Need a crash course on the Nevada rules of the road?
We’ve got you covered.
Whether you want to ace the permit test, avoid annoying tickets, or be the safest driver, you need to know and obey the road rules.
And today, we’re walking you through each one. We’ll even talk about how to share the road with others.
Here is a summary of what we’ll look at:
- Speed limits
- Cell phone law
- U-turn law
- Parking laws
- Auto insurance law
- Bed truck passenger law
- How to share the road
There’s a lot to cover, so let’s get started right away!
Road Rules in Nevada
As mentioned, we’ll be looking at:
- Speed limits
- Cell phone law
- U-turn law
- Parking laws
- Auto insurance law
- Bed truck passenger law
So let’s get into the details.
Nevada Speed Limits
Here are the speed limit examples in Nevada:
- School zone – 15 mph
- Business and residential areas or some school zones – 25 to 35 mph
- Areas going into towns – 45 to 55 mph
- Urban freeways and rural highways – 65 mph
- Rural interstate freeways – 70+ mph
As you can see, the acceptable speed in Nevada varies — but this is not just based on the speed limits posted in different areas but also on the following:
- The traffic
- Weather conditions and visibility levels
- The type of road and its surface
So depending on your situation, the appropriate speed limit may be lower than what you see posted.
What happens if you go over the speed limit?
Speeding is a misdemeanor in Nevada, and if you’re convicted, you may have to pay as much as $1,000 in fines and serve some jail time.
What’s more, you’ll have points assessed against your license. These can be anywhere between 1 to 5 points, depending on how many mph you exceeded the allowable limit.
That said, driving too slow can impede traffic, too, which may result in points on your license.
Nevada Cell Phone Law
According to Nevada law…
Unless you’re in an emergency, you cannot use your mobile phone (or any electronic communication device) while driving.
That means you cannot take or make calls unless your phone has a hands-free feature. You also cannot manually write, send, or read messages (no texting!). Using your mobile phone to make internet searches or scroll through social media isn’t allowed either.
Why? Because using your cell phone is the most dangerous form of distracted driving. In turn, that can cause accidents.
A conviction means facing the following penalties:
- First offense: $50
- Second offense: $100
- Third and subsequent offenses: $250
You face double the penalties if a law enforcement officer pulls you over in a construction zone.
Nevada U-Turn Laws
In Nevada, you can only complete a U-turn in specific areas, such as:
- Across a double yellow line, provided it’s safe to do so.
- In a residential area.
NOTE: You cannot make a U-turn in business districts. This includes areas with churches, multifamily housing units, apartments, and other public buildings.
- At an intersection when the light is green (or the traffic signal shows a green arrow)
NOTE: If there is a “No U-turn” sign, you must always follow it instead.
- On a highway, if the center divider has an opening.
Making an illegal U-turn is a misdemeanor in Nevada. You’ll have to spend around $200 for a fine and get 3 points on your license.
Nevada Parking Laws
Nevada parking law states that you CANNOT park in these areas:
- On a sidewalk or in front of a driveway
- Within an intersection or a bicycle lane
- Within 20 feet of a crosswalk or on the crosswalk itself
- Near a fire hydrant:
- Within 15 feet if parallel parking is allowed
- Within 20 feet if angle parking is allowed
- Within 30 feet of a traffic control signal at the side of a highway
- Within 50 feet of the nearest railroad
- Near a fire station
- Within 20 feet of its driveway entrance
- within 75 feet if on the side of the street opposite its entrance
- Near any highway construction zone
- On any bridge or tunnel
- Areas with no parking signs
- Across another parked vehicle on the opposite side (double parking)
- In a space designated for persons with disabilities (unless you have a disability card or plate)
If you disobey these parking laws, you will have to pay a fine. The fine is at least $250 if you park in a designated handicapped parking space without a disability card or plate.
Nevada Auto Insurance Law
Like most states, you must insure your car in Nevada.
And you have to make sure your policy complies with the state’s minimum insurance requirements. These are as follows:
- $25,000 for bodily injury per person
- $50,000 for bodily injury per accident
- $20,000 for property damage per accident
NOTE: Remember that these are only the minimum requirements. You can go over these for extra protection.
If a law enforcement officer pulls you over and you can’t show proof of auto insurance, you will face the following penalties:
- A fine of $250 – $1,000
- A reinstatement fee of $250 – $750
- A 30-day license suspension
The DMV might also require you to get SR-22 insurance to restore driving privileges. Unfortunately, this tags you as a high-risk driver and increases your premium.
An SR-22 in Nevada costs an average of $1,487 per year. In comparison, a standard policy is more affordable at $942.
Nevada Bed Truck Passenger Law
If you drive a pickup truck or any vehicle with a flatbed, then this law is for you.
The law states that…
No one under 18 years old can ride in a flatbed, except if you’re part of a parade or using it for ranching or farming.
Violating Nevada’s bed truck passenger law won’t earn you any points on your license, but you will have to pay a fine between $35 to $100.
Rules for Sharing the Road in Nevada
Now let’s move on to rules on how to share the road.
Here, we’ll look at:
- How to share the road with commercial vehicles
- How to share the road with motorcycles
- How to share the road with mopeds
- How to share the road with school buses
- How to share the road with bicycles
- How to share the road with pedestrians
Let’s get to the details.
How to Share the Road with Commercial Vehicles
Commercial vehicles, especially large trucks, have no zones. Staying there means the driver can’t see you, which makes it dangerous.
So when you’re sharing the road with a commercial vehicle, keep the following things in mind:
- When passing a truck, it’s best to wait until you can see its entire front cab before rejoining the lane. Maintain your speed once you do — slowing down immediately forces the truck driver to slam on his brakes.
- Don’t tailgate — if the CMV suddenly stops, you may not have time to stop before colliding with it.
- When a commercial vehicle backs up, it’s best to let it complete its move before passing. The driver won’t see you if you try to cut in.
- Because of size, CMVs need to make wide turns. Don’t try to pass or squeeze between them and the curb, even if you think there’s enough space.
How to Share the Road with Motorcycles
Motorcycles are smaller than other vehicles, which makes them harder to see. However, riders have the same rights as other drivers.
Sharing the road with motorcycles means making some adjustments, such as:
- Motorcycle riders are more sensitive to road conditions such as strong winds, debris, and rough road surfaces. Make sure to give them enough space.
- Ensure you know where a rider is going before switching lanes or turning.
- Motorcycles don’t have self-canceling turning signals. Watching out for clues like a rider tilting their head, looking back, or leaning the bike can help you determine where they are going.
- Dim your lights if you see a motorcycle coming towards you. The brightness may have a blinding effect and cause the rider to lose his balance.
How to Share the Road with Mopeds
Another two-wheel vehicle you may encounter along Nevada’s roadways is a moped. These are similar to motorcycles but have less horsepower.
Treat a moped the way you would a motorcycle. You’ll often find them on the far right-hand lane of the road. The only exceptions are when:
- There’s only one lane.
- A law enforcement officer directs them otherwise.
- Staying on the extreme right is unsafe.
- They’re about to make a left turn.
How to Share the Road with School Buses
If a school bus is flashing a red signal, you MUST stop behind it. The flashing signal means it’s about to load or unload students.
What’s more, you must remain stopped until the school bus driver disengages the flashing red lights. This rule applies to all vehicles, regardless of whether or not you’re traveling in the same direction.
However, if you’re using a divided highway, only vehicles traveling in the same direction as the bus must yield the right of way.
How to Share the Road with Bicycles
Today, riding bicycles is becoming very popular, so it’s best to know how to respond when sharing a road with a cyclist.
Usually, they’ll stay on the far right side of the road unless they’re planning to pass another vehicle or preparing to make a turn.
You must yield the right of way to a cyclist when:
- You’re at an intersection
- The cyclist is on a bike lane
Move to the lane on the left of the cyclist if you want to pass — don’t overtake on the same lane. If you’re traveling on a one-lane road, you may share the lane but ensure you have at least 3 feet of space between you.
Bike lanes are primarily for cyclists. You cannot drive, park, or stop in it unless the following situations apply:
- It’s an emergency
- A police officer directs you to do so
- You’re entering or leaving a driveway or an alley
How to Share the Road with Pedestrians
Remember, vehicles aren’t the only things you share the road with — you must also watch out for pedestrians, especially children and impaired individuals.
You must yield the right of way to pedestrians in these situations:
- When they’re crossing an intersection
- When they’re still walking to the other side of the street, even if the light is already green
- When they’re crossing a highway and have reached the halfway point
When you yield the right of way, you can only proceed after a pedestrian crosses the street successfully.
The Wrap Up
And that was all you needed to know about Nevada rules of the road.
We know it’s a lot, but knowing the road rules is handy if you want to ace the permit test, avoid violations, and be a safe driver.
So, ensure you have enough coverage, drive at the appropriate speed, know where you can park and make a U-turn, don’t drive distracted, and know how to share the road.
Always choose to be a safe and responsible driver!