Is your potential employee, auto insurance company, or the court asking for your driving record?
Are you wondering how many points you’ve accumulated?
Do you want to check other information about your driver’s license?
If you answered ‘yes’ to any of these questions, then it’s time to get hold of your Iowa driving record.
Fortunately, you can get a copy of your Iowa driving record anytime — the Department of Transportation even provides multiple channels to do that.
And here, we’ll go through the different channels on how to get an Iowa driving record. We’ll tell you all the details you need to know.
We’ll even include how to improve your record, as well as tell you about the Iowa point system.
So let’s dive right in!
Types of Driving Records in Iowa
There are only 2 types of driving records in Iowa — non-certified and certified.
Let’s explore the differences between these two.
Non-Certified Driving Record
Checking your driving record is always a good idea, but it might not be cost-effective if you need to pay a fee each time you get a copy. Fortunately, in Iowa, you won’t have to.
If you only need your driving record for personal use (checking for inaccuracies, violations, or points), you can download it online — and you can do this for FREE!
Certified Driving Record
You can’t use a non-certified driving record for official or legal purposes. In these situations, you must get a certified copy. So if an auto insurance company asks for your driving record, you have to give a certified copy.
This record contains information about your most recent driver’s license. It will also reflect everything in your driving history up to the date of your request.
How to Get My Driving Record in Iowa
As we mentioned, you can get your driving record through several channels in Iowa. These are:
- By mail
All these have straightforward steps, but it’s good to know the details of each.
How to Get My Iowa Driving Record Online
Getting your driving record online is always encouraged as it’s the most convenient. It’s also the only channel where you can get both record types.
Now, to get a non-certified copy, go to the Iowa DOT portal. Be ready with the following information:
- First and last name
- Date of birth
- Last 5 digits of your Social Security Number
- Driver’s license or ID card number
You’ll need to encode these to log in. You can then download a copy of your driving record from there. If you wish, you can even print it.
You can also secure a certified copy of your driving history online. Here are the steps for that:
- Log in to your MyMVD account using the same information as above.
- Follow the prompts and pay the required amount ($5.50 for your driving record, plus an online processing fee of $3).
- Get your Iowa driving record
Remember, you can only request your own records online. Getting someone else’s means doing it in person or by mail.
How to Get An Iowa Driving Record by Mail
If you don’t have access to your driver’s license or ID number, then you can request for your Iowa driving record by mail.
You can also request by mail if you are getting someone else’s Iowa driving record.
That said, here’s how to request through the mail:
- Download, print, and complete the Privacy Act Agreement for Request of Motor Vehicle Records (Form 431069).
NOTE: You only need to fill out Sections A and D if you request your own record. If you request someone else’s record, you must fill up everything.
- Attach a written consent from the owner (if requesting someone else’s record).
- Enclose a $5.50 check made payable to Treasurer, State of Iowa.
- Mail everything to this address:
Systems and Administration Bureau
Iowa Department of Transportation
P.O. Box 9204
Des Moines, Iowa 50306-9204
- Receive the Iowa driving record via mail. If you requested someone else’s record, the DOT will first confirm if you were approved or denied.
How to Get An Iowa Driving Record In Person
You can also get a copy of your or someone else’s Iowa driving record at a DOT office. This is if you need to get ahold of the driving record right away.
If so, here’s what you need to do:
- Download a copy of the Privacy Act Agreement for Request of Motor Vehicle Records (Form 431069.
NOTE: if you are requesting someone else’s record, you must attach a written consent.
- Visit a DOT office. Click here to see all possible DOT locations.
- Pay the $5.50 fee.
- If requesting someone else’s record, see whether your request was accepted or declined.
- Get the driving record.
Pretty straightforward, right?
How to Improve Your Iowa Driving Record
Now that you have your Iowa driving record, how does it look?
A clean record is awesome! There are several advantages to being a safe driver, such as qualifying for insurance discounts and paying less for coverage.
However, what if it isn’t? Unfortunately, Iowa doesn’t have a point reduction program. Points can remain on your record for 5 to 12 years, depending on the violation.
But don’t be discouraged — you can have a better driving record by doing the following things:
- Complete a defensive driving course. Although it won’t guarantee the dismissal of a traffic ticket, you can ask permission from the court handling your case. If they agree, they won’t add points to your license. If they don’t, you’ll at least refresh yourself on what you should and shouldn’t be doing on the road.
- Be mindful when you share the road. It isn’t surprising that other motorists use Iowa’s roadways. Knowing how to deal with bicyclists, motorcycle riders, and commercial vehicles can help you avoid violations and accidents.
- Don’t force yourself to drive when you’re exhausted. Drowsy driving makes focusing on the road challenging. You’re more likely to get into a collision or veer off the road in this state.
- Follow all traffic signs and signals. Be familiar with regulatory and warning signs and adhere to them. Violating these typically result in penalties or worse.
- Avoid DUIs at all costs. Any amount of alcohol in your bloodstream affects your driving ability. Even if your BAC falls below 0.08%, getting behind the wheel puts you in danger.
Understanding the Point System in Iowa
A good grasp of Iowa’s point system is one way to manage your driving record well. Each time you commit a violation, you earn a specific number of points.
This list shows how many points you can earn from varying infractions:
- Perjury — 2 points
- Driving while your privileges are suspended or revoked — 2
- Driving with a revoked license due to a DUI — 3
- Driving while barred — 4
- Driving with a BAC of 0.8% or higher — 4
- Committing a felony while operating a motor vehicle — 5
- Leaving the scene of an accident or failing to give aid — 5
- Eluding law enforcement officers — 5
- Causing serious injury while operating a motor vehicle — 5
- Causing a fatality while operating a motor vehicle — 6
The points may seem small, but you’d be surprised by how fast these accumulate. It may lead to the DOT barring your license. The duration depends on how many points you have.
- 6 to 7 points — 2 years
- 8 to 9 points — 3 years
- 10 to 12 points — 4 years
- 13 to 15 points — 5 years
- 16 points or more — 6 years
Remember, you may face up to 2 years in jail if caught while your license is barred.
The Wrap Up
Your driving record may seem unimportant. But there will be times when you need to present it for official or legal purposes.
If not, then it’s still a good idea to check it for points and other information.
And always remember, Iowa’s laws are strict — there’s no way to get points off your record. So the best thing to do is work toward being a safe driver and avoiding these points altogether.
Be a safe and responsible driver!