In this series, we’ve been talking about how the points system works in every state, in alphabetical order.
So far, we’ve gone over states Alabama through Connecticut, and how each state conducts its points system for drivers.
In this installment, we’ll be picking up where we left off, starting with Delaware!
In the good old state of Delaware, you are given points on your driving record for moving violations such as speeding, illegal passing (such as passing on a double-yellow line), ignoring or failing to obey traffic signs, reckless and aggressive driving, and driving under the influence.
If you’re getting a ticket, chances are you’re also going to be getting a brand new set of points on your record. The more serious the violation, the more points you will accrue.
As far as suspension of your license goes, Delaware is a little more understanding and lax in the way they go about it. Once you’ve reached a total of 8 points on your record, you will receive a notice from the DMV, explaining what you can do about fixing your driving record.
Subsequentially, once you’ve reached 12 points on your license, actual consequences will begin to take effect, and you will need to take driver improvement training to correct your poor driving habits.
If it gets to the point where you’ve accumulated 14 points on your driving record, your license will be suspended for 4 months.
Fortunately, Delaware has a program for that, too, called the Hardship Waiver. This is, essentially, a safety blanket while your license is under suspension.
For example, the DMV understands that people have lives they still have to lead while they do not have a license, and they don’t want you to have to lose your job or otherwise find yourself in financial distress because of the suspension of your license.
To solve this problem, they allow you to choose to take part in the Driver Improvement Problem Driver Program, which can potentially make you eligible for the Occupational, or hardship, license.
This license is a driver’s license with restrictions attached, and the licensee will typically only be allowed to drive to and from work, and violation of these restrictions leads to more violations and a longer suspension term for your license.
The Delaware DMV provides services such as obtaining driver’s licenses and your driving records.
More Information about Delaware Traffic Point System:
Delaware Division of Motor Vehicles
Offices: Click here to find specific Delaware Office Locations.
DE DMV Online Services
Wilmington: (302) 434 3200
Delaware City: (302) 326 5000
Dover: (302) 744 2500
Georgetown: (302) 853 1000
For Deaf or Hard of Hearing individuals: 1-800-232-5460
Mail: Check here for County-specific contact details
Still have questions? Check out their FAQs Page.
In the state of Florida, you are given points on your license based on the severity of the violation committed, and they also have rules in place for violations which result in an automatic suspension of your license as well, such as:
- Failure to pay child support;
- Drug or alcohol related offenses;
- Failure to pay fines for traffic violations;
- Racing/Speed Contests.
In addition to these, they also have strict suspension parameters to follow in order to determine if a driver is in need of a suspension on their license. This is outlined as follows:
- 12 points accrued within 12 months – Resulting in a 30 day suspension;
- 18 points accrued within 18 months – Resulting in 3 months’ suspension;
- 24 points within 36 months – Resulting in suspension for 1 year.
For teens, the penalties for moving violations are actually a little more severe, and there are certain infractions that could potentially mean a further restriction on your driving privileges for 1 year, or until you reach the age of 18, such as:
- A restricted license – for business use only – for accruing 6 points within 12 months
- Restriction lasts for 1 year or until you reach the age of 18.
- Further points during this period will result in an extended restriction over a period of 90 days
- 6 month suspension for a blood-alcohol content level of .02% or higher
- Applies to anyone under the age of 21.
- Suspension of your license for repeated, unexcused absences from school
- Suspended until proof of 30 consecutive attendance days can be presented.
- Suspension for convictions related to possession of tobacco products or nicotine
- Applies only to those under the age of 18.
The amount of points accrued for each infraction depends entirely upon the severity of the violation, and so does the length of time you can expect those points to remain on your license.
For the most part, points will remain on your record anywhere from 3 to 5 years, but more serious infractions can remain for 10 years or longer, depending on the infraction.
The Florida Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles (FHSMV) provides services such as obtaining driver’s licenses and your driving records.
More Information about Florida Traffic Point System:
FHSMV (Motor Vehicles Department)
Offices: Click here and select your county to locate local driver’s license and motor vehicle service centers, Bureau for Administrative Reviews, Florida Highway Patrol stations, Clerk of the Court offices, and motorist services regional offices.
For general questions about your driver record/license, contact their Customer Service or click here to use their Driver License check tool.
For information and instructions on obtaining a driver’s license record, check their About Driving Record page.
In the state of Georgia, they wholeheartedly believe that driving is a privilege to be earned, not a right.
If you are caught and prove to be a dangerous or reckless driver, the consequences can be anywhere from suspension or cancellation of your license, or even revocation of your license.
Suspension of your Georgia driver’s license happens after you have accumulated 15 points within 24 months – or if different types of more serious violations have been committed by you.
Points are given based on the seriousness of the infraction, and how long each stays on your record depends on what the infraction was. For instance:
- 4 points are given for reckless driving;
- 6 points are given for unlawfully passing a school bus;
- 4 points are given for improper passing around a curve or hill;
- 1 point is given for the use of a wireless communication device, as well as texting and driving;
- 3 points are given for disobedience of traffic control devices or officers;
- 2 points are given for the possession of an open alcoholic beverage while driving;
- 2 points given for 15-18 mph over the limit
- 3 points given for 19-23 mph over the limit
- 4 points given for 24-33 mph over the limit
- 6 points given for 34+ mph over the limit.
The Georgia Department of Drivers Services provides secure driver and identity credentials to Georgia residents.
More Information about Georgia’s Traffic Point System:
Address: 2206 East View Parkway Conyers, GA 30013
Primary: (678) 413-8400
Primary: (678) 413-8500
Primary: (678) 413-8600
For license inquiry: (404) 657-9300
Operation Hours: Monday – Friday: 8:00 a.m. – 5:00 p.m. EST
Mail: Post Office Box 80447 Conyers, GA 30013
For Driving Record requests, check here.