How familiar are you with New Jersey’s road rules?
Did you know that there is a snow and ice law?
Or a littering law?
If not, then don’t worry.
We’re here to tell you all about it!
Today, we’re going to run down important New Jersey road rules that you need to know and obey.
So shall we?
Road Rules in New Jersey
Remember, there are LOTS of road rules in New Jersey — but we’re only focusing on 8 less-known but still important laws here. These include:
- Snow and ice law
- Idling law
- Speed limits
- Move over law
- Parking laws
- Distracted driving law
- Littering law
- Reporting crashes law
Let’s go over the details for each law one by one.
New Jersey Snow and Ice Law
It might sound a bit strange, but snow or ice on your car can increase the risk of accidents on the road.
For one, the snow or ice can obstruct your view. Another danger is if the snow falls from your car and hits pedestrians.
This is why the State of New Jersey requires that before your drive your car, snow or ice should be removed from it. This means that you have to remove snow or ice from any visible surface, such as the hood, trunk, roof, and windshield.
Those who violate this law will be fined $25 to $75, even if no snow dislodged and hit a person. However, if snow from your car hits a person and causes injury, you may be fined up to $1,500.
New Jersey Idling Law
Did you know that idling increases your fuel consumption?
To add to that, idling affects the environment since it emits carbon dioxide. Yes, even if you just idle for 10 seconds.
The larger the vehicle the more carbon dioxide is produced and the more fuel is wasted.
There’s no good effect to this, which is why New Jersey prohibits idling for more than 3 minutes. If you are caught idling for more than this period, you can be fined $250 – $1,500 for every violation.
New Jersey Speed Limits
You must always follow the speed limits in certain areas.
Here is a table to guide you through the different speed limits in New Jersey:
|Road Type/Area:||Max Speed Limit:|
|School zone, business, or residential districts||25 mph|
|Suburban business and residential districts||35 mph|
|Non-posted rural roadways||50 mph|
|Certain state highways (as posted) and interstates||55 mph|
|Certain interstate highways||65 mph|
You can also just follow the speed of traffic as long as it’s within the speed limit.
Now, a speeding ticket can cost you anywhere between $85 – $260, depending on how far (in miles) you exceeded the speed limit posted. If you go 10 miles faster than a 65mph limit, the fines are doubled.
And, of course, despite speed limits, you must slow down if you are driving in different conditions, including heavy rain, floods, snow, or construction zones.
Even if there is no hazard ahead, reducing your speed will increase your safety on the road.
New Jersey Move Over Law
In New Jersey, you’re required by law to move over if you are approaching any stationary vehicle such as:
- Authorized emergency vehicle
- Tow truck
- Highway maintenance vehicle
- Emergency service vehicle
This law applies only if the vehicle has a flashing light turned on.
If there is no space to move over, then you have to slow down and be prepared to stop.
Motorists who don’t move over or fail to slow down and stop are fined from $100-$500 for every violation.
New Jersey Parking Laws
In New Jersey, you can’t just park anywhere. Here are areas where you are NOT allowed to park:
- At a crosswalk or within a safety zone for pedestrians
- Near marked construction zones
- In a parking space dedicated to persons with disability (unless you have a placard or plate)
- On an interstate highway
- On a sidewalk
- At a bus stop zone
- In front of any driveway (including private ones)
- Within 20 feet of the driveway of a fire station and 75 feet on the street opposite a fire station entrance
- Within an intersection
- Within 25 feet of a crosswalk before an intersection
- Within 50 feet of a railroad crossing
- Within 50 feet of a stop sign
- On any bridge or tunnel
- On any area where parking is prohibited according to municipal ordinances
If you park in prohibited areas, a parking ticket can cost you at least $40 in fines. The fine gets higher if you park in a restricted area, such as a PWD space.
New Jersey Distracted Driving Law
Is it legal to use your phone while driving?
No, you cannot use your phone while driving in New Jersey.
New Jersey law prohibits the use of handheld electronic devices (such as cellular phones, tablets, laptops, etc.) when driving on a roadway or public highway.
Violating this law is a primary offense and is considered distracted driving. Because this is a primary offense, a police officer can ask you to pull over if they see you using your phone while driving. They don’t need another violation to stop you.
However, exceptions to this law apply when you are reporting an emergency or contacting health professionals because of an accident.
But in the absence of any emergency situation and you are caught using your phone, the fine ranges from $200-$400 for your first offense. The second offense starts at $400. For a third or subsequent offense, the fines start at $600.
Plus, if you get convicted a third time, you will be given 3 points on your license and may be subject to a license suspension for 90 days.
New Jersey Littering Law
Throwing garbage outside the car is not allowed in New Jersey. If you are caught littering while parked, you may be fined up to $1,000. On the other hand, if the vehicle is moving and you throw trash outside, the driver may lose their license for a couple of days.
New Jersey Reporting Crashes Law
There are instances when you might witness an accident or crash.
Do you know what to do?
In New Jersey, if you witness a crash, you are required to report it to the police, especially if there is injury, death, or property damage. If someone is killed, you are not allowed to move the body or let anyone do so without the police on the scene.
If you are involved in a car crash, the police will ask you questions and you have to state the facts of the incident.
If the damage done to someone’s property is at least $500, you must:
- File a police report.
- Send a written report to the Motor Vehicle Commission within 10 days if there was no police report filed.
- Notify your insurance company and give complete and detailed information about the incident.
If there is anyone that was injured or shaken, call the emergency hotline and get them checked.
And those were the less-known but still important New Jersey road rules.
Remember, these laws are placed there to provide safety for everyone. So you must make sure to follow each one to a T.
If you don’t, then you may face high fines or, worse, an accident that causes damage, injury, or death.
Always drive safely!