Got a new vehicle?
Don’t forget to register and get a license plate!
As a vehicle owner, you must have your vehicle registered, tagged, and insured.
And if you don’t know how to do all those things, we’re here to help you.
It may seem complicated because of all the documents you have to prepare. But as we’ll see, the Oklahoma vehicle registration process is so simple.
And with this guide, you’ll be able to prepare everything in advance, so you get the registration done swiftly.
Let’s get started.
How to Register A Car in Oklahoma
New residents and new car owners have 30 days to title and register their vehicles.
Here’s how to register a car in Oklahoma:
- Get a car insurance policy. Make sure to follow the minimum required insurance coverage (we’ll talk more about this later on).
- Prepare the following documents if the vehicle was purchased in OK:
- Completed Application for Oklahoma Certificate of Title for a Vehicle (you can find the form here)
- Proof of Oklahoma insurance
- Valid OK driver’s license
- Form 729 Odometer Disclosure Statement (if the vehicle was manufactured in 2011 or newer with an odometer)
- Vehicle purchase agreement and Manufacturer’s Certificate of Origin (if the vehicle is brand new)
- Oklahoma title (if the vehicle purchased is second-hand)
- Properly Assigned Purchase Agreement (if the vehicle purchased is second-hand) OR Form 722-1 (if the second-hand vehicle was purchased from a private dealer)
- Prepare the following documents if the vehicle is being transferred to OK:
- Visit your local Service Oklahoma or Licensed Operator center (click here for locations)
- Pay the tax fee appropriate to your vehicle type (click here for a list of fees)
- Pay the additional registration fees:
- Vehicle title – $11
- Transfer fee – $17
- Insurance fee – $1.50
- VIN inspection fee – $4
- Tire tax – price will depend on your vehicle
- Receive your license plate and decal.
- Wait for your vehicle title to be mailed to you within 2 business days. In case of a lien, the title will go to your lienholder.
And your vehicle is registered!
It wasn’t so bad, right?
How to Renew A Car Registration in Oklahoma
All vehicles, whether used or unused, need to renew their registration every year. Tags will be given to show that you’ve already registered your vehicle for that year.
Now, in Oklahoma, you can renew your car in person, online, or by mail.
Here’s how to renew in person:
- Prepare the following documents:
- Valid OK driver’s license
- Proof of vehicle insurance
- Vehicle identification number (VIN)
- Pay the renewal fees. This will depend on your vehicle type.
To skip the lines and make it more convenient, the State of Oklahoma has allowed renewing your registration online. Here are the steps:
- Visit the Service Oklahoma website.
- Give the last digits of your VIN, your license plate number, and your driver’s license number. You will also be asked to give details about your vehicle insurance policy.
- Pay the renewal fees.
Mail renewal is applicable for those who are out of state during the renewal period. Take note that you can only do this if you received a renewal notice.
If so, follow these steps to renew by mail:
- Write down your VIN and Oklahoma title number or license plate number.
- Include a photocopy of your insurance policy.
- Get a check or money order for your renewal fees.
- Mail the renewal notice and the documents to the address in the notice.
Oklahoma Car Laws
Now that you already know how the Oklahoma vehicle registration goes, here are additional laws you need to know as a vehicle owner.
New residents in Oklahoma are given 30 days to title and register their vehicles in the state.
Residents new and old are required to submit all required documents.
What’s more, vehicle registration includes motorcycles and boats that will be used for transportation.
Boats that have an outboard motor of more than 10 HP are required to be titled and registered within 30 days of moving to Oklahoma or 30 days of purchasing the vehicle.
Tags and Title
A tag, or a license plate, is given to you once you complete your vehicle registration. It is required that the tag is always placed on the vehicle and is renewed every year.
On the other hand, a title may be a required document to complete your vehicle registration. The title may be coming from a previous owner or the dealer once the vehicle was sold.
As we saw, the first step in vehicle registration is having an insurance policy.
In Oklahoma, all vehicles are required to have minimum insurance coverage of:
- $25,000 for injury or death of one person
- $50,000 for injury or death of two or more persons
- $25,000 for property damage
Of course, you are free to have higher liability coverage. The use of this liability insurance is to pay for the damages if you are at fault (or liable).
Vehicle insurance policies must always be stored inside the vehicle. In case of an accident or collision, you must show your insurance policy to the police officer.
Fraudulent Security Verification
Did you know that, in the State of Oklahoma, officers can verify if you have a legitimate vehicle insurance policy?
This is done through the “Insurance Verification System”.
This system requires all insurance companies to cooperate. So if you have a vehicle insurance policy, it should show in the state’s system.
If you are found to have a fraudulent insurance policy, you will be fined and your vehicle may be impounded.
When it comes to vehicle inspection, some cities in Oklahoma require a yearly inspection. So make sure you know where your city stands in this.
Now, a vehicle inspection checks to see if these parts are in good working condition:
- All vehicle lights
- Rearview mirror
- Exhaust system
- Windshield and glass
- Seat belts (for vehicles manufactured after 1965)
Vehicle Penalties in Oklahoma
Vehicle penalties may be given to you if you violate any of the car laws and if you have committed fraud.
Some vehicle penalties are:
- Fines – given for fraudulent and invalid insurance policies and late registration
- Impoundment – for vehicles with fake insurance policies
- Suspension of driver’s license – for non-renewal of vehicle registration
- Criminal charges – for passing and using fake vehicle registration and insurance policy documents
Vehicle registration is an important process for any vehicle owner. You are legally required to get it titled, tagged, and insured.
With this guide, you now know the whole Oklahoma vehicle registration process.
So if you have a new vehicle and it isn’t registered yet, or you need to renew your registration, then don’t delay!
To avoid penalties, always register early – within 30 days. That way, you don’t have to worry about paying late fees and being stopped by a police officer.