Drive-Safely.net

Here’s How to Pass your Texas Driver’s License Tests

Pass Your Texas Driving Tests

To obtain a driver’s license, the state of Texas requires new drivers to take two tests: a knowledge test and a driving test. The knowledge test covers the information found in the Texas DMV Driver’s Manual and includes questions on road signs, road rules, traffic laws, and safe driving practices. The driving test is a behind-the-wheel road test, administered by a driving examiner, that tests your driving skills in real-world driving situations.

It may seem like a lot, but with the right preparation, you can walk into both confidently and ready to drive. Here’s what to expect on the Texas knowledge and driving tests.


Find The Best Online Driver’s Ed Course In Texas Here


What Score Is Required to Pass the Texas Driving Test?

The Texas driving test does not include worded questions; rather, the test uses a point system that grades you as you drive. Applicants must complete the exam with fewer than 30 points deducted from their final scores.

The driving test awards points based on four categories:

  • Control: Making the vehicle do what you mean for it to do
  • Observation: Being aware of what’s going on around you
  • Positioning: Demonstrating your ability to stay in the correct lane
  • Signaling: Correctly using turn signals

How Many Questions Are on the Texas Knowledge Test?

The Texas knowledge test, or the written test, consists of 30 questions. Applicants must correctly answer at least 70%, or 21 questions, to pass their written test.

What’s the Best Way to Study for These Tests?

First, thoroughly familiarize yourself with the Texas Driver’s Handbook, published by the Texas Department of Public Safety. The guide provides important information on Texas driving laws, as well as more details about the format of the test. Once you’ve passed the knowledge test, you’ll be able to practice driving for the driving test with the supervision of a licensed driver.

And don’t worry—if you need an extra try to pass the driving tests, you’re allowed to take the driving tests three times within a 90-day period. If you fail the test all three times or exceed your 90-day limit, you’ll need to pay the application fee in order to retake the tests.

VIDEO: Actual Texas Driving Test