Drive-Safely.net

How The Points System Works In Every State: Part Five

How The Points System Works In Every State: Part Five

In every state, if you’re an active driver, there is a system in place to keep you from committing too many violations on the road, and as a result losing your driver’s license. This system is different depending on the state you live in, but the reasoning behind it is the same: Keeping the road a safe place for people to drive, and to provide consequence for those that habitually violate the rules. So far in this series, we’ve covered Alabama through Iowa. Here, we’ll be picking up where we left off, with the beautiful state of Kansas.

Kansas

You may remember, if you read the previous installment, that we mentioned that Hawaii does not use a point system. Kansas is the same way; rather than using a points system to track each type of infraction, Kansas has a system in place which determines the consequence for each type of infraction, and some infractions result in immediate loss of your driver’s license. If you commit too many traffic offenses or violations, you could face one of the following consequences:

  • Cancellation or revocation of your KS driver’s license;
  • Suspension of your KS driver’s license;
  • Mandatory fines from the Kansas Department of Revenue or court;
  • Driver improvement or defensive driving course completion requirements.

We mentioned before that there are also certain infractions that will result in immediate revocation of your Kansas driver’s license. These infractions are:

  • Vehicular homicide;
  • Failure to stop or help any injured persons in the event of a vehicle accident;
  • Reckless driving;
  • Any felony using a motor vehicle;
  • Eluding an officer;
  • Aggravated vehicular homicide;
  • Vehicle battery.

Kentucky

The state of Kentucky is one of the few which will keep you up to date on the status of your driver’s license. The courts actually send out notices of any points accumulations to the Division of Driver Licensing, and you can visit their site to order a report of your driving record. The following will earn you points on your driving record in Kentucky:

  • Speeding;
  • Stop violations;
  • Failure to yield;
  • Driving the wrong way on a one-way street;
  • Driving too fast or slow for conditions;
  • Improper driving, starting, or turning;
  • Failure to use lights when necessary;
  • Careless or wreckless driving;
  • Tailgating/Following too closely;
  • Failure to yield to an emergency vehicle;
  • Failure to stop for a school bus.

If you are a minor in the state of Kentucky, and you accumulate 7 or more points within 24 months, you will be notified by the Transportation Cabinet of your point total, and this may also result in the suspension of your license. This same notification method is put into place for those over the age of 18 who accumulate 12 or more points within the same period of time. If this does happen, the Transportation Cabinet will hold a mandatory hearing to assess your driving privileges for the future, and failure to appear will result in immediate suspension of your license. This suspension will last for 6 months for the first occurrence, 1 year for the second, and 2 years for any following occurrences.

Louisiana

Rather than having a point system in place, Louisiana is instead a participant of the Problem Driver Pointer System, or PDPS. This is a component of the National Driver Register, and acts as a bank of information regarding the individual driver’s license histories from all states. This information includes:

  • License suspension;
  • License revocation;
  • License cancellation;
  • License denial;
  • Any serious traffic offenses.

Because this registry includes information from every state, it is also used to determine whether a person can be licensed to drive in the state of Louisiana if you’ve just become a resident. If you are a resident, the Louisiana Office of Motor Vehicles can choose to take action against your driving record following too many violation offenses, and this is determined by violations both inside and outside the state.

Maine

In Maine, the severity of your traffic violation will determine how many points you’ll receive on your driving record. If you’ve received a suspension for too many points, you are entitled to ask for a hearing, during which you’ll be given a chance to share your side with the Main BMV, where you may also be represented by an attorney. Once your case has been given, the hearing office will then continue, modify, or revoke the initial action, depending on the evidence given.

In Maine, driving record points are given for certain violations of the traffic laws within that state. Points are given based on the severity of the violation itself, and the violations for which you will accumulate points are as follows:

  • Driving on the wrong side of the road;
  • Driving the wrong way on a one-way street;
  • Speeding;
  • Racing/Speed contests;
  • Illegal transportation, possession, or consumption of drugs or alcohol in a motor vehicle by a minor;
  • Improper passing;
  • Leaving the scene of an accident resulting in property damage or injury;
  • Operating beyond your license restrictions;
  • Operating without a valid driver’s license;
  • Passing on a curve or hill;
  • Passing on the wrong side;
  • Using a false ID to obtain alcohol;
  • Violating the “Do Not Pass” rule;
  • Excessive acceleration;
  • Failure to keep right;
  • Failure to yield to an emergency vehicle, pedestrian, or other vehicle;
  • Failure to obey traffic lights or stop signs;
  • Operating with an obstructed view;
  • Crossover violation;
  • Excessive noise;
  • Tailgating/Following too closely;
  • Driving slower than the posted minimum speed;
  • Squealing your tires;
  • Operating without working lights.