So far in this series, we’ve gone over how the points systems, or other programs like them, work in Alabama, all the way through to Minnesota to keep drivers who endanger other drivers off the road as much as possible.
If you’re new here and don’t know the rules behind these programs, it’s simple: Traffic violations, such as speeding and driving under the influence, earn those who commit them a certain number of points – or a specific consequence, such as paying a fine – on their driving record.
Too many points or occurrences accumulated on your record earn you a more hefty consequence, such as suspension of your driver’s license, and eventually could lead to you losing your license altogether.
Here, we’ll be going over the way these systems work from where we left off in the last one – Mississippi.
In the state of Mississippi, no point system penalizes drivers based on the points accrued from traffic violations.
However, while there is no system like there is in most other states, there are still records and consequences for those who do commit these infractions.
Each ticket issued to a driver for offenses of the road will go on their driving record and is easily accessible by insurance companies and potential employers, and if you fail to pay the traffic ticket within the required amount of time, your driver’s license will be suspended.
This will result in taking the necessary actions to reinstate your driver’s license, and this process is extremely time-consuming and costly for the individual.
Contact Mississippi Department of Public Safety
Mississippi Driver Service Bureau
Physical Address: Mississippi Dept. of Public Safety Headquarters
1900 East Woodrow Wilson Avenue
Jackson, MS 39216
Mississippi Department of Public Safety
P.O. Box 958 Jackson, MS 39205
Phone Number: (601) 987-1212
Office Hours: Weekdays: 8 a.m. to 5 p.m.
Social Media: Follow them on Facebook and Twitter.
In Missouri, you will earn points on your driving record after being found guilty of disobeying the traffic laws.
The number of points earned and the length of time which they remain on your record depend entirely on the severity of the offense. If you accrue too many points on your record within a certain amount of time, certain events will occur:
- 4 or more points in 1 year: The Missouri Department of Revenue will issue a warning letter which will inform you of your status, and the danger of you losing your driving privileges;
- 8 or more points within 18 months: Your driver’s license will be suspended for 30 days for the first suspension, 60 days for the second, and 90 for any suspension after.
- 12 or more points in 1 year, 18 or more in 2 years, or 24 or more in 3 years: Your license will be revoked for 1 year.
If your license gets suspended, you will not be permitted to drive unless you have applied for a limited driving privilege permit, which allows an individual to drive to and from school, work, doctor’s appointments, or other essential activities.
This is not available to all drivers, however, so the best thing for you to do is just obey the traffic laws.
Contact Missouri Department of Revenue
Missouri DOR Motor Vehicle
Address: Central Office
Harry S Truman State Office Building
301 West High Street, Jefferson City, MO 65101
Contact Phone Numbers and E-Mail:
Driver License: 573-526-2407
Click here for mailing addresses and more information!
Motor Vehicle: 573-526-3669
Online Services: https://dor.mo.gov/online-services/
Chat with DORA
DORA is available 24/7 via multiple platforms to answer your questions!
- Web: https://dora.chat;
- Facebook Messenger: @MissouriRevenue; or
- Text Hi to 59058.
Message and data rates may apply (Terms and Conditions).
Social Media: Follow them on Facebook and Twitter.
Where other states allow you to work to get a point removed or reduced from your record or allow points to disappear after several years, the state of Montana doesn’t make it so easy.
The points are on your record indefinitely, and getting them removed is time-consuming and expensive to do.
This state issue points based on the following system:
- Vehicular homicide: 15 points;
- Negligent homicide: 12 points;
- Negligent vehicular assault: 12 points;
- Vehicular felonies: 12 points;
- DUI: 10 points;
- BAC of 0.08% or higher: 10 points;
- Driving with a suspended or revoked license: 6 points;
- Reckless driving: 5 points;
- Racing/Speed contests: 5 points;
- Insurance violations: 4 points;
- No driver’s license: 2 points;
- All other moving violations: 2 points.
If you have had your license suspended or revoked in the state of Montana, all is not necessarily lost; they give you the option of applying for a probationary license if you meet all eligibility requirements…however, if you are caught driving with a revoked license, you could be facing jail time, heavy fines, or additional time added to your revocation period.
Contact Montana Driver & Vehicle Services
Motor Vehicle Division (MVD)
Headquarters, Department of Justice
Address: Scott Hart Building
302 N Roberts, Helena, MT 59620
P.O. Box 201430, 302 N Roberts,
Helena, MT 59620-1430
Phone Number: (406) 444-3933
You can also use this Contact Us Form to reach out directly to the Montana Department of Justice.
In Nebraska, the points system works much like a few others; the number of points is based on the severity of the offense.
The offenses which will earn you points in this state include:
- DUI (Driving under the influence) of drugs or alcohol;
- Speeding – this depends on where the offense occurred and how many miles per hour you were going over the legal limit;
- Willful reckless driving;
- Failure to yield to a pedestrian resulting in bodily injury, and;
- Failure to yield to a pedestrian does not result in bodily injury.
If you receive a certain number of points within a specific period, your license will be revoked.
This limit is 12 points within 2 years, and reinstating a revoked license has more stringent process requirements than reinstating a suspended license.
Contact Nebraska Motor Vehicles Division
Nebraska Motor Vehicle Division
Address: Nebraska State Office Building
301 Centennial Mall South
P.O. Box 94789
Lincoln, Nebraska 68509-4726
Office Hours: 8:00-5:00 CDT (Mon-Fri)
Search for Nebraska DMV County locations and contact info here.
Online Services: https://dmv.nebraska.gov/services
Social Media: Follow them on Facebook.