity2-Year Validity with M Endorsement4-Year Validity4-Year Validity with M Endorsement
Junior Driver’s License$32N/AN/AN/A
Class D Driver’s License$32$38$51$63
Real ID$32$38$51$63
Driver’s Privilege Card$32$38$51$63
Enhanced Driver’s License$62$68$81$93

Can I Drive in Vermont With a Foreign License?

Yes — for a time. You can use your foreign license to operate a vehicle in Vermont for up to a year. If your foreign license isn’t English, you must have an International Driver’s Permit.

How Many Questions Are on the Vermont Driver’s Test?

The permit test in Vermont only has 20 questions, all of which are multiple-choice. You must get 16 correctly to reach the minimum passing score of 80%.

Is the Vermont Permit Test Online?

Yes, you can only take the Vermont permit test online. You can access it through the DMV’s page for the Learner’s Permit Application.

This is also where you pay the $20 permit fee (yes, you do everything online, so ensure you have a credit card).

Can You Take Driver’s Ed Online in Vermont? 

The Vermont DMV identifies state-approved driving education schools, and it’s best to stick with these. 

Although you can take an online course, it’s only good for additional knowledge. Vermont hasn’t approved any online driver’s ed programs.

This can be because, besides classroom instruction, you must also complete behind-the-wheel and observation hours.

How to Prepare for the Road Test in Vermont?

Preparing for your Vermont road test doesn’t just involve your driving skills (and accumulated driving hours). You must also ensure that your car meets the DMV’s standards. That means:

  • It’s in good mechanical condition.
  • It’s clean.
  • It has a valid inspection sticker.
  • Your emergency brake must be working.
  • You have proof of insurance (it must show your insurance company’s name, when your coverage begins and ends, the insured’s name, and a description of the vehicle)
  • You have the registration certificate.

The Wrap Up

And that was the complete Vermont driver’s license requirements process. 

Getting a driver’s license in Vermont isn’t complicated…

But you must invest time and effort. 

Don’t worry — we’re sure you’ll get through the steps without a hitch if you just follow this guideline.

So good luck!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *