Landing yourself a moving violation really stings in the moment, and hurts even more long term. If you are tired or not paying enough attention, a little mistake can cause you a whole bunch of problems down the line, the most disturbing of which being inflated insurance premiums if you have enough “points” on your license. It’s common knowledge that “points” on your California driving record have a negative impact on your insurance rates, but exactly how that all works is not as widely understood. In your best interest, I am here to clear that up for you and any other California drivers who may be puzzled by that system.
Get Your Driving Record By Name & Address
- OR -
Get Your Driving Record By License Plate #
How The California Points System Works
When you are convicted of a driving infraction in California, the DMV adds points to your license. The most commonly committed offenses add one point, such as speeding or making an illegal U-turn. The system is a little bit wacky in that drug and alcohol related offenses also add only one point. If you are convicted of a violation that earns you two points, then you’ve done something really exceptionally bad, like transporting explosives or a hit and run. If you’d like to check out the full detailed list of point amounts by offense, that list can be found here.
As you can see from that very long list, there are a ton of ways you could mess up your record without trying very hard. If you accidentally forget (as though you knew this one to begin with) to yield the right of way to a horseback rider and get caught by the fuzz, that could be one point on your license.
Points On Your License Can Be A Problem
The consequences of getting a point on your license primarily depend on your insurance policy. That is to say– unless you start racking up a handful of them, and then it becomes a much bigger problem. For instance, if you accumulate 4 points in 12 months, your driving privileges may be revoked or suspended. Getting your ability to drive taken away is the opposite of fun, so it’s important to drive safely and legally. The smartest thing to do after getting convicted of an infraction that would add a point to your license, is to take care of it with a defensive driving course. Otherwise most points from minor infractions will automatically clear after 39 months, which is an upsettingly long time to be paying for a horse crossing ticket.
If you’ve never been through the process before, you’ve probably heard friends or family (maybe even enemies) complaining about having to go to traffic school. Traffic school refers to a defensive driving course that you can take to prevent a point from going on your driving record. Traffic school should not be considered a get-out-of-jail free card for all points, as there are some limitations.
Only certain violations are eligible for traffic school, but if it was a moving violation that was less than a misdemeanor, you’re probably in the clear for a shot at a defensive driving course. If you do traffic school to avoid having a point on your record, remember that you won’t get another chance to do so for at least 18 months. The system that allows defensive driving courses to clear points off of your license was very legitimately designed to make you a better, safer driver. That way, you shouldn’t have to worry about getting any more tickets.
Taking Traffic School Online
I got a ticket a year or so back, and my uncle told be to check out iDriveSafely.com. His testimonial: “Less than twenty bucks and a few hours later, and my certificate of completion was automatically submitted to the court. My driving record is spotless to this day, and my insurance hasn’t gone up a cent. I was able to finish it all up in one day, but even if you split it up over a weekend, you can save your progress and pick up right where you left off. It was one of the most painless things I’ve ever done!” Surely this was too good to be true. But I made up my mind that I would look into iDriveSafely.com as soon as I got home that evening.
Upon logging onto iDriveSafely.com, I was struck by how clean and easy to navigate their site was. I quickly located their California Traffic School course, submitted my one-time payment of $19.95, and I was on my way. I selected the option of the online video course, which they claim to be the easiest traffic school in the state. Upon completing it, I have no reason to doubt that they’re right! As opposed to reading through pages of dry text and fighting the urge to fall asleep, I instead was treated to several informative (and, dare I say, even entertaining) animated movies and take a few brief and straightforward quizzes on the material covered. Upon completing the course iDriveSafely.com submitted my certificate of completion automatically to the court. It was really that simple! And wouldn’t you know it, my driving record is clean as a whistle and my insurance company is none the wiser!
So to you, my fellow motorist, I say: if you find yourself in a brush with one of our fine traffic enforcement officers, or if you just want to brush up on your knowledge of the California auto laws, and save some money off of your insurance bill, you can do nothing better than to cruise on over to iDriveSafely.com. You’ll sure be glad you did!
Not sure if iDriveSavely is the right course for you? Here are some additional options below.
Created with Compare Ninja
Created with Compare Ninja
Created with Compare Ninja