Looking for a guide on how to register your vehicle in Vermont?
Good thing you found us!
We know that the car registration process may seem like a huge task — but it really isn’t.
In this step-by-step guide to the Vermont car registration process, we made sure to include all the details. This way, you can enjoy a smooth registration.
Moreover, we’ll also talk about registration renewals and Vermont car laws.
So if you’re ready to get started?
How to Register A Car in Vermont
Anyone hoping to operate a motor vehicle in Vermont needs to have their car registered in the state.
Before you register your vehicle, you first have to get car insurance (more of that in the Vehicle Laws section).
Once you have an insurance card, you can proceed with the Vermont car registration process. Here are the steps:
- Visit the Registration Required Documents Wizard to know what documents you need to have.
- Print and fill up the Registration/Tax/ Title Application (Form VD-119). Follow the instructions on the first page of the form. The sections you need to fill up will depend on whether you’re registering for the first time, renewing, transferring from an out-of-state registration, or leasing buy-out.
- Print and complete the Verification of VIN (Form VT-010) if your vehicle:
- Has Salvage Documentation from any state, including Vermont
- Is titled under a bond
- Has a registration from another country (Canada included)
- Is over 15 years old
- For a new vehicle purchased out-of-state, bring these additional documents:
- For a new vehicle purchased from a private sale, these are the other documents you need:
- For out-of-state vehicles, here are more required documents:
- Vehicle Title
- Original Registration (required if a lienholder is holding the title). If so, this must be done in person and you must provide the full name and address of the lienholder.
- A current odometer reading
- Proof of Purchase and Use or sales tax to your previous state (unless the out-of-state registration is under your name and the state collects taxes).
- Prepare the Purchase and Use Tax documents. If you are exempt prepare a Certification of Tax Exemption (Form VT-014). If you are applying for a lesser tax due, fill up the Dealer Appraisal (Form VD-012)
|NOTE: to determine your estimated tax, you can use this Vehicle Tax Estimator. All you need is to input your vehicle’s VIN, purchase date, and mileage.|
- Schedule an appointment with your nearest DMV office. You can also check if you can send everything through the mail or online.
- On the date of your appointment, bring your application form, appropriate supporting documents, and proof of insurance.
- Pay the registration fees. View this table to know what fees apply to you.
- Receive your vehicle registration and license plates.
For further details, you can check the Vermont.gov registration page.
How to Renew A Car Registration in Vermont
There are four ways to renew your car registration in Vermont. These are:
- By Phone
- By Mail
Let’s quickly go over all the methods.
How to Renew Your VT Car Registration Online
You can renew your VT car registration online IF:
- You receive a renewal notice from the DMV
- Your vehicle registration has not expired for more than 10 months
To be sure, online renewal is the fastest and most convenient way to get it done.
Just follow these steps:
- Go to the online renewal portal.
- Renew by giving your license number or your plate number.
- Follow the online prompts.
- If you need to change your address, follow the prompts to do so.
- Print your receipt as this serves as your temporary registration. This is only valid for 10 days.
- Receive your permanent registration and sticker vial mail in 4-6 business days.
How to Renew Your VT Car Registration By Phone
To renew by phone, you must prepare your Vermont driver’s license number and credit card details.
When you have them, call 866 259-5368 to renew.
Yup, it’s that easy!
However, for this method, you won’t receive a receipt. So you must make sure that you renew it earlier.
How to Renew Your VT Car Registration by Mail
To renew by mail, follow these steps:
- Prepare the following documents:
- Your signed registration renewal notice
- A check or money order for the registration renewal amount indicated on the renewal notice
- If you didn’t receive or lost your renewal notice, you have to print and complete a Registration Form.
- Place the form or signed renewal notice and check/money order in the included envelope.
- Mail your documents to:
PO Box 1308
- Wait for your permanent registration and sticker to arrive in 10 business days.
Like the phone renewal method, you won’t receive a receipt as a temporary registration. Make sure you do this weeks before the actual expiration date to avoid any inconvenience.
How to Renew Your VT Car Registration In Person
If you want to get your permanent registration ASAP, then you must go to the nearest DMV office. Take note of your chosen office’s open hours, payment methods, and services before going.
For this, you need to bring a signed renewal notice (if you received one) OR a completed Registration Form.
Don’t forget to bring payment for the registration renewal, too.
Vermont Vehicle Laws
Besides having a registration, there are other vehicle laws in Vermont.
Let’s look at them…
Selling/Trading a Vehicle
If you’re planning on selling or trading your vehicle, here are some laws you need to fulfill.
Selling a Vehicle:
- Give the new owner a bill of sale. This document should have the purchaser(s) name, the seller(s) signature, the date of the deal, and the year, make, and serial number of the vehicle. You should also include the amount that was paid for the car.
- If the vehicle is 15 years old or older, sign the back of the title showing the new owner’s name and address. Include the mileage of the vehicle and the date of sale.
- Fill up an odometer statement if your vehicle is 9 years old or newer. The seller and the buyer should sign this.
- Remove the old registration plates.
Trading a Vehicle:
- Give the new owner a bill of sale. The same details above apply.
- Require the person trading a vehicle to you to give a bill of sale with the same information above.
- Remove the registration plates from the old vehicle. If you want to transfer your registration, keep the plates and put them on the new vehicle you got.
Whether you purchased a new vehicle or are transferring it from out-of-state, you have 60 days to register it.
Once you get your car registration, you must always have it in your vehicle at all times.
This is because if a police officer asks to see it, you must show it.
If not, you’ll face steep fines and more.
Likewise, your license plates are further proof that your vehicle has been registered. Your plates should always be visible and properly affixed on your vehicle.
As for the rear plate, it should be lighted and can be read at least 50 feet away.
Vehicle and emission inspections should be done once a year.
If you just got your vehicle registered, you have 15 days to get it inspected.
To show proof of inspection, you must have a Vermont inspection sticker. This sticker will also have the date of the next inspection.
If you don’t have this, then you will face a fine of $50.
At the start of this post, we mentioned that you need to have car insurance before getting your vehicle registered.
In Vermont, you need to have these minimum coverages on your insurance:
- At least $25,000 for the death or injury of one person
- At least $50,000 for the death or injury of two or more persons
- At least $10,000 for property damage
Always bring your insurance card or policy in your vehicle.
If you are caught without car insurance, you will face a fine and 2 points on your record.
And that was all you needed to know about the Vermont car registration.
Now, depending on your situation, you will have to bring a completed application form, a car insurance policy, and the appropriate documents.
Make sure you check above what additional documents you need. OR, you can go through the Registration Required Documents Wizard.
If it’s the renewal you’re concerned about, know that it’s a lot easier than the first registration.
So hopefully, you don’t forget to do it.
Don’t forget to comply with the other vehicle laws, too.