You’ve passed the knowledge (written) exam and now you’re ready for the Oregon driving test… right? Well, you will be after you read this guide- and after you practice, practice, PRACTICE! Now take a deep breath and buckle up! Here’s what you need to know about passing the Oregon driving test the first time around!
1. Items to bring to your Oregon driving test:
- Proof of current liability insurance
- Proof of registration
- Proof of legal presence, full legal name, identity, and date of birth
- Proof of Social Security Number
- Proof of residence address
- Cash, checks, debit or credit card
- $9 driving test fee
- $60 driver’s license fee
REAL Oregon Driving Test Questions
2. Don’t forget your parent!
If you are under age 18, your parent or legal guardian must be there to sign the application and certify that you’ve completed supervised driving experience requirements and that you meet school enrollment or exemption stipulations before you can take the Oregon driving test.
Note: The DMV will waive the drive test if you have a hard plastic Driver Education Certificate of Completion.
3. Make sure your vehicle is in good working condition
The examiner will check your vehicle to ensure it is safe to drive. They will look at the following safety features:
- Brake lights
- Turn signal lights
- Rearview mirror
Your automobile must also have valid license plates on both the front and back of the vehicle. The examiner will check if front doors are in working order, and if conditions call for it, the taillights, windshield wipers, and defroster. And, of course, your vehicle must start without any jumping or pushing!
4. What’s on the test
The examiner is looking for several required skills on the driving test. Try to stay calm and focused. You don’t have to do everything perfect. You do need to prove that you are a safe driver who understands the rules of the road. Here are some key points on the test.
How To Pass Your Oregon Driving Test The First Time
You are in control. The examiner wants to make sure you can control the vehicle and that no one else on the road has to swerve out of the way or stop suddenly because of a mistake you made.
You know what’s going on around you. You should be paying attention to other drivers, pedestrians, and bicyclists on or along the roadway so that you can drive defensively and react appropriately to their actions. You also need to pay attention to traffic signals and signs, and anything else that impacts your driving.
You understand all traffic signs and signals. The examiner will be checking that you can obey all signs, signals, and pavement markings you encounter.
You can back up. You will need to turn your head and look to the sides and behind you to back up successfully on the first try. You can glance in the mirrors, but don’t rely on them.
You can turn and change lanes. The examiner wants to make sure you can make turns in the correct lane at appropriate speeds. They also want to know you can move through lanes of traffic safely and use your turn signal in accordance with the law.
Use your turn signal at least 100 feet before making the turn or lane change in moving traffic.
Don’t move into a bicycle lane before a turn. You can turn across one, but always check your blind spot for cyclists first.
Yield to pedestrians and bicyclists.
Know the proper protocol for making right and left turns. Know how to turn each way from a one-way road to another one-way road, from a one-way to a two-way, and a two-way to a one-way road.
Turn from the nearest lane in the direction you are traveling to the nearest lane in the direction you want to go. Be cautious of the other drivers turning in another lane and do not swerve too wide or change lanes in the turn.
Know and obey U-turn laws. Remember that you can only make a U-turn at a traffic signal if there is a sign allowing it.
You drive at the correct speed. Stay with the flow of traffic without going over the speed limit. You should not be passing cars unless instructed by the examiner, but you should not be holding up traffic either. Lower your speed if weather or road conditions make it unsafe to go the speed limit.
You can handle the unexpected. This sounds scary, but don’t let it get to you. A car may pull out in front of you or a pedestrian may enter the road suddenly. Be cautious, drive defensively, and stay as calm and focused as you can.
You can yield. Know when to yield and when to stop. Understand who has the right-of-way in any traffic situation. You should be able to merge and yield appropriately when entering a freeway.
You know what to do in a controlled intersection. Stop signs, yield signs, flashing red or yellow lights, full three-light signals- you know them all and can show the examiner the accurate procedures.
You know what to do in an uncontrolled intersection. Not all intersections have signs. Don’t assume that all drivers will yield or stop for you in an uncontrolled (or controlled) intersection. Always be cautious and use your judgment to gauge if it is safe to go or if it is better to wait.
This guide does not encompass everything you need to know about the Oregon driving test. Check out the Oregon Driver Manual for detailed information on the driving laws in Oregon and safe driving practices.
Get Your Driving Record By Name & Address
- OR -
Get Your Driving Record By License Plate #