New Hampshire Driver’s License Classes (A Complete Guide)

New Hampshire Driver’s License Classes (A Complete Guide)

What driver’s license class do you need?

Class D?

Class A maybe?

Or maybe Class M…

If you’re unsure, we’re here to settle everything for you. 

Today, we’re going to go through the New Hampshire driver’s license classes. We’ll first explain what the classes can operate, then we’ll give you the steps on how to obtain each one. 

So are you ready?

Let’s dive right in!

Driver’s License Classes in New Hampshire

New Hampshire has 5 driver’s license classes. These are:

  • Class D
  • Class A CDL
  • Class B CDL
  • Class C CDL
  • Class M

Let’s see what vehicle each class can operate.

Class D

Let’s begin with the driver’s license class that most people carry — Class D. This is your typical standard license, and having one allows you to operate cars, SUVs, recreational vehicles, and mopeds (but not motorcycles).

However, you can’t use it for commercial purposes. That’s where CDLs come in. 

Class A CDL

Class A is the highest form of commercial driver’s license (CDL). It can operate combination vehicles with a Gross Combined Weight Rating (GCWR) of 26,001 pounds or more. The towed unit must weigh 10,000 pounds or more. 

And since it is the highest CDL, you can use it to operate vehicles that fall under Class B and Class C, too. 

Class B CDL

On the other hand, a Class B CDL operates straight, heavy vehicles that have a Gross Vehicle Weight Rating (GVWR) of at least 26,001 pounds. If towing a unit, it should NOT exceed 10,000 pounds. 

Also, you can operate Class C vehicles with this CDL, but you can’t drive those requiring a Class A CDL.

Class C CDL

The last type of CDL in New Hampshire is Class C. With this, you can operate combination or straight vehicles that weigh fewer than 26,0001 pounds and tow fewer than 10,000 pounds. 

The CMV should also fall under any of these categories:

  • Its manufacturer designed it to transport 16 or more passengers (this count includes the person driving the vehicle)
  • You use it to haul hazardous materials in amounts that require placarding
  • It meets the definition of a Tank vehicle

Class M

Finally, there is Class M. This license allows you to operate motorcycles. 

Although most people get this as an endorsement in their Class D licenses, you can choose to get a motorcycle-only credential. If you do, you can’t drive other vehicles besides motorcycles, 3-wheeled motorcycles, and mopeds.

How to Get a Class D License in New Hampshire

Need a standard driver’s license?

Then here are the steps to getting a Class D license in New Hampshire:

  1. Be at least 16 years old. 
  1. Complete a Driver Education Program from a state-approved provider (if under 18 years old)
  1. Get 40 hours of supervised driving experience, with 10 hours done at night (if under 18 years old)
  1. Make an appointment for your knowledge test using New Hampshire’s online system.
  1. On your scheduled visit, bring the following: 
    1. Proof of identity, residence, and Social Security Number
    2. Completed Application for Driver License 
    3. Completed Driver’s Out-Of-Class Log Sheet (if under 18 years old)
    4. Completed Parent or Guardian Authorization Certificate (if under 18 years old)
    5. Your green driver’s ed Certificate of Completion (if under 18 years old)

NOTE: You may need to bring different documents depending on whether you’re getting a REAL ID-compliant or Non-REAL ID-Compliant driver’s license. Click on the links for accepted documents. 

  1. Pass the vision test.
  1. Pass the knowledge test.
  1. Schedule your road test.

NOTE: You may take your knowledge and road test on the same day by calling 603-227-4020.

  1. Pass your road test.
  1. Pay the licensing fee:
    1. For those under 18 years old – $10 per year until you turn 21 years old
    2. For those 18 years old and above getting a REAL ID-compliant – $60
    3. For those 18 years old and above getting a non-REAL ID-compliant – $50
  1. Receive your temporary license. Your official one will arrive in the mail within 60 days. 

If you want more details, then check out “How to Get A New Hampshire Driver’s License”

How to Get a Class A, B, and C CDL in New Hampshire

Planning on operating a commercial vehicle?

Then here are the steps to getting a Class A, B, and C CDL in New Hampshire:

  1. Be at least 18 years old for intrastate driving or 21 years old for interstate driving.
  1. Decide which CDL class you want and which endorsement(s) you need.
  1. Ensure your eligibility to get a commercial license in New Hampshire.
  1. Schedule your CDL knowledge test.
  1. Bring the following on your visit:
    1. A filled-out and signed Commercial Driver License Application form
    2. Your New Hampshire driver’s license (it must be current and valid)
    3. Your medical certificate from an FMCSA-accredited medical examiner (if applicable)
  1. Pass the following tests:
    1. Vision screening
    2. CDL knowledge test and endorsement tests (if applicable)
  1. Pay the appropriate fee:
    1. $20 for the CDL permit fee
    2. $10 each for an endorsement
  1. Receive your CDL permit. 
  1. Complete an FMCSA-approved ELDT course.
  1. Hold your CDL permit for at least 14 days. 
  1. Schedule your CDL road test by visiting a DMV office or calling (603) 227-4020.
  1. Bring these to your CDL road test:
    1. Proof of identity
    2. Your valid CLP
    3. A CMV appropriate for your CDL Class, complete with registration and insurance documents
    4. A completed Commercial Driver License Application form
  1. Pass all three parts of the CDL road test.
  1. Pay the licensing fee of $60.
  1. Receive your temporary CDL and wait for the official one to arrive through the mail within 60 days.

For more information, check out “New Hampshire CDL Requirements”.

How to Get a Class M License in New Hampshire 

Just drive a motorcycle and nothing else?

Then here are the steps to get a Class M license in New Hampshire:

  1. Be at least 16 years old.
  1. Hold a New Hampshire Class D license.
  1. Go online and make an appointment to take the motorcycle knowledge test.
  1. On your visit, you must present the following:
    1. A completed Application for Driver License or Non-Driver ID form
    2. Your current New Hampshire driver’s license
  1. Pay the $30 permit fee.
  1. Pass the following tests:
    1. Vision screening
    2. Knowledge exam
  1. Get your motorcycle permit.

NOTE: It remains valid for 45 days. Although you can renew it when it expires, you can only do it once. So it’s best to get your motorcycle license before it lapses a second time.

  1. Schedule a motorcycle road test by calling (603) 227-4020.

NOTE: You must use your own vehicle for the test. Ensure that it’s registered, inspected, and insured.

  1. Pass the motorcycle road test.

NOTE: If you fail it twice, you must undergo a motorcycle training program. Otherwise, the DMV will not issue your Class M license.

  1. Receive your Class M license.

The Wrap Up

And that concludes your complete guide to New Hampshire driver’s license classes. 

Whoosh, that was a lot! 

But now you know exactly what license class you need. 

And from there, you can follow the steps to obtain that license. 

Good luck!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *